We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of The Point Lodge

The Point Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katikati
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Point Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Katikati B&B and Inns
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The three of us enjoyed our stay with Kerry and Anne at The Point and plan to return as well as recommend it to our friends. Everything about the stay was five star. The location is beautiful with lovely rooms. The main house is perfect with views of the grapes growing to the water. The hosts are experienced, intelligent and warm. We arrived late and had not had dinner. They gave us a glass of wine and Kerry whipped us up a delicious meal in less time than any restaurant would have. It's a central location to see the Coramandal, Rotaroua and Tauranga and yet more relaxing. We'll return Anne and Kerry. Thank you for all of your help.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and Anne will steer you correctly for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquealexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G, Owner at The Point Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
What wonderful comments and it was really our pleasure in hosting you at The Point. And yes we do agree with your coment that the Point has a great location for touring.

Look forward to having you back of a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Lodge is hosted by Kerry and Anne and they get the highest possible marks for their help during our stay. Throughout our seven weeks in New Zealand we met many wonderful hosts; in fact all were special people who worked hard to make their guests welcome and comfortable. Kerry and Anne were outstanding even amongst all these wonderful people. First Kerry is a superb chef and the meal he gave us the first evening was remarkable, the initial toast and self-caught mullet roe with his splendid mistelle wine on the terrace, the mussel starter and then the self-caught flounder for the main. We also enjoyed his own wonderfully ripe Pinot Noir. Then on the second evening as we were about to leave for dinner at the restaurant Anne had booked for us, we found a tyre was flat. In no time Kerry had changed the tyre and early the following morning Anne took the tyre to the local garage and we picked it up mended and back on the car before breakfast. On top of this, the lodge is in a wonderful location at Tuapiro Point with fantastic views and a great walk along the beach. Katikati is a marvelous town with gift shops, and the Karahangahake Gorge and Waihi Beach are close by. And we also took away a bottle of Kerry and Anne's olive oil, pressed from their own olives.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

After days of hyperactive holiday-running, The Point was a terrific refuge to recover and adjust our remaining time in New Zealand. The Point turned out to be the most restful and luxurious stay we had. The view is fantastic; the balcony window overlooks the vineyard and the suite is terrifically appointed with home preserves, homemade wine and great attention to every detail - like the heated towel rack, and daily baked breads. Anne and Kerry are great resources for local information and have tremendous influence with local restaurants and businesses.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and we stayed in the Champagne suit - spectacular views in two directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Lodge for our summer holidays this year and hopefully get a chance to repeat the experience again very soon. It was one of the most relaxing and peaceful holidays I have ever had. Anne and Kerry went out of their way to welcome us and make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Waking up every morning to freshly baked bread, wine tasting in the evening to even bottling my own vintage port. We had access to all the information we needed and nothing was too difficult. Amazing big room with beautiful views. If you get a chance to experience "The Lodge" and Kerry & Anne please do not hesitate. I have recommended this place to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Chardonnay Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyMani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you want a relaxing or adventures holiday this is the place to do it.
The accommodation is very clean. We had a different delicious breakfast every morning & to be able to eat on the patio looking at the most fabulous views that you could not ever get bored with. The sunrises & sunsets are stunning.
Kerry & Anne are so friendly & make you feel so much at home. They could not do enough for us. We were greeted with coffee & home made mince pies, which were lovely. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge. We brought some of Kerry's lovely wine.
Kerry & Anne suggested places we could visit that we had not thought of. We were shown on maps where the places of interest were & the best way to go. We really enjoyed & still have the wonderful memories of such a lovely holiday.
We only have one regret & that is, we wished we had stayed for much longer, we did not want to leave. We spent 5 wonderful days there, yes we will go back when next visiting NZ. Saving up our pennies! :-) Or we might emirage, which we would love to do, then we could go there for our holidays anytime! ;-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Montrose Suite & adjacent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed with Anne and Kerry for the second time in February. We found it in 2008, and on our second trip to NZ, we had to go back to The Point. It was the only repeat stay we had, just to show how terrific it is.
We echo the other reviews on this site - fabulous room with a great view, wonderful food (take the option of having them cook you a meal), attentive and detailed service, and warm, friendly hosts. Their involvement with the wine industry is an added plus for their guests, and their own olives are superb! You can't do better anywhere for the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy and Col... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

In our opinion no visit to New Zealand would be complete without a stay with Kerry and Anne at the Point..we stayed 3 nights but next time will do at least 5 nights..the Chardonnay suite is perfect..everything you need in there (careful with the shower as the door is not water tight and I flooded the bathroom the first night!!) and you are in the middle of the fruit and vegetable country so everything is fresh and ripe. Our hosts, Kerry and Anne are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for either of them...Kerry makes his own wines (our window overlooked some of his vines as well as the bay) and we were invited down in the evenings to try them..nibbles are provided but we tried to bring some to show we were not complete free loaders! It was one of the highlights of our 30 nights in NZ and we could not recommend it more. Kerry is a real expert on wines and for the past 15 years or so he and Anne have been spending 5 months a year in the French wine country. For golfers there is an excellent course 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katikati hotels
4.9 mi away
Katikati Motel
Katikati Motel
#2 of 2 in Katikati
32 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
Asure Kaimai View Motel
#1 of 2 in Katikati
62 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matahui Lodge
Matahui Lodge
#1 of 5 in Katikati
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Lodge

Property: The Point Lodge
Address: 444 Tuapiro Road | Rd1, Katikati 3170, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Katikati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury vineyard lodge accommodation on the Tauranga Harbour in a quiet private setting, just two hours from Auckland, and ten minutes from Waihi Beach and between the Coromandel and the Bay of Plenty. With a wonderful climate, lifestyle and activities, the region retains its rural charm and coastal attraction.Private king & queen bedded suites with en-suite bathrooms (one self-catering). Wine tasting and vineyard tours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing