We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary”
Review of Katikati Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Katikati Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Katikati
Reviewed 9 December 2013

i found this motel frightening and got a creepy feeling in the room,. like something bad had happened in there. also it appeared to me that the bathroom needed a really good clean.
i paid for the room before seeing it (lesson learnt) and then requested a refund. the owner or manager did come down to have a look at the dirty sink in the bathroom, and to her credit did refund me the money without complaint.
we both mentioned that it was the first time for both of us that this had happened.
needs a huge upgrade, old fashioned, and in the case of my unit dirty. the motel across the road is well worth the extra $20 or so extra dollars in my opinion, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenclarke_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati-Motel, Owner at Katikati Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

As the owner of Katikati Motel we are also very sorry this occurred. It is not the usual standard we expect of our cleaners and for our motel. We believe we have resolved the staffing issue around this incident and expect that it will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a very comfortable nights sleep here, with very clean rooms and a big comfy bed. Kate, the host was also very welcoming even though we turned up late at night. The only thing I would say is that the rooms are quite dated (think '70s chic) but this could be seen to add to the character of the place. Good value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ReadingHolidaywanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati-Motel, Owner at Katikati Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes the motel has been serving the traveling public in Katikati since1972 with space & longevity in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Fantastic hosts Kate, Kent and the 3 boys who made us feel so welcome. Chocolate covered macadamias to enjoy, free vegies from the garden, eggs from the chooks if you want them, clean and spacious units with new, fluffy clean linen for the bathroom and bedroom and the rest of the unit spotless too. Value for money 10 out of 10!! We would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Number 1 is the best. Stayed for in excess of 3 weeks while waiting for the house we purchased to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxanneBusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati-Motel, Owner at Katikati Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

We love getting to know our guests and they often start feeling like family. Our veggie & herb garden is always open to guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The only thing bad I can say about this motel is it is dated. Having said that, what a lovely motel. Rooms are large and facilities good. Owner so friendly, kind and helpful. We had driven to Tauranga hoping to stay ended up feeling like Joseph and Mary, no room at the Inn. All the accomodation in the area for miles around was full.
Ended up here and now really glad we did.
We were made so welcome, were offered free veg and eggs from the owners garden.
Easy walk into Kati Kati and supermarket very close.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merv3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati-Motel, Owner at Katikati Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Yes our motel was built in 1972, but yes our advantage is space. We are constantly working towards updating all the units.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Katikati Motel provides good value for money if you aren't expecting corporate chic. Situated on the corner of Main and Fairview Roads (heading south towards Tauranga), the 1970s style units are clean, roomy and comfortable with excellent beds and all the facilities one needs. It is on the main road, so if early morning road noise really bothers you, you might pack some ear plugs. However, I've stayed there twice in the past year and was pleased with the mixture of affordability and comfort. I also really appreciated the friendliness and can-do attitude displayed by the owners, Kate and Kent. They recently installed a Permaculture-garden on the premises which will eventually offer free produce to their guests - a boon for people like ourselves who stay for a while and prefer to do our own cooking! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati-Motel, Owner at Katikati Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lo más lejos posible de la carretera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlsicilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati-Motel, Owner at Katikati Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ISABELLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati-Motel, Owner at Katikati Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katikati hotels
0.1 mi away
Asure Kaimai View Motel
Asure Kaimai View Motel
#1 of 2 in Katikati
63 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kaimai Country Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Matahui Lodge
Matahui Lodge
#1 of 5 in Katikati
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikati Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikati Motel

Address: 89 Fairview Rd, Katikati 3129, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Katikati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Katikati
Price Range: £54 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are New Zealand's first Permaculture motel, with a produce garden for our guests to enjoy while they stay, harvesting what you need for your meals from what is in season free of charge. We are located on the corner of State Highway 2 and Fairview Road. From Tauranga we are 30 minutes north and on the right one block past Countdown Supermarket, if you are coming from Auckland and Waihi we are on the left as you pass through the town centre there is Diggelmann Park with a replica of a Kauri Dam then we are on the left at the next corner. Once you arrive to rest with us you will find we are family friendly with 6 family size units and 2 studio units. A private sauna, our units are large, sunny, and affordable. We have 8 ground floor units, with parking outside your unit at Katikati Motel. Katikati is also known as the Mural Town of New Zealand, with 44 murals around town, the first three were done in 1991 and they have added to the town and the atmosphere ever since, depicting the history of the town and its people in a beautiful sharing way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Katikati Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing