We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything great, except 5-minutes-limited shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Papamoa Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything great, except 5-minutes-limited shower”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We were here because we had stayed in some other 4-star-plus Top10 (powered site), and were curious in how a 5-star Top10 would look like.

The male toilet, kitchen and shower booth were clean and looked new.
From outside the door, the female toilet looked even better as the water taps appeared to be hot/cold integrated, rather than that in male toilet which are hot/cold separated. The decor in female toilet also look more decent in terms of the tiling and flooring. Is there a sexual discrimination here? :)

The lady at the reception was also very friendly and helpful. She placed us on a power site which is located at high elevation and hence a better view of the beach the next morning. Besides, when she answered to our questions about estimated time on trips/activities, she knew tourists well and would say something like "normally for me it would take an hour, but you may see a seal lying there, oh so cute, stop and take photo of it, then you may see a cat and you stop and play with it for a while...", this is exactly describing us! That gave us a more clearer picture on how we should plan our time -- always allow extra time for pleasant surprises.

The only disappointing thing is, in a cold winter and having a clean decent shower booth, shower time is limited to 5 minutes only. May be it is part of environmental-friendly policy, but if it could be longer then it would be much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paptop10, Manager at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Hi Jackie H, thanks for your feedback on your stay with us at the Resort.
We think our staff here are excellent as well! Great that you received our famous friendly service, there are lots to do around the Bay of Plenty as you probably found out.
No sexual discrimination at our Resort Jackie, our main ladies toilets & main showers were renovated so maybe this is where you have seen the difference in the taps & decor etc.
We do have a limit on our showers to 5 minutes with a 3 minute break in between, this is part of our sustainability here at the Resort & we pride ourselves in trying to limit water & power usage but still having the ability to have a nice warm shower.
We look forward to having you stay again & once again appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    59
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
123
99
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had unit 12 which had a brilliant sea view. The units were clean and spacious but little space for hanging clothes. Kitchen fine but no oven. Great in August but not sure I would want to stay in summer just as a couple. Would be great for families.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravellingYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paptop10, Manager at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort.
We are really glad you had a lovely stay.
We do have ovens in the 2 Bedroom Garden Villas or the communal kitchens for all guests to use. Yes summer is a fantastic time to stay especially with families but also as a couple experiencing our beautiful area together!
We hope to have you stay with us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My Mum and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. We arrived after hours which was fine, except the code given to us to open the barriers didn't work so we ended up having to park a bit away from our villa and carry our luggage in. However other than this everything went very smoothly, and housekeeping came in the next morning and replaced our towels. We had a big spa bath in our bathroom which was a little bit of luxury and very much appreciated. I would maybe recommend a beach front villa as, although a bit more expensive, you do get the lovely views.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roisin_Som
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paptop10, Manager at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort.
We are really glad you had a lovely stay with your Mum, next time you will need to try out the Beachfront Villas to experience the best views!
We are sorry that you had to walk to your room the first night typically the barrier arms work great, we are happy that everything else went smoothly & you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have you stay with us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

A totally relaxing and pleasurable experience for us.....Papamoa turned on an absolutely extraordinary amount of sunshine for our weekend stay. Morning walk on the beach with sun rising was breath taking. Room was excellent, service was excellent. The local restaurant a minutes walk from our unit was excellent with food that was extracted from one of the master chef kitchens.
The only regret we had was not bringing our children to share in this experience in which we are allocating another weekend in the future to share with our kids the same experiences we had while taking part in other family activities we realised the Resort offered like hiring the bikes.
Not only did the Resort exceed our high expectations so did Papamoa and the facilities available in the area. Everything is within walking distance even Mount Maunganui if you are really keen.

WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeawayfromthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paptop10, Manager at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort. We have to agree with you that the sunrises from the Beachfront Villas are the best & we are glad the weather was fantastic for your stay!
You are right there is so much for everyone to do while staying here, your kids will love the bikes & the jumping pillow. We look forward to having you all stay with us as a family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed in a beach front cabin. The cabin was very nice and spacious. The views and beach access were fantastic! There was also a nice playground area and jumping pillows that our 5-year old daughter enjoyed. It was also very quiet. We highly recommend these beach front cabins! While expensive compared to other available accomodations, they were well worth the price!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastfamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paptop10, Receptionist at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Westcoastfamilyof3,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort. We enjoyed having you stay with us and have to agree that the views and the beach access is what makes the Beachfront Villas so special! We look forward to having you stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This park has it all in our opinion. Spa, cabins over looking the beach, cabins are immaculate, the staff were so friendly, air pillows, bbq's, walking distance to shops, walking distance to pubs and restaurants and probably more i have forgoten. seriosly fellow travellers what more could you ask for. Both Michael and i would like to personally thank Lorraine and Enry for their kind hospitally they showed to us aussies. If all caravan park owners greeted their customers in this way, maybe alot more people would go on holidays. take care ladies and thanks again. Janine and Michael.
P.S hope you get treated the same way if you ever come to Aus!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neenhealesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paptop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Janine and Michael

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort. We love receiving your feedback! We too, love how the Papamoa area has grown and everything you need is within walking distance. Lorraine, Erys and the rest of the team are looking forward to having you both back to spend a few more nights with the beach at your doorstep!. Take care and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Can't fault the place - very family oriented - We had Beach front villa #20... Steps to the golden sands of unspoilt Papamoa Beach... Very helpful staff - The only beachfront holiday spot I'd bother with - Priced at $220-240 per night... Waking up to the sunrise, and facing North watching the sun go down in framed in the same floor to ceiling sliders was absolutely incredible. Ten minute's drive to Mount Mangaunui - twenty to Tauranga, and lots of amenities close-by... This place is THE BUSINESS if you're travelling with kids - plenty to keep them busy all day long... Would definitely return again :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paptop10, Receptionist at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Hi Mankiwi,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort. We really enjoyed having you and your family stay and have to agree with you that the sunrises and sunsets from the Beachfront Villas are the best. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papamoa
6.3 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#2 of 2 in Papamoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#3 of 5 in Papamoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pacific Park Christian Holiday Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papamoa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papamoa Beach Resort

Property: Papamoa Beach Resort
Address: 535 Papamoa Beach Road, Papamoa 3118, New Zealand (Formerly Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Papamoa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Papamoa Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only real beachfront complex in sunny Papamoa, Papamoa Beach Resort provides everything you need for a fantastic New Zealand beach holiday. Come sleep on the beach with us and wake up to the sound of the waves. Papamoa is the perfect location for swimming, surfing, fishing and strolling along miles of white sandy beach. Staying with us means relaxing and enjoying the spectacular panoramic sea views in the best possible way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Papamoa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Hotel Papamoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing