We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Papamoa Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We found Papamoa Beach quite by accident!! OMG what a gem --- we stayed for 4 days -- enjoying the beautiful beach and tranquility!
We camped where we had an unobstructed view and yet far enough back to block some of the wind and could be outside all day long. Not even road noise.
The camp kitchen and facilities were more than adequate and very clean.
We had one slightly rainy day, took the short drive (approximately 20 min) to Tauranga via Mount Maunganui to go sightseeing and stock up on supplies. We were anxious to get back to our beautiful camping site.
If in the area make it a must stop!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It’s great to hear you enjoyed stay here with us at Papamoa Beach and the rain didn’t dampen your time away! We take pride in providing our guests with a quality product including a great range of camping sites many of which offer spectacular views of the ocean. Thank you taking time to write a positive review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We would normally not look at staying in camp grounds. Mostly because of potential noise and lack of privacy. We found our garden villa....the only one left...to be well situated for privacy. With two weddings on site we felt noise may have been an issue. No!! Peaceful apart from some road noise. The absolute beach front villas and chalets would not hear that. The villa was modern well equipped and clean. Spa bath was a added pleasure. Always. Great to be given real milk,plunger coffee and soapy bubbles for the spa. A nice spot indeed with a stunning beach to enjoy...we even got a few tuatuas(easily) for a dinner snack...yum!!

Room Tip: Beach front is the ultimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review. We may be a Holiday Park but we provide a great range of accommodation to suit everyone. Our Garden Villas are nicely tucked away in our private garden area in the middle of the park making them a great for a night away. All of our villas are fully equipped so you can pack light for your time away. Although these villas are not right on the beach its only a short distance away, it’s great to see to take advantage of that! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

stayed here for 3 nights, staff friendly as, stayed in a Beach villa wonderful truly wonderful villas really nice and a coffee cart on site nice :-)
its only 10 mins drive to Mount Maunganui and 20 mins away from the city of Tauranga It really is a great stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at Papamoa Beach and took advantage of our central location. This is our first year with the coffee kiosk and we are so pleased with how popular it has been! We’re glad to hear you got the chance to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

2nd year camping here now, and looking forward to next year. Staff are all super helpful and friendly and facilities are fantastic. So central for shopping but yet, feel like you are away from all of the fast pace life. Beachfront sites are great. We stayed in the same site both times and hope to get it again next time. Lots of things for the kids to do too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It was great to have you back! And we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are lucky to have such a central location here at Papamoa Beach Top10. Still close to everything but far enough away to catch a breath of fresh air. Our beachfront sites are a great place to stay, having the beach at your doorstep gives more time for fun with the family. We can’t wait to see you again! Don’t forget to keep an eye out for school holiday deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We just stayed 2 nights in a Beach Villa. Lovely location - stunning views. Inside of the villa was neat as a pin, but for $250+ / night I wouldn't have called it really luxurious or 5 star. Queen bed was hard - we were glad to leave and go home to our own bed. Fridge in the kitchen area (where the queen bed is) went on and off all night -noisy.
Staff was efficient and friendly. Our 5 year old son loved the jumping pillows and adventure playground, beach is gorgeous.
Access to spa pools is extra and quite expensive ($20/ go for a family) so we skipped that.
Overall, would love to come back and camp but probably wouldn't pay the big bucks for a Beach Villa again.
Location of the park is great, beach is stunning, can walk to take-aways and coffee and nice grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience here at Papamoa Beach Top10. We are lucky enough to have a fabulous location which is the only one right on the beach front in the Bay Of Plenty and still close to everything you need. It is unfortunate to hear that you weren’t happy with our Beachfront Villas. We have a 5 star Holiday Park and 4 Star+ Motel rating by Qualmark, which is new Zealand’s official star rating system. This rating covers more than just accommodation. Our facilities, staff professionalism and cleanliness of the grounds and rooms are taken into consideration, which you have mentioned were great. The beds we provide in our villas are Design Mobel Slat Beds which are a top quality New Zealand bed and furniture design. We also regularly update our bedding to ensure comfort. We purchase the quietest fridges on the market knowing the kitchen is near the studio queen bed and regularly maintain them to ensure the settings are correct for minimal noise and disruption. In fact we very rarely have complaints about noise from our fridges. We are excited to announce that our Beachfront Villas will be undergoing refurbishment in 2014 and hope you can come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice beach side location, descent facilities. It is however very busy at peak season (as expected) and the prices are pretty outrageous: $50 to pitch a simple tent for 1 night for 2 adults..Also note that if you have not left (not only your site, but also with your vehicle) by 10.00am (in my case it was 10.15am) you will have to face a grumpy staff member that will have to manually open the exit gate for you...
For campers I would better recommend the McLarrens Falls reserve, much quieter and peaceful environment fir literally 1/5 of the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear you felt this way when you stayed with us at Papamoa Beach. McLaren Falls is not a commercial holiday park and does not provide the facilities that we do. We feel that we provide top quality service, products and value for money, our pricing is very similar to many other parks in New Zealand at this time of the year. It allows you have full use of our bathroom and kitchen facilities and the free BBQ’s we provide around the park along with a kids adventure playground, jumping pillows and library, TV room etc. We sincerely apologise for the issue with our security gate, we have since addressed the software issue that was causing this problem. Our security gates are an essential tool for access and security to our Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Everything at your doorstep!
Ideal for all ages!
Facilities and people - excellence!
Town and shops is a 5 min walk!
Beach at your feet!
They even have movie nights!
Coming back every chance we get

Get your slice of paradise!!!

Get

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wahati W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapamoaBeachTop10, Reception at Papamoa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to highlight some great features here at Papamoa Beach Top10.We are lucky to have such a great location which is central to everything you need while on holiday. We have just started having outdoor movie nights, it’s great to get some feedback on that. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papamoa
6.3 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,112 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#2 of 2 in Papamoa
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pacific Park Christian Holiday Camp
6.0 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
118 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papamoa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papamoa Beach Resort

Address: 535 Papamoa Beach Road, Papamoa 3118, New Zealand (Formerly Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Papamoa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papamoa
Price Range: £47 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Papamoa Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only real beachfront complex in sunny Papamoa, Papamoa Beach Resort provides everything you need for a fantastic New Zealand beach holiday. Come sleep on the beach with us and wake up to the sound of the waves. Papamoa is the perfect location for swimming, surfing, fishing and strolling along miles of white sandy beach. Staying with us means relaxing and enjoying the spectacular panoramic sea views in the best possible way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Papamoa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papamoa Beach Top 10 Holiday Hotel Papamoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing