We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xtreme disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

As a local that has dined here many times over the years, and had a great family wedding at Puka Park. we were extremely disappointed in our visit to the restaurant last night.The quality of the meal and the lack of service was poor to say the least. The staff were courteous but lacked knowledge on service. We will not be recommening Puka to anyone at the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent dining experience at the Resort, we are very disappointed that you experienced such poor service and did not enjoy your meal. The Executive Chef Rhys Thornton prides himself on the quality of the food and has reviewed your feedback with the team to ensure that no one else has this experience. Rhys has had some difficulty with replacing a key staff member in the kitchen but has now employed a Chef whom he is confident will provide a product that reflects his high standards. There has been additional training with our front of house team to ensure that they are consistently providing a high level of service to our guests.
We would love to have you return to dine with us so that we can provide you with a much more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had the pleasure of staying and hosting friends from the US. We stayed in the Royal Puka Suite. Nothing Royal about it but it served our purpose. The check in was very cold and impersonal, tall foreign woman. We then went up to the bar for a Martini, where their expertise was non existent and again foreign. We were wondering where the Kiwi staff were and then our experience changed. We met Jason & Luke from Housekeeping the first day - very jovial and honest - service plus with a smile and joke, The next day we met Jaymie and Tylah again excellent wit and information. We observed this team throughout our stay - laughing loudly, yelling out and greeting us by name and them introducing us to their other colleague. They were instrumental in us touring Lost Springs, Thames Market, eating in the Miha Restaurant and which staff to ask for, what to order. This then changed our view on the Restaurant. Breakfast was a hit and miss but Jason told us change of Chef - excused. They took time out of their schedule to walk us around the Resort. Spa not working, pool on the colder side, Sauna great. They say it comes from the top and so I asked to meet with their Manager? You should be very proud of your staff. He was a fine gentleman with an infectious smile that transfers to his staff. I am so pleased that we were able to leave them all with a small gift of our appreciation. It was all of these people that changed our perception of Puka Park. It is truly worth a visit if not only to meet these ambassadors for a Resort they are proud of and so eagerly awaiting their update in March - April 2013.

Room Tip: I would prefer to have been on the higher, drier side of the Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trotted_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Loved the Chalet we stayed in only thing was that the light was not on for us on arrival so had to feel our way to a very dark door not really knowing it was the right one until thankfully the door opened with our key. Loved the fact that the chalet we had we totally separate and as they are scattered in bush like surrounds they are very private ...Chalet had all the comforts of home including a very comfortable bed.Staff were lovely and friendly but also very proffesional and always interested in our day. The food was great but being there for 7 days a little limited in the choices... The spa was out of order during our stay and the pool far to cool to be tempting in late winter. Over all a very restful enjoyable holiday..

Room Tip: As parking is all at the front of the resort and our unit was almost at the top of a steep hill. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniC957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear JenniC957,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to hear that you loved the chalet, and that you experienced good service from the staff. Apologies for the spa being out of order. We are in the process of getting this repaired.
Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Thanks to Jay he helped to make our stay enjoyable because he was polite,helpful and friendly.
We were disappointed that the spa was out of order.
We have stayed here several time over a few years and we think it is in need of a make over. It is looking a little tired.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007retreater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear 007retreater,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. It is great to hear that Jay made your stay enjoyable. We apologise for the spa being out of order, we are currently making arrangements for this to be repaired. This property will undergo a full refurbishment in mid 2013 which will address the comments you made regarding the resort looking a little tired.
Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you yet again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is one of the most wonderful places I have stayed in.
The rooms are fantastic, beds are so soft and comfortable, breakfast is great, definately have dinner the food is superb.
wonderful heated pool, sauna, gym, walking distance to the beach, bike hire, all in all a great stay.
this is a resort for taking a breather and just enjoying walking down the beach and relaxing, would def stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippaandtitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear pippaandtitch,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, the resort facilities and surrounds and the food at the restaurant. This property certainly is in a beautiful part of the world. Again, thank you for posting your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had stayed at Puka Park a number of times but were very disappointed this time. Breakfast involved a 30 minute wait after the scheduled commencement time and lunch involved an hour wait. On the second morning I asked reception if there was any staff in the restaurant. It was during this breakfast that the waiter argued with another customer advising him he could not have what was on the breakfast menu.
Cleanliness was fine once we had called them and asked them to clean the room as by 3.30 pm it had still not been serviced. It was a bit of a mission as they looked for reasons not to service the room before agreeing to do it.
Certainly not what we expected particularly as we had stayed at Mt Lofty in the Adelaide Hills recently, enjoyed that stay and will go back if another opportunity arises.
Will we go back to Puka Park? Currently it is not value for money, there is no service and getting the basics done is a mission.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEstelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the resort. It is very disappointing that you had the experience you did with regards to service. There have been some staffing issues at the property but this does not excuse the experience that you had and I would like to apologise profusely.  I would like to assure you that we have provided additional training for our staff and am confident that our service is both friendly and of a high standard. The team that you will return to stay with us sometime in the future to see that this issues have been addressed. As you mention the property is in a fantastic location and the perfect place for a relaxing holiday and we would love you to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
341 reviews
17.4 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: £111 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing