We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maxwell G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I arrived into this tropical oasis late one Wednesday in late October and we were both in awe with the friendliest of staff we have encountered for quite some time,
On entering our Chalet, I was immediatley impressed with the size and spaciousness of the beautifully set out room. Everthing was new and nicely decorated and then to step out onto our balconey was breath taking.
A tropical rainforest in front of our eyes.
Yes, there are hilly roads leading up to the chalet's, but for the remotness and tranquility, it was more than worth the walk.
The food was beautiful, but very expensive.
There are a number of eateries in Pauanui with sensible pricing and quality eating yo be had,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear SSS1960,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. Isn't it an absolutely wonderful location. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the recent refurbishment. As you cam imagine a lot of hard work goes into any refurbishment and it makes it all the more worth while when we receive feedback like yours.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel rooms are lovely, lovely setting in the bush which was very quiet and tranquil. The hotel room was clean and spacious. We found the resort well situated, although a little remote. The service was great and found the staff very friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear SueVT2013,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park on the North Island of New Zealand. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in this very unique setting.
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We found the hotel a bit remote. There was no offer from staff to help with our bags. We then had to drag our very heavy suitcases up a number of stairs. The room was ok, nice setting in the bush. There needs to be something done with the tradespeople working on the property as they park their vehicles on the road making it near impossible to drive around to your unit as the road is very narrow. Once you get your luggage out you then have to park a fair distance from your unit. The walk back up to your unit can be quite steep so if you do book ask for a room near the reception.

We found the restaurant quite expensive but there isn't a lot of choice in town as the small number of shops there is seem to close quite early ( they might stay open later in summer not too sure).
The hotel is not close to the beach. So unless you want remote accommodation I wouldn't recommend staying here and infact we wouldn't recommend this to our friends. I think kids would find it not very entertaining.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Rooms are set in individual chalets in beautiful bush setting which is a very nice change from most other beach side resorts . Overall the challet was comfortable .Staff genuinely friendly. Restaurant is a must visit ,we liked the food.Location wise its near to the beach but away from the noise. However the TV was inside the cupboard which made it little awkward as if it was an afterthought and thus rating of very good instead of excellent. We liked the spa and mainly the tennis courts being tennis lovers. Although not all fitness equipments were working in the gym room . Overall a very good place for a getaway and have a quite time.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking uphills , ask for a room near the main office. However the porters do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingDeepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear KingDeepu,
Thank you for your review. The location of our property is picturesque and is a beautiful to see. The restaurant has fantastic food and we are glad that you enjoyed the food. Our property is undergoing a refurbishment and all the equipment will be replaced in the gym. We are pleased that you had a great getaway and we hope that we will see you again soon for some more quiet time. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very pretty resort set in native forest. Rooms are individual chalets which are spacious, well-furnished and plush (if a little chilly). We were lucky enough to stay in one of the refurbished rooms and it was clean and well-equipped with a luxurious feel. Ample parking although areas of the resort are steep and vehicles cannot park near the chalet entrances - guests can however make use of a luggage shuttle service to take bags to their rooms. Service was friendly and helpful. Would recommend Pauanui as a great little place to explore the Coromandel region slightly off the beaten track, and this is a great place to stay whilst doing do.

Room Tip: Try and request one of the newly refurbished rooms as they are well worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zproud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear zproud1,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We agree - a beautiful setting for this unique property. Coromandel is such a great place to explore with lots to do.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was a nice get away, very quiet and peaceful. Perfect time to go here is in the Summer so you can enjoy the beach area as place is a little bit isolated. Restaurant was abit pricey. Its a very beautiful place though. There's not many shops available. Therefore if you are planning to stay in a self contained unit and prefer to cook your own food you might want to take a few things with you as the local shops are little pricey. I have read through some of the other reviews and I do agree that this can be a bit of a struggle for the unfit as some of the lodges are located on a very steep road. Apart from this I have visited the place twice and it is always a relaxing environment to be in and great to get away from the city life.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding our property. As you mention the property is very peaceful and the perfect place to come and spend time in a beachside location. The property is set in an environment where the rooms are nestled into the hillside amongst the bush which adds to the feel of seclusion. We are nearing the end of an extensive refurbishment which has included additional rooms with cooking facilities however we do cater to all by having an award winning restaurant at the property. We have been monitoring our guest feedback and because of this we will soon take delivery of a golf buggy which will allow us to transport guests who are less mobile around the property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: £113 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing