We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You just must stay/eat here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You just must stay/eat here!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came to Puka Park with no real expectations, but were blown away by the place. As seasoned travelers we have never seen such consistently good service. The restaurant is nothing short of amazing - I can honestly say the best restaurant meal I can remember in all my years traveling. And with such fantastic, attentive, friendly service. So even if you can't stay here, definitely come for dinner (and the puka passion cocktail!)

The rooms are lovely too, fantastically comfortable with appointments beyond a normal resort room.

Thanks for making our honeymoon so very special.

Dan and Leanne.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nameequalsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Nameequalsdan,
We are blown away by your review of your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort! We are so pleased we could make your honeymoon so special with the restaurant meals & the attentive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    266
    126
    54
    29
See reviews for
114
528
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Love the resort but kept awake till midnight by a wedding reception, would have cancelled and stayed elsewhere if had been told about the reception in advance. Was offered an alternate room but wouldn't have made any difference given how loud it was. Cleaners left sliding door open after servicing room. Restaurant service was slow so was food at times.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were booked into this hotel as part of a package holiday. It is a unique experience because of the location of both the hotel and the individual rooms, and this may well be ideal for some. However, there are some drawbacks.

The rooms that we and our friends were in do require walking up some steep slopes and steps in the open air to access them from the reception and restaurant. The rooms are pleasant and we had two single beds. The bathroom/wet room has slatted doors to the bedroom so you need to be on intimate terms with your room mate! There was no spare socket to plug in the kettle unless you plugged it in on the floor. Wifi was limited to the main part of the hotel and there was no free access at all which in this day and age does seem very poor.

On the other hand, the view from the balcony of our room was lovely and the food in the restaurant was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear xmiles,
Thank you for your feedback on our newly refurbished rooms. We are placing another socket for the kettles over the next few months as well as looking at the internet for the resort. At present it is limited to the main building and reception can help you out there.
Thank you also for your comments on the restaurant. We have a great new chef on board now, Oliver Rimpler, and we are receiving very positive comments from the guests and local community. I do hope to see you at the resort again and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Could be beautiful. Asked for thorough clean to be undertaken because of a very poor nights sleep due to allergic reaction to dust. Housekeeper failed to complete cleaning so husband used a damp flannel and wiped down above the Murphy bed, window sills and framing, tv stand, wardrobe shelving and coffee table decorations. The flannel is black.......sorry. The duty manager gave his reassurance that when we return for another visit he will ensure our unit is given a special clean???
Disappointing because the resort could the idyllic retreat.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuiAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear KuiAnn,

Firstly, thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to our housekeeping team and we are addressing your issues that you had in your chalet. I have also followed up where the communication went amiss with your room clean. This is uncharacteristic of the resort because we hold a high standard so that our guests have an enjoyable stay. With the resort chalets refurbished we wish to keep the quality of the rooms and your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our room was fabulous & if like me you enjoy a soak in the bath then it is well worth paying for a Rimu room, I was like a prune for most of our stay! The service was unobtrusive though professional. I particularly liked the way that the linen & more supplies are left on a peg outside your room if they suspect you are still there. As if by magic should you ever get out of the bath & indeed the room then a fairy pops in to make your bed for you!
Breakfast was plentiful but as has been said before uninspiring & quite expensive compared to other local restaurants.
Our evening meal was absolutely delicious & the service just right, attentive though not intimidating. The menu selection was limited which meant we only dined there one night as there was nothing else we fancied.

Room Tip: Go for one with a bath! If you like a bath that is!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sarah D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you can imagine a lot of hard work goes into refurbishing a property of this kind. It is made all the more worth while when we receive feedback like yours.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauanui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Visited for lunch after a poor experience last year. This time the food was delicious, BUT where we sat there were dead flies on the window ledge the seats were badly stained and the table was not clean with debris under the mats and the table had not been wiped down. Basic cleanliness would be a good start. Not a good look for a hotel in this beautiful location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Patricia B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your visit to Miha Restaurant. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch. Upon speaking to the General Manager, he is aware that there was a problem with the flies at the time of your visit. The staff were cleaning the ledges three times a day in an attempt to resolve the issue.
We are so sorry that the cleanliness was lacking, and can assure you that this has been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Lodges were nice but not as upmarket as expected.
Staff very helpful.
Restaurant was good, breakfast a bit hap hazard at times with under cooked eggs, missing bacon and a continental smorgasbord that was unexciting.
Facility generally looking tired and in need of an update.
Lodges position in the trees was excellent combination with nature.
Cocktails and bar happy hour very good but cocktails taste different depending on who made them.

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned not all rooms have full cooking facilities should check when booking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Noreen958,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read that you very disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Your comments regarding the breakfast has been escalated and addressed by the General Manager. The refurbishment of all chalets has now been completed with the public areas expected to be finished by the end of the year.
Again, we apologise for the disappointment caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Property: Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing