We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

When we booked this hotel, I was not sure what to expect! It was secluded which was nice and we hardly saw anyone. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. It was more of a cabin than a hotel room. It had a small kitchenette and wonderful bathroom. The bed was a Murphy bed and was more comfortable then I expected. I slept very well here despite the lack of air conditioning. That is probably the only major thing I did not like. Also, we took the suggestions of the staff and fell into some attractions we were not planning on seeing. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear hellison,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your secluded luxury at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It's always nice to be pleasantly surprised & glad you got to experience the local attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. The hotel is quite isolated and a good half hour walk to a fish and chip restaurant in the nearby village. A great welcome at reception and once checked in we were shown to our chalet, one of the closer ones to the reception block. The chalet was set on stilts looking out into the tree canopy with all its indigenous plants conserved as they had been growing for years. We just stood there looking out of the French doors saying "Wow".
The room was large with a comfortable lounge area and 2 large beds. There was a ceiling fan for cooling. We found nowhere to put the suitcases on other than the floor and there was only a reading lamp for one bed.
The bathroom contained a bath and washbasin and had glass walled shower and toilet cubicles at one side. The wash basin was one of those shallow boutique affairs that was too shallow for a proper wash.
WE had looked at the restaurant and bar menus before we arrived. The restaurant served the usual Grande Mercure "foodie" menu - too complicated and expensive for us. The bar served a limited and unappealing number of items that were really nibbles rather than snacks. Fortunately we had eaten a good lunch and just had coffee and biscuits in the room.
The next morning, having been woken early by rain pounding on the tin roof of the chalet, we put on our raincoats for breakfast in the main building. The breakfast buffet was very good.
On departure the reception staff came onto the coach to say farewell and thanks for our visit.
This hotel was truly an experience we will remember for a long time.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out on the site and mostly uphill so unless you want to make use of their free golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Tynes1der,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased you found the property "unique", and enjoyed the chalet & the tree canopy surrounds. We'd love to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just visited Puka Park for our 5th visit. The reason is simple – we have thoroughly enjoyed each visit! The resort has a unique charm that has us wanting more

The location is absolutely stunning and we love the outlook of the chalets set in the treetops. The chalet decks are a great place to have a sundowner at the end of the day, especially with the sun coming through the trees – very peaceful and beautiful.

The newly refurbished studio chalet we stayed in was really great - very comfortable and a great improvement on the previous rooms though I do feel the door between the bedroom and bathroom could be a little more private. Perhaps that is something for management to address? We did take a quick look at one of the larger units which have been renovated and they looked very comfortable.

We must also compliment the staff -- they were great, very helpful and pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and we had a great meal at the restaurant. This is a well managed resort with very attentive staff.

I am very happy to recommended Puka Park and look forward to seeing the completion of the resort refurbishment when next we visit.

And make sure you visit the LimeRoom in the village while you are visiting – you will really enjoy your meal.

Room Tip: We had one of the highest chalets in the resort – great for the view and outlook but if you don’t en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear trevorCM,
We always look forward to welcoming our return guests. We are glad you continue to enjoy the resort's unique charm, together with the newly refurbished chalets & the helpful and attentive staff. We hope you can return soon to enjoy the completed resort refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ari d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came to Puka Park with no real expectations, but were blown away by the place. As seasoned travelers we have never seen such consistently good service. The restaurant is nothing short of amazing - I can honestly say the best restaurant meal I can remember in all my years traveling. And with such fantastic, attentive, friendly service. So even if you can't stay here, definitely come for dinner (and the puka passion cocktail!)

The rooms are lovely too, fantastically comfortable with appointments beyond a normal resort room.

Thanks for making our honeymoon so very special.

Dan and Leanne.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nameequalsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Nameequalsdan,
We are blown away by your review of your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort! We are so pleased we could make your honeymoon so special with the restaurant meals & the attentive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Love the resort but kept awake till midnight by a wedding reception, would have cancelled and stayed elsewhere if had been told about the reception in advance. Was offered an alternate room but wouldn't have made any difference given how loud it was. Cleaners left sliding door open after servicing room. Restaurant service was slow so was food at times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
17.3 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
69 reviews
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: £111 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing