We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Shared a wonderful week here with friends. The resort is set in tranquil rainforest and our adjoining beautiful, large, refurbished cabins allowed for privacy when required and enjoying time together. The staff were excellent; the level of service was outstanding from everyone including the general manager, Nick; the chef was superb; food was a stand out, prices reasonable - you absolutely must have dinner here. Apart from exploring the lovely town of Pauanui, there are many nearby attractions and beaches or just sit and enjoy the view from the hotel lounge.

Room Tip: Cabins are located on paths through the rain forest and the walk home to some can be steep.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Margaret P,
We are so glad you enjoyed your week's stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort and the privacy of the refurbished cabins set in the tranquil rainforest. We appreciate your comments regarding the entire team, together with the stand out food. We'd love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank anonymousI1590EG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Modern, stylish and comfortable refurbished cabins set in lush rainforest in the Coromandel. Excellent food (especially the eye fillet with beef cheeks), friendly and accommodating staff, beautiful views from the main lounge/dining area. Lots to see and do in the vicinity even if you don't like fishing. Great for de-stressing!

Would be nice to have WiFi in cabins but that stopped you from spending all day on your iPad.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pakadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Pakadama,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are glad you found the refurbished cabins modern, stylish and comfortable. It sounds like you really had time to de-stress and look forward to a return visit when our friendly and welcoming staff would only be too happy to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in the Tawa Treehut Chalet. Check-in staff were very snooty and not very helpful. Felt as if they were really doing me a favour. Access to accommodation only via very steep pathways, which are poorly lit at night. A very tranquil setting which was ruined by a barking dog, late at night and from around 6 am in the morning, On our second night there was a wedding reception which was very loud and went on well past midnight. This also meant that there was very limited parking. No allocated parking for guests which seemed ridiculous and meant and even further hike to our accommodation.
The Miha restaurant was very disappointing. A rather average meal which was over priced and took 55 minutes to arrive after ordering and there were only 6 tables occupied! Breakfast was as bad with a 50 minute wait for poached eggs with bacon.
All in all it wasn't a good experience, especially considering the cost.

Room Tip: Ask how far your chalet is located from the central reception hub. Take slippers in the colder month...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hookachucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Craig W,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Our General Manager has investigated your feedback about the staff who checked you into the property and provided them with your feedback. I can also agree that the lighting when you stayed was poor, due to a storm the previous nights, which had knocked out sections of our pathway lighting – this has since been addressed by our Maintenance team and an Electrician. However on the night/weekend, as a precaution, we issued torches to guests to assist with the walk back to their chalets.
Your experience in the Restaurant is regrettable and has been addressed with the staff on shift that evening. This also gave management an opportunity to review our ordering system, which has taken place, and I can now say has been rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Me and my partner went there on the 3rd Jan'14 for our new years holiday it was our best decision to go there, it was amazingly beautiful and so peaceful. No noises at all best place for a quite and relaxing holiday.Staff were gentle and jolly throughout our stay they have been really warm and nice.Our chalet was really big with all the neecessities :) and also had a big balcony which was really nice. The food in Miha restaurant is tremendously beautiful we really cant get over with the taste the quality and the quantity of the dishes are amazing, they have really cheap drinks menu which is one good thing. The service was really good even though they were really busy our waitress was relly jolly and was very funny too :)

Overall we enjoyed our stay and it is one of the best place to live in Pauanui, its clean,spacious,safe and very green :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tursy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Tursy D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort for your stay in January '14. We are so pleased you enjoyed your New Year's holiday & found the resort beautiful and peaceful, together with the quality and quantity of the meals. Our jolly and funny waitress would love to welcome you back, as would we all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank annie985
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: £115 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing