We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, excellent service, lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, excellent service, lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Absolutely wonderful. I had read some of the older reviews about the place needing some work, or snooty staff and I experienced NONE of that - they hotel had obviously taken their feedback seriously and made some big changes.
My friend and I were having a weekend away, and stayed in chalet 6 Tawa treetop room. The fully tiled bathroom, with underfloor heating and dual rain/hand shower was immaculately clean and was elegant. I also enjoyed the 'kauri' bathroom products. The room was stylishly decorated, everything was in good working condition and was also clean and tidy. There was a fridge, complimentary tea and coffee including a selection of herbal teas.
When we arrived there were a number of couples just ahead of us. Despite our protests that we could manage to get our bags up the hill to our room ourselves the staff member doing the buggy runs up the hill insisted on coming back to help us, in a way that made us feel important and no trouble all at the same time. I think this was Jocelyn? She was warm and welcoming, while also being very professional. The lady at the check in counter was also helpful, directing us to additional information such as the tide times and availability of spades for digging at hot water beach, or advising us of alternative things to do in the area. She also confirmed a reservation for dinner that evening at Miha, which is not to be missed. The food was excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. Again the staff in the restaurant were courteous and professional.
There was a fire burning in the hotel lounge and the rugby on the tv, but not so loud that it disturbed us dining.
The pool was warm enough to swim in, in May which I thought was great, the spa could have done with being a degree or more warmer - but I did stay in an hour gazing at the stars and listening to Ruru (Morepork), so it can't have been THAT cold. The hotel provided pool towels, which was great as we hadn't thought to bring any, and again when requested them the staff were friendly and professional.
It was an easy walk to the beach, 7 minutes at most, where there are bush walks up Mt Pauanui - the summit is not for the faint hearted but the view at the top was spectacular.
Yes, there are still a few pot holes in the driveway, and a few loose pieces of wood on our rooms deck fence - I noticed as I have small children at home, my friend did not - but they have obviously made some inroads into their improvements and it showed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would struggle to think of anything that needed work on. Charming place and people, would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laidbacknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear laidbacknz,
We are so pleased you and your friend enjoyed both the charm of the property and the staff. We are glad you appreciated the decor of the chalet and the many attractions nearby. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    252
    122
    52
    28
See reviews for
106
492
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I visited what was at that time Puka Park some 21 years ago and we were delighted to see the venue was as stunning as ever. It certainly is a magic spot set within beautiful native bush with a host of tuis.

The chalets have recently been refurbished and have a fresh coat of paint and look like new. Hard to believe it's been open for over 20 odd years.

The staff are all very helpful and obliging. Breakfast in the sun on the balcony was stunning and dinner inside at night certainly lived up to expectations.

No wifi in the rooms... no problem. Glad to get the kids off their gadgets and heavens sake we're all here for a break aren't we? Good reason to unplug for a couple of days. Access is available in the main building if you really need it for work.

Great break away and would recommend to all (ladies leave your highheels at home though, you'll need your flats to get back up to your Chalet - good for the calves!).

Room Tip: They're all lovely but if you do have trouble walking I would suggest you request somewhere as c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quest N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Quest N,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so glad you've returned after all these years and were delighted with the refurbishment which hasn't detracted from it being a magical spot. We hope to welcome you back sooner next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Simply amazing! We stayed at the Kauri chalet and it was beautiful! I will definitely be coming back! We were welcomed by a very wonderful receptionist (I believe her name was Jocelyn?). The staff were all wonderful, and as my partner put it: made him "feel at home". Service and facility was flawless!Thank you for making our anniversary very memorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMax0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear MaggieMax0426,
Congratulations on your anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased you were made to "feel at home" during your stay. We'd love to host you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a newly renovated chalet in a beautiful bush setting. The chalet had a lovely sunny deck surrounded by trees . Great bed, shower etc. We ate at the restaurant and the fillet steak and beef cheeks was great. The staff were friendly and always offered us a ride up the hill if needed. We enjoyed the hill walk. Beach is close by and plenty of walks in the area. We enjoyed our few days and hope to return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jenny M,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated chalets in the bush setting, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and in particular the restaurant cuisine, together with the friendly staff. We'd love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wonderful tree hut style chalets set in beautiful bush surroundings. The chalets are very well appointed - we had a one bedroom which was a separate room with its own bathroom then a very spacious kitchen / lounge area which also had its own bathroom. Washer and dryer also which is great if you are away all week like we were. We didn't eat in the restaurant this time so can't review that. But overall we love the setting and the accomadations at puka park. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our friends had the studio room which is actually the one bedroom unit with a connecting door shut a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kirstine W,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. The tree style chalets, the beautiful bush surroundings, and the staff would love to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Property: Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing