We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - Such a Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 2 nights for a break away. The staff were exceptional - so accommodating to everything we needed, We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was top quality. The room was very modern, the bed was really comfortable and it was all so quiet up amongst the surrounding bush. We would highly recommend Puka Park to anyone looking for a special time away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 13Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear 13Colin,
WOW, Thank you so much for posting your fantastic review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased that you found our staff so accommodating for everything you needed, and consider the food in the restaurant top quality. We would love to be able to host you again and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great rooms, and lovely dinners it was a great place to stay and recommended it to all, but for people with walking issues there were a lot of steep stair and was a hassle for some family members. But defiantly worth it in the end. Me and my family are all ready planning our next trip to Puka Park.

Room Tip: For older or disabled travellers there are a lot of steep stair to get to the villas so I recommend...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henderson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear henderson1966,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms and the dinners at the property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nicely laid out chalets amongst the trees. Our room (9) had been renovated so nice bathroom, underfloor heating in the bathroom which was nice, big bed etc. We booked for 3 people but they had only made the one bed and still only had glasses and cups for 2 people. No microwave in the room, only tea and coffee facilities. Lovely to hear the birds sing song each moving. It rained both nights and it was hard to stay asleep because the roof was tin so quite load and loads of drops from the rain coming off the trees. Road around the chalet is very steep but they have golf buggies and drive you and your bags up to your room. They had a restaurant but we thought the prices were a little on the steep side so we ate at the shops.

Room Tip: If you're not fit or can't walk very far - choose a room closer to the main office however y...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Toni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Toni J,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your renovated chalet amongst the trees and listening to the birds singing. It's a pity it rained during your stay but hope you can return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

POSITIVES:
The food in the restaurant was 9.5/10. Awesome!

The chalet warm modern and cosy though water pressure for shower was average.

Bed and duvets sooo comfortable. Thumbs up

NEGATIVES
The hotel needs a revamp. Hotel tired but still clean and comfortable.
Fire in lounge too small and puny for the size of the room. a bit pathetic looking.

No free WiFi in chalets. I travel alot and this is now standard pretty much everywhere now. Increase the room rates to cover this.

Pillows not soft enough which is why i bring my own.

Towels in bathroom need replacing. They felt like sandpaper on the skin.

Tennis rackets and other stuff rented out should be free. Increase the room rates if you have to.

Room Tip: Rooms 40 and 41 are very nice. But all the rooms look very good too
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisBennetthjc335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear ChrisBennetthjc335,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort and for providing the feedback on the property and the facilities. These have been forwarded to management for consideration during the current refurbishment program of the common areas. We hope to host you again after completion of our refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

WE recently got a great deal for a treetop chalet last weekend and arrived around 2 pm to check in. At check in we were told the restaurant was almost booked out but we could order room service if we liked as an alternative. Being winter and cold we decided to have a nice warm spa then settle into the room for the night and order room service. There is a book in the room with 6 pages of food to order from breakfast right thru to dinner. We choose some items and thought we would book it after having a spa. Went to the spa which was barely warm so very disappointing and also quite old and small for such an upmarket hotel and had to go into the sauna just to warm up. On returning to the room called room service to be told we couldn't order from that book anymore but we could go to the restaurant and get a menu, but they wouldn't bring it to us. Hmmm out in the cold to get it and then told we could just have what was off the very limited and expensive menu. We would have dined in the restaurant if that was the case but not room service so now very stuck and had to race to the local shops for fish and chips 5 mins before they closed, not happy. The manager was apologetic but did nothing about it and even after the second night the menu was still in our room which would catch more people out. Second night thought we would try spa again and stone cold and would not heat up. Ended up gong to a fantastic restaurant called the Lime Room in Pauanui outstanding service and food. Overall very disappointed with Puka Park and couldn't even believe they didn't even offer a solution to any of our problems just basically sorry and don't care.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Metcalfes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Metcalfes2014,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. It is absolutely appalling that you had the experience you did. Although there are times when mistakes are made and old collateral can still be found around a property the response you had to your issues is entirely unacceptable. Your feedback has been forwarded to the regional manager to follow up with the manager on site. In the meantime the housekeeping team have been asked to check the collateral in the rooms to ensure that everything is up to date. The maintenance team have also completed a check on the spa to ensure that it is working properly.

Pauanui is a fantastic location and the services and facilities in the area are well equipped for the local and international tourist. We are very sorry that on this occasion we have let the region down and not provided the service that you deserved. Please accept my heartfelt apology. We would love to have the opportunity to show you that we do care and I would be more than happy to arrange for you to have a return stay should you so choose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The whole thing about the treetop chalets is its something different. We loved it. It was so nice and relaxing and Pauanui is such a sleepy little town it was awesome to just relax in our room, have a swim and then eat at the restaurant.

The rooms are funky and the bed was comfy. Everything was clean and all amenities you need are there. Te swimming pool and spa were great and the food at the restaurant was amazing!! The scallops were the best I have ever had....

All in all its a nice place to go and relax and the staff are very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KiwiBawse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear KiwiBawse,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience in the treetop chalets and found time to relax in the funky rooms. We hope you can return to enjoy some more scallops in the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wilsad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
16.9 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: £115 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing