We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but probably wouldnt go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok but probably wouldnt go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Spent a couple of nights here with my partner recently to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. The chalet was nice enough although I dont think it was quite up to the standard I would expect for that price. There was no one staying in the adjoining chalet which was good because there is no privacy from your neighbour on the balcony apart from a bare trellis dividing the two decks. There were a few windows without blinds which meant we got woken up quite early by the light but the bed was very comfortable. The grounds seemed quite unkempt but I guess keeping all of the paths swept with that many trees and plant life would be a never ending job. The restaurant was nice enough but not much atmosphere and the food didnt quite deliver considering the prices.
We didnt use the pool since it was full of children but we did book massages in advance at the day spa for massages. Was nice apart from being situated right next to the pool - the sound of screaming children was not very relaxing and for the prices they charge you expect the room to be quiet at the very least.
Wouldnt tell someone not to visit but wouldnt really recommend it either. I think for that price you could find much nicer places to stay on the coromandel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillkj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    252
    122
    52
    28
See reviews for
106
492
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have just returned from Puka Park Resort and would recommend it to anyone. Having stayed in many luxury resorts this one is up there with the best. It has beautiful rooms, we had a chalet which consisted of a bedroom and a lounge room with a kitchen, two bathrooms and a beautiful balcony overlooking the lush green landscape. The only thing missing from the bathroom was a bath. The beds were comfortable with crisp white linen and fluffy doonas. I had one of the best sleeps in a long time due to the pitter pat of rain on the chalet roof. Everything was very clean and luxuriously comfortable.
The staff couldn't do enough to help. From check in to check out we had an excellent experience. The location is within driving range of many great tourist spots. The restaurant was cozy with an open fire going every night. I would recommend this stay particularly to couples wanting a luxurious place to stay in NZ.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday night in a Tree Hut chalet and had a wonderful stay. Our chalet was clean, had modern furnishings and we had our own private deck looking out into the natural bush. The pool and spa facitlites were fantastic. This is a great resort for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATDAV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruanga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

After reading some of the reviews for Puka Park, we were a little anxious about staying, however, our stay was lovely. We traveled with our infant and due to them being busy, we had a 45 minute wait, so staff gave us a free coffe each while we waited. Our room was lovely, clean and tidy and room service was A1 as well. The bed was fabulous to sleep. So do not let bad reviews put you off from staying, we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mischievous_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPuka, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It is always great to receive positive feedback. It is fantastic that you did not let some past reviews, from quite a while back deter you. The team here are very proud of our Resort and reflect this in our customer service. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We are Accor Vacation Club members and stayed six nights at Puka Park using our points. We had a studio chalet which was clean, tidy and comfortable, although the fabrics and decor do look quite dated now.

As other reviewers have said the walk up from the carpark is quite steep but we had no steps to climb as other chalets further up the hill have, so that was a plus. Staff are very willing to drive you up and down from the carpark if you ask.

June is a quiet time of the year in Pauanui but this suited us as we just wanted to relax and get away from the Auckland rat race. Walks along the Pauanui Beach are a pleasure at this time of the year as there is no crowd to contend with!! Please note that many cafes, restaurants and water activities are not open during the winter months.

We dined inhouse at the Miha Restaurant on three occasions and because it was quiet we were able to get a table by the roaring log fire, that is in the lounge!! This was very much appreciated as some of the nights during our stay were quite cold and miserable. The service was quick and it was good to have time to talk to the staff who were always very pleasant and helpful. The menu is not extensive and the food is on the expensive side (however having an Accor Advantage Plus card made the meals cheaper for us) but it was very well presented and tasty.

The only complaint I would have is that I was expecting the TV to be LCD but it was an ordinary 20 inch one. The volume is also set at 12 which is too low for many TV programmes and if you were hard of hearing this would be a big issue. But I can also understand that a loud TV could also disturb guests in the adjoining chalet.

I don't think you could rate this resort as 5 star any more but it was very adequate for our needs and we had a lovely stay.

There are many picturesque areas around the Coromandel Peninsula but a car is essential to get around and sightsee. if you like walking/tramping there are many bush tracks to explore, where you can learn about the native flora and fauna and see remnants of the gold mining era

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had 2 chalets that were really great. Hidden, secluded and like something out of the movies, up in the hills amongst beautiful ferns and indigence trees. At night the lights shining off the bushes from lighting along the stairways is something worth seeing. Everting is very clean and the staff are extremely helpful. Had to have the golf buggy pick and drop off our parents as the claim to the chalets was a bit too much for them. We did it on a special they were offering. We would certainly do again if the price was right. but their normal price is a bit on the high side for me.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

My review will be biased a bit because we like the big city life coming from a hick town in the backwaters! So we didn't like the secluded bush setting or the quietness of Pauanui or the surrounding towns. Our room was nice & was clean but it was chalet 4 which from the carpark is a very steep climb so be aware of that if you have mobility problems. Even if they drive you up you still have to walk up steep steps to get to your room.It's really inconvenient if you leave something in the car.
They will instantly drive you to your steps if you request it though. Although when we went to leave I must have rung the restaurant & asked to be picked up for check out & they said sure so we waited, & waited, & waited. When I went down to reception they hadn't known about my call as the restaurant hadn't said anything to the concierge.
Good size fridge & cupboards & really good size bathroom which is clean & bright & airy. Lovely balcony although no view as really enclosed by trees.
We moved the armchair by the bed for watching TV as you can't see the TV because it's in a cupboard.
No complimentary newspaper delivered. No free Internet. Room was serviced everyday to a high standard.
Everything else was more miss than hit as well.
We are part of the Accor club so got these nights for a really good price, & I could be wrong but I felt like "cheap deal = most inconvenient room location".
We had an early booking for dinner & ordered an entree & they came back & said was already sold out!
Ask how the dishes are prepared before you order. We were disappointed by most of our meal because how we read the menu & what was on the plates seemed very different.In fact, for the 1st time ever I sent a dish back as it was the last straw of a mediocre experience.The irritating piped music didnt help.
Breakfast was also disappointing. Very basic continental & you had to pay extra to get an a- la- carte menu plate of food & extra again to get a hash brown, mushrooms (2) etc.
It was hard to decide because the menu was so limited in options.
Those were the only 2 meals we had at the hotel.We checked out early on our last day so we could be in Rotorua in time to have full American Breakfast at the Novotel there!
The Spa pool seemed tiny. They should have 2 or 3 of them.
Not our cup of tea as I said, we have decided we prefer Novotels generally.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Property: Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing