We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MYSTERY WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“MYSTERY WEEKEND”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We had a tremendous weekend away as it was my husbands 60th and he had no idea where he was going. Everything was just perfect, went to Wentworth falls which was a great walk the next day, then had a swim gorgeous meal, next morning went for a bike ride. Highly recommended A+++++

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPuka, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Thank you for your comments.
It is always great to receive positive feedback and I will ensure this is past on to the entire team.
We strive to offer an optimum experience to all our guests.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    255
    123
    54
    29
See reviews for
108
504
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This has to be the most disappointing resort we have stayed in. Our anticipated peaceful weekend break was not to be as there was a loud wedding (complete with band playing until late at night) which drove us from our balcony in to our room . However as the walls are very thin we could hear the couple in the adjacent room talking and the loud music from the wedding. Our shower was damaged and finally we came back from a day out to find our room had not been serviced:very poor value for money as we were paying $500/ night. We would not recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamishjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPuka, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I am sorry that parts of your experience did not meet your expectations and for this I sincerely apologise. It is however important for me to make comment that we are dynamically priced, meaning the price for a chalet does vary depending on demand for the period.

It is not acceptable that my housekeeping staff followed incorrect procedure leading to your room not being serviced and I have addressed this with the team so thanks again for bringing this to my attention.

I agree we do have some logistical challenges on the occasions we host Weddings, but we are a Destination Resort and our Weddings are not recurrent and happen only on occasion.
Again this does not detract from the noise you experienced during your stay, and this is unfortunate as we pride ourselves on our well appointed rooms, comfortable beds and on the majority of guests who leave rejuvenated from a great night sleep and awakening to the sounds of birds.

Thanks again for your comments as they help in ensuring we offer the optimal experience for all of our guests.

Kind Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Nice hotel, some of the staff were fantastic. 1 not so much
Bar lacked atmosphere and was clinical!

Had big issues at the time of departure with invoicing! Really put me off. Seemed that the communication between F&B and Recepetion was lacking.

For the reason of unattentive senior staff member and Invoicing I will not recomend this Hotel, sorry. Will not go back either.

Must however compliment one employee 'Hayley' for her outstanding service.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Spent a couple of nights here with my partner recently to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. The chalet was nice enough although I dont think it was quite up to the standard I would expect for that price. There was no one staying in the adjoining chalet which was good because there is no privacy from your neighbour on the balcony apart from a bare trellis dividing the two decks. There were a few windows without blinds which meant we got woken up quite early by the light but the bed was very comfortable. The grounds seemed quite unkempt but I guess keeping all of the paths swept with that many trees and plant life would be a never ending job. The restaurant was nice enough but not much atmosphere and the food didnt quite deliver considering the prices.
We didnt use the pool since it was full of children but we did book massages in advance at the day spa for massages. Was nice apart from being situated right next to the pool - the sound of screaming children was not very relaxing and for the prices they charge you expect the room to be quiet at the very least.
Wouldnt tell someone not to visit but wouldnt really recommend it either. I think for that price you could find much nicer places to stay on the coromandel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillkj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have just returned from Puka Park Resort and would recommend it to anyone. Having stayed in many luxury resorts this one is up there with the best. It has beautiful rooms, we had a chalet which consisted of a bedroom and a lounge room with a kitchen, two bathrooms and a beautiful balcony overlooking the lush green landscape. The only thing missing from the bathroom was a bath. The beds were comfortable with crisp white linen and fluffy doonas. I had one of the best sleeps in a long time due to the pitter pat of rain on the chalet roof. Everything was very clean and luxuriously comfortable.
The staff couldn't do enough to help. From check in to check out we had an excellent experience. The location is within driving range of many great tourist spots. The restaurant was cozy with an open fire going every night. I would recommend this stay particularly to couples wanting a luxurious place to stay in NZ.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday night in a Tree Hut chalet and had a wonderful stay. Our chalet was clean, had modern furnishings and we had our own private deck looking out into the natural bush. The pool and spa facitlites were fantastic. This is a great resort for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATDAV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruanga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

After reading some of the reviews for Puka Park, we were a little anxious about staying, however, our stay was lovely. We traveled with our infant and due to them being busy, we had a 45 minute wait, so staff gave us a free coffe each while we waited. Our room was lovely, clean and tidy and room service was A1 as well. The bed was fabulous to sleep. So do not let bad reviews put you off from staying, we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mischievous_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPuka, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. It is always great to receive positive feedback. It is fantastic that you did not let some past reviews, from quite a while back deter you. The team here are very proud of our Resort and reflect this in our customer service. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
16.6 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
11.7 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Property: Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort Pauanui, Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing