We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of my worst experiences” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my worst experiences”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

In my honeymoon in NZ we arrived late to Pauanui ready to rest in the Pines Motor Lodge with an already booked room. when we arrived, there was nobody there to receive us. My surprise was next day, after being afraid to sleep in the car during a frozen night and finally sleeping in a B&B, the boss told me that he was there all night looking the All Blacks!!! We called, rang the bell all night without any reply. This has been an unfortunate experience and I think that it is not a good place to stay because In the case of being there nobody could have helped me if I was in trouble during the night!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PauanuiRobynG, Owner at Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hello Fuzzytrip
It is a pity you have written this revue Such a revue requires you to be totally factual. We believe you fall well short of this. Therefore, we will make little comment.
We feel we must point out to readers that we do live on the property, close to our office, and the night you claim we were out we were certainly here, waiting for you..
Regards
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    55
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
140
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The beautiful pine lodge is very clean with modern fittings and is very comfortable. Kitchen is equipped for cooking (pots, plates, cutleries). Our host, Barry, is friendly and suggested places for us to visit as well as guided us on the best routes to take to reach our destination.
The lodge is conveniently located across the street from a mini supermarket and a few restaurants. It is also about 5 minutes walk from the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pez_zeezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Myself and my 14 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights in the April School Holidays. The unit was immaculately clean and the beds very comfortable.
For our trip to Hot Water Beach on the second day, Barry even sent us off with a Spade to dig with and 2 x extra Towels!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the lodge in February as part of our trip which was organised by a tour company and found it very relaxing. The accommodation was very comfortable and the views spectacular. Our host was very helpful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast at the cafe in the shopping centre. We just wish we could have spent longer than one night there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Clean, well presented chalet with everything necessary for a relaxed and comfortable stay. The bed was extremely comfy. Very handy for the local shops and restaurants. Nice stroll down the hill to admire the wonderful waterfront homes or slightly longer to the great beach. There is a small swimming pool but I did not try it out as I swam in the ocean. I particularly enjoyed the warm friendly welcome and the helpful advice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJock_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

When we researched this stop we came across a travel magazine that described it as a hotel. Once you reach the town it can be readily seen that it wouldn't be big enought to support an accommodation type hotel. The accommodation can be best described as the type of cabins found in caravan parks with a dividing wall in each one. The cabins themselves are quite sufficient with a lounge/kitchen area, roomy bathroom, bedroom and front verandah. Our request at the time of booking was for a quite location without being disturbed by external noises or neighbours. The cabin we had was in a group of about 10 or more, with the front verandah about 2 metres from the edge of the tennis court. On the other side of the tennis court was a private golf course. I was concerned when on the Saturday a wedding party arrived and almost filled the remainder of the cabins. Fortunately upon their midnight return they weren't noisy but the potential was there all the same. There wasn't any outlook as the front has a bushy hedge between it and the tennis court. I don't know how hot they get in the summer but there wasn't any air conditioning that would cool things down. The town itself is very affluent with only about 250 houses occupied year round and the remainder 'holiday homes' but it isn't particulary well located to any attractions in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PauanuiRobynG, Owner at Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hello Dean
I've been waiting for your comments.
I agree we are not a hotel, neither do we promote ourselves as one.
You booked directly online through our website and from the it you would have known exactly what you booked before you arrived here. You would also have seen an overview of our entire property.before you left home.
You did request s quiet room and that is what you got. The wedding group you were concerned about were nine in number and were all elderly, as you claim you are. The likelihood of noise at midnight was very slim. There was also potential for rain on your roof, but that didn't happen either!
The climate here is not as hot as you have at home, so there is little need for airconditioning. The windows do open and there is a substatial pedestal fan kept in the wardrobe. You may have noticed it there.
If there was no outlook, how did you notice the tennis court and the golf course behind it?
There is no one accommodation property that is close to all the attractions on the Coromandel Peninsula, but on a good day out most of our guests find plenty to do. You were back here by early afternoon.
However, I hope waiting for all the potential misfortunes to occur did not distract from your enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here as part of a tour of New Zealand - the travel company chose the itinerary and accomodation so we saw lots of NZ hotels. This place and the accommodation was one of the highlights for us.

The town is a small purpose built holiday settlement. When we arrived the season seemed to be over and there were very few people about. But we really liked it.

The accommodation consists of a number of cabin type units. Entry through glass doors into a lounge/kitchen with bedroom and bathroom to the rear. Everything was very clean, well supplied with towels, tea and coffee and everything we needed. Comfortable. Lots of pine panelling.

We were met by the owner (Barry) - very friendly and welcoming. He gave us good ideas for walks and eating. We walked along the beach and then had a lovely dinner in the restaurant in the shopping area which is close to the accommodation. In the morning we bought coffee and buns at the bakery (fresh and hot) and ate them sitting in the harbour mouth watching the birds - heavenly. We could have done food in the unit but we're on holiday!

We slept well in a comfortable bed - not enormous but fine.

Some people might describe the units as basic - I think that would be unfair: they're not luxury but are extremely nice. There's no air con if that's important for you. The grounds are mature and pleasant - and the unit is private. We didn't use the pool - it looks small but OK for a dip if you don't want the sea.

To sum it up - very nice and comfortable. We'd happily have stayed longer.

Room Tip: It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
15.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
12.2 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
17.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Property: Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Address: 174 Vista Paku | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauanui Pines accommodation consists of 18 one and two bedroom self-contained motel units, each one offering spacious functional living. One bedroom and two bedroom units have full kitchen facilities, large bathrooms, lounge and dining areas. Some motel units have the ability for alfresco dining. Continental breakfasts can be delivered to your motel unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pauanui Pines Hotel
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing