We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and friendly but security needes a check”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly but security needes a check”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent a weekend, two nights, at this motel and found it very pleasant. It is very clean, has all the ingredients expected in an NZ motel. The units are Lockwood cottages split into two or three units. We were not disturbed by noise at any time and found the one bed unit roomy and comfortable. The owners, who are very new, were friendly and accommodating. It is an easy walk to the nearby shops/eating places and a reasonable walk, a few hundred meters, to the ocean beach. There is also a good pool in whch we enjoyed a leisurely swim. The complex is on a slope with adequate parking and is removed from the boring units in a two storey block that is often the motel experience.
One negative experience, the cleaner left our sliding door open all day after doing the morning clean. We could have lost an expensive camera and an expensive watch. The owner was apologetic but this is just not acceptable and checks should be in place.

Room Tip: The studio roomes were very small and dark. Choose a one bed unit at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    58
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
149
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest
Level Contributor
202 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The site is located on a gentle slope with a comparatively small number of units most facing a large grassed area. The cabins are furnished with newish items of furniture, carpets are spotless and the shower/toilet is large and sensibly laid out. Shopping for essentials is but a few paces away in the town centre. During our time there the only noise to interrupt the peace and calm of the place was the occasional light aircraft coming into land at a nearby private landing strip. All in all a well managed, restful quiet site that few would seriously criticise.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The new owners of Pauanui Pines are very friendly while still being totally professional. The units are like mini-suites dotted amongst the greenery for privacy. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit with kitchenette, ideal for our family of four. Al fresco dining! Our girls loved the pool and the tennis court was being well-used. It's just a short walk to the shopping centre and a little more to the ocean beach. Recommended!

Room Tip: Units 8&9 are nicely private with good outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Lovely place to stay, I always choose the pines when in Paunui.
Lovely owners, accommodation is quiet and clean, quaint place to stay. Can take a walk through the town to the beach.
Shops just across the road, can cook a meal back in your room if you like.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavuedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new plymouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We recently stayed at Pauanui Pines. We had a great stay, very handy to the shopping area which was across the road. Enjoyed cycling on the many walkways aroung Pauanui. Went over on the ferry to Tairua ($5 return). Played tennis on the tennis court and even had a dip in the pool , divine ! Recommend playing mini golf which is just around the corner. Places we dined at were "The Lime Room": and "Puka Park Resort" both served yummy food. It rained the whole time we stayed but did not effect our fun time spent in Pauanui. Room was very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My husband and I loved staying at Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge this weekend!! It is central to many places on the Coromandel but this weekend we explored Pauanui walks (coast and estuary side) as well as enjoying the ferry ride over to Tairua. Getting to know both places and the locals were great. Barry and Robin were lovely hosts and the lodge we stayed in had all the space we needed and more. We really appreciated the personal touch in all the rooms and the decor immediately made us feel at home. Thank you and thank you again......We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tersia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband, me and our one-year-old twins stayed at this hotel in November, 2012.

Upon arrival, it was like connecting with an old friend. Barry had our room all set up and gave us suggestions about where to go / what to see / where to eat. The room was spacious, clean and overlooked a golf course.

Inside the room was an interesting coffee-table book about the Coromandel Penninsula. We felt like we discovered a secret place that very few tourists ever get to see.

Within two blocks is a shopping center with restaurants, a market, and even a library that is open from 9 to 12:30 pm.

The weather was less than ideal, but we still had a wonderful time.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
15.9 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Property: Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Address: 174 Vista Paku | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauanui Pines accommodation consists of 18 one and two bedroom self-contained motel units, each one offering spacious functional living. One bedroom and two bedroom units have full kitchen facilities, large bathrooms, lounge and dining areas. Some motel units have the ability for alfresco dining. Continental breakfasts can be delivered to your motel unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pauanui Pines Hotel
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing