We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paku Lodge(Tairua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
Slipper Island Resort(North Island)
View Hotel
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whangamata Motel(Whangamata)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
167
68
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
68
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandseparate bedroomguest laundrypush bikeshot water beachstayed here years agoshops and cafeswhistle stop tourfree laundrysemi detachedequipped kitchenself cateringlovely placerooms were spotlessswimming poolwithin easy walking distancelocal sights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed our last night in New Zealand here. Our room was pleasant and clean and it was nice to have a separate bedroom from the kitchen and living area with a door. The exceptional thing about this hotel are the owners. Our flight didn't leave from Auckland until 10:45 PM. We had to check out by 10:00 AM, but the owners allowed us to come back later in the day and shower and clean up before we got on our 13 hour plane ride back to the US. It was absolutely the nicest, best thing we could have asked for. It allowed us to spend the day on the beach and visit Catheral Cave and still have the place to clean up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButterflySchmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent a weekend, two nights, at this motel and found it very pleasant. It is very clean, has all the ingredients expected in an NZ motel. The units are Lockwood cottages split into two or three units. We were not disturbed by noise at any time and found the one bed unit roomy and comfortable. The owners, who are very new, were friendly and accommodating. It is an easy walk to the nearby shops/eating places and a reasonable walk, a few hundred meters, to the ocean beach. There is also a good pool in whch we enjoyed a leisurely swim. The complex is on a slope with adequate parking and is removed from the boring units in a two storey block that is often the motel experience.
One negative experience, the cleaner left our sliding door open all day after doing the morning clean. We could have lost an expensive camera and an expensive watch. The owner was apologetic but this is just not acceptable and checks should be in place.

Room Tip: The studio roomes were very small and dark. Choose a one bed unit at least.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The site is located on a gentle slope with a comparatively small number of units most facing a large grassed area. The cabins are furnished with newish items of furniture, carpets are spotless and the shower/toilet is large and sensibly laid out. Shopping for essentials is but a few paces away in the town centre. During our time there the only noise to interrupt the peace and calm of the place was the occasional light aircraft coming into land at a nearby private landing strip. All in all a well managed, restful quiet site that few would seriously criticise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The new owners of Pauanui Pines are very friendly while still being totally professional. The units are like mini-suites dotted amongst the greenery for privacy. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit with kitchenette, ideal for our family of four. Al fresco dining! Our girls loved the pool and the tennis court was being well-used. It's just a short walk to the shopping centre and a little more to the ocean beach. Recommended!

Room Tip: Units 8&9 are nicely private with good outdoor area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Lovely place to stay, I always choose the pines when in Paunui.
Lovely owners, accommodation is quiet and clean, quaint place to stay. Can take a walk through the town to the beach.
Shops just across the road, can cook a meal back in your room if you like.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavuedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews