We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marine Reserved Apartments
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was great accommodation; we loved our 2 wk stay. The apartment had everything you needed - washing machine, dryer, BBQ & real BBQ tools, full kitchen, vacum cleaner, double garage etc & everything was in working order.
The apartment was a really good size; we have just stayed 2 wks & also stayed 2 nights with family end of January. 6 adults can stay here very easily, there is more than enough room and the location is superb; it was a 10 min stroll to shops & 20 walk to supermarket or 4 mins in the car. The beach is about 2 min walk.
We thought prices were reasonable & stepped down quite nicely after busy January.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

These apartments are fabulous, very modern and clean, with everything you need. Very large glass doors leading out onto a balcony, parking in garage underneath the apartment.
Great location, a 10 min walk from town centre, but 5 mins away from a lovely long beach. Only 2 problems, firstly it did not have aircon (just ok for us in mid Feb but wouldn't be sure abour Dec or Jan), and secondly the mattress was a bit soft and the pillows too firm for us. Having said that we would not look anywhere else if returning to Whangamata.
The owner was also very welcoming and informative.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I'm surprised The Marine Reserved Apartments doesn't have more reviews. We stayed there in February 2013 for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend it.

The apartments are spacious, well maintained and spotlessly clean. They're a stone's throw from the beach and it's possible to walk into town in about ten minutes along the beach or down the road. There are two styles of apartment and we had one over two levels, double garage (with washer and dryer), bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and two more bedrooms, bathroom, fully fitted kitchen and lounge on the first floor. Ideal for two couples who want a bit of privacy, or for a family of six. The balcony, with BBQ, gets the morning sun for those who like to breakfast outdoors. There's even an outside shower to get rid of the sand from the beach.

There's an exceptional restaurant, Argo, about 100 metres down the road, a few doors down from a good convenience store. Whangamata has a good range of shops, restaurants and bars as well as the harbour. An ideal base for the Coromandel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the apartments on the beach side. Bigger garages, accommodation over two levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had apartment # 6, which was really spacious, modern, clean and nicely decorated. There is a garage downstairs and a large balcony upstairs. The kitchen is fully equipped and there is a separate toilet from the shower - handy for a family. The apartments are very quiet and just one block from the beach. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have just returned to Auckland after spending 2 nights in an apartment here at Marine Reserved. The accommodation was absolutey fantastic, just spot on for our needs, travelling with an elderly parent who likes to have their own bathroom facilities does not often meet our requirements here in NZ.
We can thoroughly recommend staying here & will return again in a heart beat!!!

Far enough away from the beach front to be interesting, & such a short good level walk into the shops for an early morning coffee.

The apartment located on two levels was spotless & was on the mark for our standard which is high. Ample dishes in the cupboards, a good oven, hot plates, ample hot water.
A very pleasant outlook & a comfortable enjoyable deck to enjoy the early morning sun!

Highly recommend & we will return! By the way very good hosts, helpful & welcoming!

Room Tip: Quiet & so clean, first impressions are the most lasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Super apartment close to the ocean. Everything you need is there in the apartment. A little out of the town but that didn't matter a few good restaurants around if you don't want to cook. This was our last stop in New Zealand before travelling onto Australia we needed some down time after all the driving couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment that doesn't face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location is a bit out of town, but very close to the beach. There is a local restaurant nearby, but it is very popular,

The actual apartments are something else again! Ours was a 3 level unit. Garage and laundry on the bottom, beds and bathrooms on the second, kitchen, lounge, dining and balcony on the third. There were only two of us, and we could have had a choice of 6 beds - more than enough room after some of the smaller units we have stayed in. Our apartment was clean, well-furnished, spacious and airy with an abundance of seating choices. We were only there for 2 nights, but would have liked to stay longer. The laundry was put to good use - we dried our clothes on the stand in the garage during the day while we were out.

The staff were extremely helpful (overly so in one instance - we had a bit of trouble with the procedure for the washing machine - the lady actually came and did it for us).

Each unit came with a door opener for the garage - too easy.

We would definitely stay here again (especially now that we know how to pronounce Whangamata).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangamata hotels
1.1 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
0.5 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#4 of 12 in Whangamata
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Whangamata
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pipinui Motel
Pipinui Motel
#8 of 12 in Whangamata
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Reserved Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Reserved Apartments

Address: cnr Ocean Road & Lowe Street, Whangamata 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range: £90 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine Reserved Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortably furnished and fully equipped self serviced units From Studios to 3 Bedroom Apartments Linen and Towels Provided 50 m to the Beautiful Whangamata Beach Each Apt has a private 2 car secure garage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Reserved Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing