We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Nice Lounge/Diner - great kitchen. Double bedroom. Twin bedroom. Bathroom with shower (no bath). Small balcony. TV. Near to restaurants and beach. Would stay again. Great value for money. Swimming pool looked good but did not use it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill.e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    31
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
39
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here at Easter for a family gathering so we had multiple units. It was a fantastic location for families and a group of varied ages - the young kids played on the grass and swings, older kids and adults enjoyed the tennis court and pools, and the elderly members of the group wandered to the shops and market nearby. Great location in Whangamata - easy walking distance to shops, cafes, market, local club, beach, kids playground, etc... Units are very spacious and furnished to a high standard with modern furniture in each of the units. They were clean, well maintained and had all the necessities. These were the best motel units by far that we stayed in on our trip to New Zealand and all were of a comparable price. The motel managers were very friendly and obliging in accommodating our group. I would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySmurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Centrally located on one of the main roads in Whangamata, very close to shops, restaurants and only a couple of minutes from the beach.
Very welcoming and full of local information, we hadn't pre booked but were able to get a 4 bed bungalow that backed onto the swimming pool. This consisted of one double and one twin bed room. Entrance to the unit was through the twin bed room at the front, which could be a problem if you have younger kids who like to go exploring.
Very spacious, well appointed and very clean accommodation. Our apartment was away from the main accommodation building so was very quiet, and had parking right in front.

Swimming pool was clean but not heated, but if you have young kids would advise you don't let swim on their own due to pool being quite deep.

Room Tip: If you have young kids would suggest that the main block would be better than the side bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The rooms are great, everything is clean, there are many facilities like pool, etc. (which we didnt use though). But if your are asked to pay 150NZD for two people, I would expect that the rooms are sound proof. They aren't - we heard every move of our neighbour upstairs. As we have been there at the time of the hop on the beach (60ties cars everywhere, really noisy), it was very noisy due to that too, which might have been avoided with proper sound isolation for the exterior (e.g. double glazing(. It seems that Whangamata is too busy to take tourists money for less value, and this is not what we expect and what we know from our travels in NZ.

Room Tip: Probably upstairs, then you disturbthe people from downstairs instead of the contrary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Large rooms with all facilities, we had a good walk to the beach, and found that the local shops were very handy.For dinner we were taken to the Whangamata Club which was only a short walk away. and had a really great meal . The day that we were due to leave was very wet and we were able to wait in the laundry room while our bags were being packed on to the bus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwicarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

First impression of my stay here is great. Main points:

> Very clean.
> Plenty of SKY TV channels.
> Pool and jacuzzi.
> Water pressure is awesome.
> Close to town i.e. there's a dairy, food outlets and gas station nearby.

Great comfortable stay at this location. Price was a bit on the high side - probably due to weekend. TV is a bit old (CRT 14" I think) but acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1_foodiedoodie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was our first time in Whangamata and having stayed at the Palm Pacific Resort made our experience that much more enjoyable.

Our unit had been recently renovated and was very clean and well decorated.

The facilities were all well kept and tidy.

Spending the day relaxing at the big pool is a must !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigAucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
0.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
12.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
13.8 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
0.4 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#5 of 6 in Whangamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata

Property: Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
Address: 413 Port Rd., Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shops and cafes at your doorstep, golden sand beach 4 min walk away, pool (inc toddler pool), tennis court, sauna and private spa, Palm Pacific Resort has everything you need for the perfect Whangamata get-away. Our beautifully appointed 1 and 2-bedroom units, some with spa bath, have full kitchen facilities king/queen-size beds, 50-channels digital Sky, patios or balconies, wireless internet, continental breakfasts available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata Hotel Whangamata
Palm Pacific Hotel Whangamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing