We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Pacific View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacific View B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

It was our first time at a bed and breakfast, we had the most wonderful time (we stayed in the king room I believe) and I am usually a picky person in terms of bathroom and bedroom cleanness, I was blown away at how clean and tidy and comfy and welcoming everything was.
Breakfast was to die for too! Wish we could've stayed longer but we enjoyed the small bike ride and tips for what to do around the area on the way back home. It was the most lovely experience ever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcw_piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We can only say that our stay at Pacific View was totally perfect. From the moment we arrived Kathyrn and Peter made us so very welcome. Our room was great with the most fanatastic views of the Pacific Ocean.The breakfast that was served on all three mornings was beautifully cooked and set us up for our days out on the beautiful Coromandel penninsular. The evening meal that Kathyrn cooked for us was superb and we had a great evening together.
We really loved the area which was helped by the local knowledge that Kathyryn and Peter informed us of.
Than you very much for making our stay with you so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

A very clean & tidy place to stay with excellent amenities & first class breakfasts.Overlooking the town of Whangamata.Kathryn & Peter are very welcoming & like to have a chat to everybody & find out what they have planned etc. (usually over a glass of wine).

Room Tip: Better view from the top bedroom & slightly bigger but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our stay at Pacific Wiew was excellent! We felt so confortable like we were at home.
The room was amazing, very clean, confortable and with a lot of details. We found everything we need.
5 mins driving from the town in a hill, therefore very quiet and relaxing.
Delicius breakfast, much more than we used to have.
Good knowledge about the area and places to visit.
We recommend Pacific View indeed!

Room Tip: We were at King room, absolutely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcobosmendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

What a contrast between this place and the previous nights stay at the Copthorne in Hokianga. We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The room was nice, and included a fridge. The fridge contained various things in a mini-bar style. Our room was not en-suite, but the bathroom was right opposite the bedroom door, and was for our sole use. Wi-Fi was available.

Breakfast was shared with the other guests (1 other room I think) and was a good selection of cereal, yoghurt and fruit, followed by something hot. A great way to start the day.

As it was our honeymoon, Katherine kindly gave us two bottles of fizz and a card. Typical of the kind Kiwi welcome we experienced everywhere.

Parking was available on one of the steepest driveways known to man! Thankfully, Katherine & Peter let us park in the garage. They also kindly leant us spades for Hot Water Beach (Thank you and sorry for breaking one).

It's a short drive into town for the beach, shops, bars etc. Beware, even on Valentine's Day the place was empty and we struggled to find somewhere to eat at 20:00 as everything was closed or about to close. The two places we ate in (can't remember their names though) were both nice.

A good base for the Coromandel (don't forget to drive through L&P territory on your way) and a fantastic place to stay. Our hosts, Katherine & Peter were very generous with their home and were able to give good advice on journey planning etc.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuttleTydirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Kathryn and Peter were great hosts. Kathryn couldn't do enough for us and made our short stay so wonderful. The house is clean and welcoming with marvellous view from the lounge and dining room. Kathryn paid a lot of attention to details to make sure that our stay was comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and were cooked to perfection. We would certainly stay with Kathryn and Peter again when and if we go back to Whangamata again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed for five days in March 2011 and really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is up on a hill with a great view and we found it to be an excellent location to explore the Coromandel peninsula. We booked the king bedroom with en-suite bathroom and the room was very nice with a lot of attention to detail and cleanliness.
Peter and Kathryn are wonderful hosts and they did everything to make our stay comfortable. From a cooked to order breakfast to happy hour to transportation to town they will always be there to meet your needs. This is very different from a standard hotel stay and can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hppfleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
1.2 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
17.3 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 13 in Thames
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
1.0 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#4 of 12 in Whangamata
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Reserved Apartments
Marine Reserved Apartments
#3 of 12 in Whangamata
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range: £153 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing