We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Pacific Ocean View”
Review of Pacific View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacific View B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Pacific Ocean View”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Pacific View Bed and Breakfast is located high upon the hillside overlooking the town of Whangamata with stunning views stretching out across the Pacific Ocean.
Kathryn and Peter opened their door and warmly welcomed us into their beautiful home. We had the privilege to be the first guests to stay in the newly converted guest room with a large well appointed ensuite. All spotlessly clean with modern decor plus beautiful linen.
Kathryn and Peter provide special little touches that make the difference to your holiday experience such as pre-dinner drinks where they would provide invaluable local knowledge to ensure we got the best out of our stay. Plus home baking every afternoon and beautiful breakfasts with lots of variety and choice coupled with that spectacular breathtaking view
Like us Kathryn and Peter have travelled extensively too, so they know what to provide for their guests...high standards and fantastic hospitality!
It was a very memorable part of our New Zealand experience so thank you Kathryn and Peter and if we pass your way again we'll certainly ensure we stay once more.
Highly recommended :D

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear D&P, we are so pleased to hear you had such a fabulous holiday in New Zealand. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us at Pacific View - Peter and I were just pleased that you had such a good time in Whangamata and on the Coromandel Peninsula and hope you'll come back again soon. Thank you for your review - such nice complimentary comments - which are always appreciated by both ourselves and potential guests. Kind regards, Kathryn at Pacific View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
192
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Kathryn and Peter are outstanding hosts who go the extra mile. Luggage lift an extra bonus. Extra touches in the room, flowers, chocolates, home baking and complimentary port complimented the outstanding sea and rural views along with a warm welcome and cup of tea with them on arrival. Breakfasts were beautiful especially home-made muesli which preceded fabulous selection of cooked breakfasts. They have great knowledge of the Coromandel and provided us with a great selection of walks. One of which "wentworth falls" about an hours walk is a must see. Look forward to a return in the not to distant future. You would be hard pressed to find more accommodating hosts.
Jenny and Kevin

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thankyou so much for sending in a review about Pacific View. It is always very much appreciated. Thanks also for choosing to stay with us - we were pleased that we could help towards making your wedding anniversary a special time. Next time you want to book with us do contact us in advance and we will make sure we provide you with our returning guest discount. Good luck for the house move.
Kind regards.
Kathryn & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Kathryn and Peter are great hosts who know how to make guests feel welcome in their wonderful B&B/home. They have both travelled extensively so know what guests want.
We chose to dine in and Kathryn prepared a delicious beef bourguignon with tiramisu for dessert.
Breakfast included juice, freshly squeezed from oranges growing on the tree just outside the dining room door. Hard to beat that.
On the practical side we stayed in the Pacific King Room which has a stunning view. The bed was comfortable and our sleep undisturbed despite it being a very windy night. The en-suite is a good size and well designed. There is a lift for the luggage and those who can't manage stairs.
Would we stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I loved staying with Kathryn and Peter - they made me so welcome and couldn't have done enough to make my stay relaxing and comfortable. I stayed at Pacific View 6 months after starting my round the world journey and it really was almost as good as being home again - definitely a home away from home and I would be delighted to stay there again if I ever make it to the other side of the world again. Thank you or looking after me - the breakfasts were a feast. Lizzie

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Hullo Lizzie, It's great to see that you've made it back home again to the UK - and all in one piece too!! It seems such an age ago that you and Megan stayed at Pacific View but we loved having you and felt very privileged indeed to be hosting one of the Crew members in the Clipper Round the World Yacht Race. Thank you for your lovely review and hopefully we'll get to meet you again soon so that you can tell us of all your wonderful experiences and memories of the race. Best wishes with your next experience. Kathryn and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Lovely stay, with charming hosts. So many lovely little finishing touches which made this place special. Delicious breakfast too, and so many choices. We had a great stay, despite the weather! We would recommend this to anyone wanting a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HNB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear HNB9, Thank you for reviewing Pacific View B&B - it is very much appreciated and we are really pleased that we were able to make your brief stay special. Next time we will try to improve on the weather in Whangamata for you!.
Kind regards.
Kathryn & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Kathryn & Peter are the perfect hosts. From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. My partner and I hadn't done much research before we arrived so we were delighted to find that there were plenty of suggestions for our (too short!) stay. If you like sweeping views, gorgeous beaches and lush country, the Coromandel is for you - and Whangamata (Fong-a-ma-TAH) is the perfect place to use as a base.
Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove and Opoutere are all must-see stops, but you'll find a very useful reference of Kathryn and Peter's favourite places to visit in your room.
We stayed in the Pacific King room - gorgeous views, and a very comfy bed. All the little touches are there and make it a real home away from home. The evening drinks and nibbles are a hoot - Kathryn and Peter are very easygoing... dare I say, it was like staying at your Aunt and Uncle's place... but better?!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Hi Partynana, Many thanks for your very complimentary review - we are just so pleased that you both had such a nice time at Pacific View B&B. Both Peter and I really enjoyed hosting you. We always like to hear back from our guests how much they like the Coromandel Peninsula. As I've said before we already know how fabulous the region is so we love it when our guests discover it as well.

We look forward to seeing you back in Whangamata again soon.

Kind regards.
Kathryn & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our first B&B experience during our trip to New Zealand and Australia. We weren't quite sure what to expect before we arrived, but were pleasantly surprised. As our trip involved nearly three months away from home, we had plenty of bags, some of which we were going to leave in the car. Peter insisted that those we did not need we brought in and left in a room downstairs, and the rest were quickly whisked up to our room in the lift. A real bonus as no heavy bags to lug up stairs.

Although the weather wasn't brilliant when we stayed, Peter and Kathryn offered good advice about what we could do, and even loaned us a spade to dig in the sand at Hot Water Beach. There were even beach towels in our room which was a nice touch.

A very nice breakfast with plenty of choices.

The only down side - a little bit out from the centre of town, so you needed a car to go out to eat at night, which meant that one of us had to be careful about what we drank with dinner!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
1.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
182 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whangamata
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
14.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Property: Pacific View B&B
Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing