We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Pacific View B&B

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific View B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This was quite something. We had a lovely time sharing Kathryn and Peter's home and were certainly well fed and watered. Delicious home made food. Loved the room, very spacious and luxurious with a superb view. We much appreciated our hosts advice on what to see and do as they really know the area; even provided a shovel for our trip to hot water beach!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
192
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

From the very moment Kathryn and Peter welcomed us to their magnificent house, we were very well treated and actually a bit spoiled. They both seem to love to take care about their guests, to make them feel like appreciated guests rather then paying customers. We got a lovely room with a spacious balcony and and a stunning view of the city and the ocean. The house is very well kept and both the exterior and interior are with style and elegance. The hosts do know a lot of things about the Coromandel and they were most generous to give us information about this. Then, the breakfast was top quality with everything from home made müssli to absolutely fresh juice and bacon & egg directly from the pan. We were very pleased with the warm, personal touch combined with the integrity given. It is a few km's down to the center but transportation was arranged in a most convenient way by Kathryn and Peter. After long thinking, the only thing I could remark on is that it is going to be very, very hard to find anything better than this. For sure I will recommend this place with the whole of my heart!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in January. Kathryn & Peter were such fantastic hosts & we couldn't have felt more welcome in their home. Our room was immaculate with everything we could possibly need & fantastic views over Whangamata. Breakfasts were delicious & we would definitely recommend Kathryn's homemade muesli. Kathryn & Peters knowledge of the area is extensive and they were more than happy to suggest things to do & places to eat etc. We had such an amazing time & couldnt thank Kathryn & Peter enough for their warm hospitality & kindness!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

From the moment Kathryn met us at the door we were made to feel like treasured friends and not paying guest, The quality and comfort cannot be beaten - homemade jam, marmalade muesli and biscuits were a lovely touch. Kathryn and Peter's knowledge of the area was superb and the advice they shared proved invaluable and they went out of their way to ensure everyone was happy in their home. Everything you could want was available, down to a shovel to dig on the Hot Water Beach. The view was really something. The only negative was you need a car to get into town for food, but the welcome, breakfast and comfort here more than made up for that. Would highly recommend this lovely home and would definitely stay again if we return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, NZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Excellent value as a top quality, friendly, well-situated immaculate home. Huge breakfast where quality matched quantity. Wentworth Valley, Opoutere Beach are wonderful trips within a short distance. Kathryn & Peter are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We had the good fortune to stay with Peter and Kathryn recently in their wonderful B&B. Our room was a delight with additional treats such as chocolates and port which enhanced our stay! The views from our room were outstanding and it was lovely to be able to sit on the balcony relaxing after a long day travelling. Peter and Kathryn made us feel immediately at home and were so helpful when we had a problem with our Hertz hire car. Breakfast was also excellent. The biggest regret we had was that we had booked for one night only. Should we visit New Zealand again we wouldn't hesitate to book the Pacific View and for more than one night!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay so much. With all the disasters you experienced (from the Hertz Rental car failures to the unsatisfactory accommodation in the north) it meant that your stay at Pacific View shone even brighter! Such a shame you could have just one night with us, but we understand when our visitors are on tight deadlines. Remember to make it 3 nights next time! Come back again soon. K&P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2012

From the moment we walked into the door, it was a very warm and welcoming place. The Pacific View B & B exceeded all our expectations. Lovely, super clean room, tasty breakfast and hosts that went out of their way to make our short stay perfect. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks to Kathryn and Peter

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHANGAMATABANDB, Owner at Pacific View B&B, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
We were so lucky you both came knocking on our door - and it was just such a shame your stay was so short. Nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and are pleased to hear that you found everything at Pacific View to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Coromandel Peninsula again some day. Kathryn & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
1.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
182 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whangamata
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
15.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
274 reviews
14.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Property: Pacific View B&B
Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing