We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”
Review of Pacific View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific View B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Having only arrived in NZ a few days before and this being our first B&B, our only concern was how any other accommodation would ever live up to Pacific View. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome. Kathryn and Peter had thought of everything and more besides. There were so many little extras we kept noticing like the complimentary port in the bedroom! The position is great with lovely views out to sea, even from the ground floor room. We very much appreciated our cup of tea with Kathryn and Peter on arrival and booked to have a meal prepared by Kathryn on our second night. It was delicious! It was a fantastic experience and one which we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Pacific View B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have never experienced such kindness, care and attention as that shown by Kathryn and Peter at the Pacific View. They certainly went the "extra mile" to make sure our holiday was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and they had thought of all the little things that helps a traveller feel welcome. We stayed a full week and enjoyed ever minute.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We are not use to staying in B & Bs and generally a little reluctant to do so, but we came across a gem in Whangamata in the beautiful Coromandel area of New Zealand. The Pacific View has a great view - high on a hill overlooking the town of Whangamata and the Pacific Ocean beyond. Our room had its own private balcony , a king size bed and a modern bathroom. The hosts were great. They made you feel very welcome, with touches such as the wine and cheese on the balcony on arrival. They were most helpful in suggesting sites to see and drives to make and restaurant to eat at while at the same time respecting your privacy. Other touches such as cake and biscuits in the room, free soft drinks in the minbar, a lift to get our luggage up to our room on the top floor and a great home cooked breakfast all contributed to an enjoyable experience and made our stay quite special.

Room Tip: The top floor Pacific King Room is probably worth the extra.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from NZ and feel compelled to write about the wonderful B&B we discovered in Whangamata on the beautiful Coromandel peninsula. From the moment we were greeted by our hosts, Kathryn and Peter, it was clear we had come across something special. After showing us to our room, which had a wonderful view of the town and ocean beyond, we were invited to join our hosts for pre dinner drinks on the balcony, where we were able not only get to know about the area but also about Kathryn and Peter themselves. The next few days they could not have been more attentive, giving us loads of ideas about how to spend our time - with spades, deck chairs, cooler box etc always to hand for the day ahead. It is hard to put into words what a special place this is - from the little goodies awaiting us in the room each evening to the homemade muesli, jams and cooked breakfast to Peter's taxi service to the town each evening - Kathryn and Peter are the ideal hosts, with the ability to make us feel like friends, not guests! We would recommend the Pacific View to any visitors to the Coromandel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill-Ian029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed with Kathryn and Peter over Christmas and truly enjoyed it! It was perfect - Kathryn is an amazing cook and her breakfast and Xmas dinner was fabulous! They pay a lot of attention to details - complimentary port wine and brownies in the room, complimentary wine before dinner, land artisan soap in the bathroom. The rooms were spotless and the views absolutely stunning.
And on top of all that, Kathryn and Peter make you feel as if you were staying with old friends. We even got Christmas presents!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwannJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at the Pacific View B&B last week, whilst on a four day trip to the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula.
Peter and Kathryn are exceptional hosts, and deserve every ounce of praise that comes their way from these TA reviews.
Our room was the "Coromandel Room" on the ground floor, from which we enjoyed stunning views of the Whangamata harbour entrance. Our room was extremely comfortable and we loved the generous extras like the port and Kathryn's delicious home made baking- cookies and chocolate brownies.
We had a choice of what we would like to eat for breakfast. We were totally spoilt for choice and enjoyed every mouthful of Kathryn's cooked breakfast.
We felt very welcome and at home with Peter and Kathryn and would love to stay with them again one day.
This is an exceptional Bed & Breakfast and is run by exceptional hosts.
Do go and stay there, you'll have a wonderful time. It is indeed " a special place "
Andrew & Val jackson.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacko05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn O, Manager at Pacific View B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Thank you Val and Andrew for such a wonderful complimentary review. To you and all our guests who have written reviews this year we say a BIG THANKS for all the nice things that have been said. We love the B&B life of hosting people from all over the world. It never ceases to amaze us how lovely the people are who choose to stay with us at Pacific View. We feel blessed and honored to have met so many wonderful people many of whom have continued to be good friends.

We look forward to your return visit Val and Andrew and to some good fishing!

Kathryn & Peter
Pacific View

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had the upstairs room with a million dollar view! We were so comfortable it was hard to leave both the home and the hosts! Kathryn and Peter gave us so many tips on where to go, what to see and where to eat and never missed a beat as everything was terrific and fun. Our breakfasts were delicious and plentiful with a table set with beautiful linens and family heirloom china. We had a fabulous time and all the tips we received helped make our few days in Whangamata filled with great adventure. A beautiful place to stay with wonderful people who made us feel so much "at home" in their own.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with king size bed and porch has a lovely view! There is an elevator so don't...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverMomasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
121 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
14.7 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range: £133 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing