We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come as guests, leave as friends.”
Review of Pacific View B&B

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific View B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Come as guests, leave as friends.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in NZ and staying with Kathryn and Peter was the icing on the cake. We were lucky enough to stay 4 nights in their friendly and welcoming company and appreciated all they did to make our stay so very enjoyable.
We had the most delicious breakfasts - I am now an eggs Benedict lover; had beach equipment and chairs loaned to us, and helpful information as to which beach to visit, route to take, or place to eat. If we'd known Kathryn was such a good cook, we would have eaten in!
We were treated more as old friends than guests and you are guaranteed an extremely warm hospitable stay here on the Coromandel Peninsula.
Try to book the room on the top floor, the view from the balcony is gorgeous, in daytime and on a starry night.

Room Tip: Try and stay on the top floor, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
192
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a great stay at the Pacific View with Kathryn and Peter. Our room had a spectacular view and had all the amenities one could wish for including yummy shortbread. Our breakfasts were wonderful....Kathryn is a great cook. I highly recommend this wonderful B & B!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAnchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights at Pacific View B & B on 12/13 March. Everything was great, with Kathryn and Peter both being perfect hosts. We are both vegetarian, and Kathryn did an entirely vegetarian breakfast menu specially for us. Lots of choices & it was a good example of their attention to detail. Peter also booked us on a boat trip and suggested some places to visit. Thank you trip advisor for helping us to pick the best place to stay in Whangamata.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed with Kathryn and Peter at this wonderful house and we felt so at home. They are a wonderful couple that go above and beyond hosting. The room was wonderful with a great view and the hospitality was top notch. They help with giving information about the surrounding area, they have bikes and boogie boards for fun, and there were the little things like the brownies and wine as a nice surprise after a long day....and to top it off, breakfast was delicious!!! We definitely recommend Pacific View B&B!

Room Tip: Feel at home on vacation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A superb B and B , we stayed just 2 nights but wished it could have been more.
Kathryn and Peter were so friendly and welcoming , giving a really personal touch.
Our room had a fantastic sea view and everything was of an excellent standard .
The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pacific View B & B as our dream-cross-country-honeymoon was drawing to an end for one night, Jan.14.2014. As advised by our wonderful hosts, Kathryn and Peter, one night was not nearly enough time to enjoy all there is in the area.

Beautifully located, clean, fresh, and operated by such a lovely couple - our short time at Pacific View B & B will be cherished by us and remembered for years and years to come. Kathryn & Peter have created a most welcoming and relaxing home. Thank you both for your care, we hope to be back some day soon!

What we Loved!
- Kathryn & Peter welcomed us with open arms into their home. Wonderfully kind hosts.
- We were provided with information, maps, and things to do in the area. Because we only had a short time to visit, Kathryn and Peter helped us prepare our driving routes, dining suggestions, recommended activities and which companies they preferred - you name it, they knew about it!
- The little touches! A crystal carafe of port was waiting for us - a lovely treat that we shared on the balcony of the Pacific King Ensuite Room. I also got into the goody jar of chocolates by the bed!
- Clean, bright, welcoming room. Glorious view of the blue waters & islands.
- Quick drive to the city centre, dining, and beach!
- Comfy bathrobes, beach towels, drinking/wine glasses were all provided.
- Kathryn prepared a delicious breakfast for us and was so accommodating for various dietary needs (ie - I'm a vegetarian); of special note was her homemade granola! Yum! Having breakfast and coffee with Kathryn and Peter was a treat and it was lovely to share stories and experiences.

Thank you both for a wonderful stay. Our only regret is that we did not have longer here. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay more than one night if time and budget permits. There is truly so much to do in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Having only arrived in NZ a few days before and this being our first B&B, our only concern was how any other accommodation would ever live up to Pacific View. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome. Kathryn and Peter had thought of everything and more besides. There were so many little extras we kept noticing like the complimentary port in the bedroom! The position is great with lovely views out to sea, even from the ground floor room. We very much appreciated our cup of tea with Kathryn and Peter on arrival and booked to have a meal prepared by Kathryn on our second night. It was delicious! It was a fantastic experience and one which we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
1.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
182 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whangamata
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
15.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
274 reviews
14.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Pacific View B&B

Property: Pacific View B&B
Address: 125 Pacific View Drive, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific View B&B is a small boutique B&B offering quality accommodation for discerning travellers. Located at the top of the highest hill in Whangamata on the Coromandel Peninsula it has spectacular views out to the Pacific Ocean. Clad in a luxuriant subtropical rainforest and fringed by a necklace of sandy beaches, the Coromandel Peninsula is your PURE New Zealand experience and Pacific View is the perfect base for a 2 or 3 day stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing