We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean; great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very clean; great location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had originally booked for one night and quickly extended this to two nights. The motel is ideally located within walking distance on the main road through the town centre with all restaurants, shops and bars in easy walking distance (less than 5 minutes). The unit we stayed in was quite small but beautifully clean and comfortable. The staff we came into contact with were very friendly as were the owners and their dogs. Lovely place to stay; very relaxing and everything you could need close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, it is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one evening during a weekend trip to the Coromandel in early January. We selected it because they offered one-night accommodation while many other places required at least two nights. We were very pleased with our brief stay. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. If we had more time we would have spent another night in Whagamatata.

Since we're from the US and only passing through the owners were helpful in directing us to good places to eat and visit the next day. They pointed us to a secluded beach outside Onemana that did not disappoint (something we never would of found on our own).

We would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for the great review, we wish you could have stayed longer also. who knows maybe we will see you back here again!!.....hope your trip back to the US went well and that you have great memories from you time here in NZ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

its just of main road,
was a bit disappointed as the room i was in was nothing like on the photos ,the pillows were hard,the unit had every thing i needed for the few days, nice walk to town, good holsts

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bopboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks for the review, just a quick note with this all the rooms have two choices of pillows, one soft one hard. The rooms displayed as main photographs on our website are the most expensive rooms, however you can still find photographs of all rooms on our site, its all relative to what you want, ie a $200 room is not going to look like a $120.00 room!!. We are extremely grateful that you chose to stay with us and I sincerely hope we see you again...I hope the rest of your holiday went well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

South Pacific Motel in Whangamata is a lovely place to stay for leisure or work. The rooms are comfortable, clean & have really nice complimentary stuff in the bathroom & Kitchen. The carpet is luxurious, making you toes curl with relaxation. There is an onsite cafe that can be utilised for meetings or conferences if required. The atmosphere is boutique, with a beach flavour. Lindsay, the host, cooks a mean breakfast & has the good sense to provide coffee from Raglan...what a great way to start the day.

There are a couple of friendly dogs called Rusty & Max who add to the ambiance - laid back & relaxed. The Motel has a couple of accessible rooms, one of which I stayed in. Coveniently located on the ground floor with a wet room shower that has it's own bathing chair. Easy acces to cafe. Apart from the gravel car park it is a good option for people with mobility issues.

Nga mihi ki a koutou Max, Rusty & Lindsay

Hinewai

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
What a marvellous review....I cant begin to thank you enough and am really pleased that you like us here!!.....I certainly hope we continue with the service you expect on any future stays you may have with us........thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were driving towards Whangamata and hadn't pre booked any accommodation. It is always tricky when you are searching online for a place to stay, and sometimes you can end up disappointed. We were stoked to have booked Southpacific Motel, the room was awesome and pristine, and the service and friendliness of the staff was 5 star. Happily stay again. Well priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SurfSunSandJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thankyou so much for the great review, it is always satisfying when people leave happy with their decision to stay with us.
I hope you have a wonderful Christmas with your family and all the best for the holiday season, and thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

They don't have a cancellation policy online. They don't send you a cancellation policy when you book. I cancelled two months in advance of their busiest time (ie they will get replacement bookings) and they charged $130 to my credit card while I was asking them to point me to their cancellation policy. Rip off merchants.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank S3875EGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachedAsBro, Owner at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I am sorry that you feel this way, our intention is always to be fair, we do this with the understanding that our clients will also understand that we have a business to run and cannot afford to absorb costs associated with cancellations.
This charge has been explained to you, you have been treated fairly and respectfully all through this process and you will find we do in fact have our cancellation policy written clearly with all booking agents and on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked this place at the last minute, given that it was Labor Day weekend. We thought that given the short notice, we would have to take second best in whatever accommodation was still available in the town. We were wrong. Although it does not look much from the outside, we were charmed by the cutest little first floor apartment, which even had a separate bedroom. Everything was modern, fresh and immaculately clean. It was one of our favourite places to stay during our three week tour of New Zealand. The owner even helpfully recommended eating at the RSA across the street, which was good advice as we had a great meal there.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the end of the building by the main road, traffic noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandC428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachedAsBro, Manager at Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review. we wish you could have stayed longer, it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope we will see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
0.3 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
0.8 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
14.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.1 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Whangamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre

Property: Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Address: 249 Port Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"2014 CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE WINNERS" Contemporary units superbly located within easy walking distance of town centre and beach. Quiet, clean and comfortable rooms with Air con, SKY TV and FREE wireless internet. On site licensed cafe serving the best coffee and food also a Spa and large BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing