We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coromandel adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peninsula Waterfront Retreat
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Outstanding facility and amenities to support activities; outstanding location; outstanding host and hostess. Couldn't have asked for more.

Mike & Francie H

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for four nights while in Whangamata for work. The place was beautiful and so comfortable. We really enjoyed coming back after long days and being able to relax by the pool and cook delicious BBQ meals. Also really loved the near by tracks for running, and the mountain bikes provided us with a great morning ride along the beach. Can't say enough on how amazing Craig and Patricia were to us as hosts they made us feel so welcome, would highly recommend this place to anyone who was going away on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Absolutely superb house in a stunning location. Very modern and clean with all mod cons and more.. Swimming pool, tennis court, kayaks, bikes, fishing, superb tele(s), barbecue and again more..

The owners, Craig and Patricia are really helpful and knowledgeable re the area, beaches, routes, good local food.

We were easily able to get to Hot water beach and Cathedral cove (Narnia) and had just a really relaxing few days on quite a hectic schedule.

We cannot recommend it highly enough

Phil Warner

Room Tip: go and enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had 5 nights at the Peninsula Retreat. It is a beautiful location, gorgeous grounds, and lovely, comfortable accommodation. The welcome we had from Craig and Patricia was outstanding - nothing was a problem. We would definately recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights during January 2012. The views and location are really amazing. The 2 bedroom apartment we had was spacious and well equipped. Provisions were more than we expected, Craig and Patricia are very helpful. We stayed here as one stop on a long trip in New Zealand, it was really a fantastic place to stay and we will most certainly be back. Many thanks to Patricia and Craig, we look forward to next time and only hope to make our stay longer.

We have no hesitation in giving this our highest recommendation to anyone considering staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeninsulaRetreat, Owner at Peninsula Waterfront Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

It was a pleasure to have you stay at the property, and we really appreciate you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Warmest regards
Craig and Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Fantastic property with an a amazing view overlooking the Harbour. Facilities are second to none with very hospitable hosts. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJFarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeninsulaRetreat, Owner at Peninsula Waterfront Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you sometime again soon.

Wishing you all the best
Craig and Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Dear Craig & Patricia,

We would like to thank you very much for your hospitality during our stay.

We greatly appreciate the treatment you gave us. You really made us feel very comfortable.
Everything was perfect and it was amazing wake up every day with a wonderful view in front of us.
We had a fantastic time!!!

We 're going to recommend you to everyone we know.
Thany you very much again

King regards

Ma Angels & Santi from Barcelona

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeninsulaRetreat, Owner at Peninsula Waterfront Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Merry Christmas to you both.

We really appreciate your fantastic feedback on the Peninsula Waterfront Retreat and the service that we provide, it was lovely to have you stay and we hope to see you both sometime in the not so distant future.

Take care.
Craig and Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangamata hotels
1.4 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
2 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#4 of 12 in Whangamata
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pipinui Motel
Pipinui Motel
#10 of 12 in Whangamata
14 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Whangamata
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Waterfront Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Waterfront Retreat

Address: 38 Aileen Place | Whangamata, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range: £311 - £780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Waterfront Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Waterfront Retreat is situated on a small headland on the shores of the Whangamata Harbour in the Coromandel Peninsula. This large lodge styled home with 1.5 acres of tropical gardens, swimming pool, and tennis court makes for the perfect holiday getaway. Do as little or as much as you please: kayaking, fishing, tennis, coastal walks, golf or simply lounging by the pool. Ever changing views down the harbour and over forested hills provide a secluded paradise. The self-catering apartment and upstairs master suite cater for a maximum of 6 persons in 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenette plus bbq, lounge, sky tv, All kayak, mountain bike & tennis equipment & helmets, life jackets etc., are onsite and in a variety of sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peninsula Waterfront Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing