We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For us, the only way to travel in NZ”

Kiwi Dundee Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For us, the only way to travel in NZ”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We are now booking our fourth tour with Doug and Jan from Kiwi Dundee. It is hard to articulate the allure and attraction of NZ. We were hooked from our first trip, and are committed to do so every two years until we die! Jan and Doug are passionate about their country, and as comfortable in the bush as they are at the finest dining table. Given the longevity of their business, and that fact that one cannot help but love them, they have a network of people, places and a stock of ideas that allow one to see NZ from the eyes and hearts of locals. We have never been to a place that had tour busses (okay, once, but we wanted to see the penguins, along with 200 other people). They are honest, hard-working, and simply wonderful companions. We so trust their work that on our 2012 trip, we told them to surprise us, tell us how much to send, and when we arrived, we were told what our experience would be.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must do in the Coromandel area”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

What a great way to spend the day exploring the region. Peter was our outstanding guide who knew so much about the area, the plants, the wildlife and the natives it was unbelievable. After picking us up at our B&B he took us into the forest to explore. And that we did! We found a morepork (?) owl, frog and wetta bugs in the glow worm cave. Such great fun. Then it was off to a great hike to the hot beach and Cathedral Cove in the afternoon. We could have certainly done the afternoon on our own, but having Peter be with us made a good tramp into a great tramp! Highly recommend doing this if you have a day to explore.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DannySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really terrific, really wonderful”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My wife and I just spent a week touring the north island with Jan and Doug--and we had a blast! It was our second visit to New Zealand but first to the north. Jan and Doug are knowledgeable, fun, informative, quirky, and more. They helped design a terrific week full of great, long hikes, great short stops at scenic wonders, delightful hotels and great food. They both know and love the north island and you cannot go wrong with them. It was lovely, and they are lovely. Would love to make it back to see them again! Highly recommend them.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great guided day”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My wife and I recently spent a day with Doug Johansen in the Coromandel and highly recommend his company's services. His knowledge of the area and its history helped our understanding of New Zealand more in one day than all the rest of our trip. The day included a hike to a Maori defensive position, a visit to a long abandoned gold mine, some time on a hot water beach and a close look at glow worms. While all the places were interesting, it was Doug's combination of commentary and personal experiences that made the day memorable. Plus the spot at which he arranged lunch was great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful North Island Tour with Kiwi Dundee Adventures”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

In mid-November, my husband and I took an 8-day custom private tour of the North Island of New Zealand with Doug and Jan, proprietors of Kiwi Dundee Adventures. Although booking over the Internet can be risky, this proved to be a most serendipitous choice. From their warm welcome at the Auckland airport to our regretful farewells in Wellington, we had a marvelous time. We had sent out a proposed (rather ambitious) itinerary on inquiry to several companies and, from our first contact, Doug and Jan worked with us to make sure that we could see all that we had wanted to see while keeping the logistics manageable and adding in many treats we hadn't thought of. Every detail was taken care off, including procuring a wheelchair for me when my cane was not enough to allow me to cover the distance needed to enjoy an attraction. Furthermore, they worked hand in glove with Canterbury Trails tours to coordinate our subsequent tour of the South Island. Their both going on tour with us had several advantages: among them, they could switch off on driving, they could carry out two activities simultaneously (such as parking and ticket buying), and they could accommodate our different levels of physical fitness by taking my husband and me on different trails.

As biologists, we were especially interested in the natural history and ecology of the island. Because they have been active for many years in conservation of the native flora and fauna, Doug and Jan are expert in this area and shared many special natural features of New Zealand with us. They have lived on the North Island for all their lives, and the depth and intimacy of their knowledge added tremendously to our understanding of the society, culture, and economics of the area as well. Our fervent thanks to Doug and Jan---we could have been happier with this tour only if we had had the time to make it longer!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank alison13Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiwi Dundee Adventures also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Kiwi Dundee Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing