We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location! Great Hospitality! Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location! Great Hospitality! Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

A hard-to-beat secluded get-away for a special occasion in the beautiful NZ bush. The romantic slipper bath, the glow-worms, the attentive hosts who know how to pamper you, and of course, the five course degustation meal with matching NZ wines, were just what we needed.
Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave&Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary at Bushland Park Lodge recently. Reinhard and Petra greeted us and made us at home straightaway. The rooms and surroundings are comfortable and serene and you can't help but feel relaxed and recharged. We are very busy people, and this amazing weekend proved to be exactly what we needed. The hospitality was amazing, the food was incredible, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarissaFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We planned a family weekend get away at "Bushland Park Lodge" at the end of July, while my daughter is home from the USA and son was able to escape from his business. We arrived on the Friday afternoon to a warm greeting and smiles from Petra and Reinhard. They helped us take our luggage to our warm and very inviting suites then offered us a welcome drink in the cosy living area with the fire roaring and great smells coming from the kitchen!! We had a fantastic 1st night as we were invited into the kitchen to enjoy drinks and pre-dinner nibble while we watched Reinhard cook our fabulous Paella. We all had a great night with a glass of sangria and a couple of tequila shots to compliment a delicious Paella meal!!! Our suites were beautifully appointed,with great thought gone in to the "attention to detail" in everywhere you looked. Candles,biscuits, port, body lotion & perfume, beautiful lighting, bathroom robes to name a few.
We all enjoyed the hearty breakfasts with great coffee, the omelette was the best we had every
had. Bushland Park is set on 5 immaculately kept acres, beautiful native trees, pond, romantic outdoor bath with candles and heater for an evening soak. The river runs along side the quaint country road and is only metres away from the Lodge's front door so the sound of gentle moving water is so relaxing and calming..
We enjoyed more of Reinhard's culinary masterpieces on Saturday, a 3 course meal of Salmon tartar, Angus beef eye fillet and to finish a dessert of Tiramisu. It was magnificent and served on beautiful plate ware, cutlery and glasses. We so appreciated every mouthful as we are big time "foodies".
Reinhard and Petra are truly gifted and talented people and LOVE what they do!! They are your prefect hosts and make you feel like friends not guests. We would recommend Bushland Park Lodge to anyone that has an appreciation for beautiful cuisine sourced from New Zealand's finest ingredients and value the peace and quite of a magical location set in the native bush of the Coromandal. We can't wait to return to enjoy some of the long bush walks and a soak in the outside bath that the weather didn't allow us to indulge in. Thank-you Reinhard and Petra for making our weekend with our children so very, very special and memorable. You were both amazingly accommodating hosts and we loved having you as part of our time together. See you again one day!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stay at the Bushland Park Lodge and you absolutely will not be disappointed.
The most difficult part of planning our family trip to New Zealand was choosing where to go with the limited time that we had. After much research, I found that the Coromandel Peninsula and the Whangamata region would offer scenery, beaches, and bush that my teenagers would be interested in, and a even a few vineyards to placate the parents who would not have time to go to the south island!
We flew from Boston to Auckland and after 30+ hours of travel, we certainly did not want to be disappointed with our first night stay! The Lodge is just a bit more than a two hour drive from Auckland airport. We chose to take the scenic route and spent the day driving around the Cormandel Penninsula ( the scenery is breathtaking). Upon arrival at the lodge, Petra and Reinhard greeted us, allowed us to freshen up and then sat us down for an AMAZING three course New Zealand gourmet dinner! (The Rack of Lamb with Reinhard's reduction sauce was incredible!!!) Each day Petra and Reinhard would offer suggestions on where to go. We would tend do do a bit of hiking to find hidden beaches or the gorgeous waterfall just in the back yard...this allowed us to look forward to our private dinner and not feel guilty about the forthcoming calories! Each day we would go off on an adventure and return to be pampered at the lodge. Great food, culinary education, outdoor bubble baths, beautiful gardens and simply warm and wonderful hosts...how can you go wrong? We will make it a point to return!!! Thank you Petra and Reinhard! We will always remember our lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We arrived at Bushland Park Lodge having spent a lovely but tiring day driving around the Coromandel Peninsula. Paula and Reinhard were waiting to welcome us with a refreshing drink and gave us a choice of rooms (all so nice it was difficult to choose). We were very pleased that dinner was available at the Lodge as it allowed us to settle in and relax. The food was first class and we enjoyed having the company of Petra and Reinhart at our meals. They both take a pride in serving good quality well prepared food. Petra and Reinhard were wonderful hosts and were allways ready to answer our questions about the area and suggest places to visit. The garden is beautiful and we were delighted to see the glow worms in a grotto at the end of the garden. With so little light polution the night sky was magnificent and Reinhart offered us the use of his tripod to photograph it. We would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

BLP was recommended to us “If you don’t stay anywhere else in NZ you must stay at BPL” by friends who had stayed in 2011. We stayed 3 nights in February and it was truly a great experience. Petra & Reinhard were the perfect hosts, we arrived as guests and left as family!
Start the day with one of Petra’s great breakfasts, and then do whatever to wish, it is the perfect place to relax & do nothing or go out and visit the Coromandel peninsular or one of the fantastic local beaches (Petra will give you all the details)
Whatever you do during the day we strongly recommend an evening meal at BLP, the variety and quality of Reinhard’s cooking is a must. Finally finish off with a romantic candle lit soak in the outdoor bath.
Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We chose to stay here because we needed a base to explore the Coromandel Peninsula and we had enjoyed a stay in a bush lodge on the South Island a few years ago. The Bushland Park Lodge is a little different from our previous experience as hosts Petra & Reinhard have surrounded the lodge with wonderful gardens that they have carved out of the bush. We stayed in the spacious and comfortable Kauri Suite which has a deck opening straight on to the gardens. The evening meals cooked by Reinhard were excellent and each morning Petra served up a beautiful fresh breakfast. The Bushland Park Lodge is not a cheap place to stay, but it is a unique experience and the service provided by Petra & Reinhard is outstanding. If we go back to the area we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
14.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
14.6 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
22.9 mi away
Rapaura Water Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Property: Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Address: 444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat in Whangamata created its own speciality for a high quality and very personal hosting. The owners "Petra & Reinhard" love to share their passion with their guests for fine dining, glass-art & pure nature with New Zealand "bush & beach". Exclusively only 3 fortunate couples experience this very unique place in the Coromandel Peninsula New Zealand with a variety of attractive features: A private glow-worm grotto just 3 minutes from your dining table. Outdoors, close to the lily pond and with total privacy a "Double Slipper Bath" to gaze at the Milky Way stars with Champagne & Candles. Your "private Chef" offers high class cuisine in the Lodge's dining wine cellar; often on his own created art glass dinnerware. Bush walks to the famous Wentworth Falls start at the doorstep, and glorious white-sand beaches are only a few minutes' drive away. Two golf courses close by. Bushland Park Lodge is not just a stop along the way, but a destination in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing