We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were fortunate enough to be hosted by Petra and Reinhard for a weekend away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
On arriving, there was a warm welcome from Petra and a personalised message on their blackboard, not to mention our very own carpark (who needs expensive valets when you have this!).
After a walk around the lovely property and then further up the road to the falls we sat down to a absolutely delightful meal. Again, more personalised treatment, great conversation and excellent hosts - what more could we want. But the night didn't end there, a visit to see the gloworms, although not many due to the time of year, but enough to be happy with, and then our very own relaxing outdoor bath....wow....couldn't ask for more.
A great breakfast and picnic the next day, and for dinner, a lesson in Paella, including a lesson in drinking tequila shots!
Everything was to our liking, and Petra, Reinhard and Jen were fabulous hosts, we couldn't have asked for more. If you couldn't be relaxed in this environment, you couldn't be relaxed anywhere.
Thank you so much for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My partner and I spent a night with Petra and Reinhard at Bushland Park Lodge and had an absolutely fabulous time here. The interior of the main lodge building reminds me of a southern German Gaststübe, with pine furniture and cosy quarters. The exterior, however, is 100% New Zealand, with old-growth native forest and glow-worms in a nearby waterfall area just a moment's walk from the lodge. Dinner was easily the best I have had in recent memory, with beautiful dishes prepared by Reinhard using local ingredients and served on glass dishes that he and Petra produce in their on-site glass kiln (which is also available for guests to learn to use). The rooms are of a very good size, and comfortable, with great beds that afford a beautiful night's sleep. At breakfast, we enjoyed cold sliced meats and cheeses typical of a German-style breakfast, along with delectable Black Forest-style eggs with Speck which are not to be missed. I wish I could have stayed longer, but now that I know what's on offer here, I certainly hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushpark, Owner at Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear J &J, it was a delight to have you both staying at our luxury slice of paradise. We are happy you felt so comfortable you are considering a return visit! Chef Reinhard would be excited to surprise you with more great food creations, maybe to be enjoyed together in the unique bush-dining setting close to the glow worms. As you both understand, a true gourmet audience is so wonderful to cater for! Just set the date. Menu designing is already underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had a fabulous weekend celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at Bushland Park Lodge. It was a real treat right from the start (despite the ugly weather). Petra and Reinhard are superb hosts and were really interesting and fun to spend time with. The food was incredible and the accommodation a perfect mix of modern and comfortable with a unique German character in beautifully maintained grounds. Petra and Reinhard recommended some excellent things for us to do in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed visiting the many beautiful beaches and tourist areas during our time there. The walk to the waterfall is a 'must do' and the glow worms and luxurious outdoor bath make this place a real winner! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We really felt great, a warm welcome, excellent advise for trips and a personal atmosphere and outstanding food - not only at diner but also in the morning with "speckled eggs" - let us us feel so good. This is really a place to relax. We can recoimmend to anyone who likes to have a private but also a familiar atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfB208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Spoil yourself for a few days and go to this piece of paradise away from it all. Your hosts Petra and Reinhard will treat you with special attention and the most amazing food! They just manage to make you feel special by doing the little things most people don't even notice....like fluffing your pillows before bedtime...
The outside bath with champagne is a highlight! Such fun under the stars!
This is a definite must if you like good company, great food and allround royal treatment.
Thank you Reinhard and Petra, we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anv here what a lovely relaxing experience from the day we arrive we were made to feel welcome. Petra & Reinhard personalised service was great, the food fantastic and the surroundings fabulous - the complete package. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing romantic retreat.
Allan & Debbie Ratana
Taupo
NZ

Room Tip: Kauri room is the pick of the 3 available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We chose Bushland Park Lodge to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary - it was absolutely fantastic. Petra was on hand to greet us with champayne and an introduction of what the lodge had to offer. During the weekend we saw glow worms, had a very relaxing bath in the slipper bath which looks over a large, magnificient lilly pond - and with the clear evenings the stars were the icing on the cake.

On our second evening we had the five course degustation meal with matching NZ wines. In the morning Reinhard asked us our preferences and he produced a most amazing dinner for us and other guests at the Lodge. It was a most impressive meal and way beyond our expectations. Reinhard and Petra went out of their way to make our anniversary something special.

We can recommend the walk up to Wentworth Falls - a two hour walk there and back through bush. Access to the Lodge is by a part gravel road and a ford, but we had no trouble driving a Z3 to the Lodge.

As a previous owner of a lodge in Auckland who was Number 1 and 2 on Trip Advisor we know, first hand, the effort that Petra and Reinhard went to, to make our 40th Wedding Anniversary something special.....thank you Petra and Reinhard - we thoroughly appreciated everything - we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jassJass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
14.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3.8 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
3.3 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
3.6 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#4 of 12 in Whangamata
27 reviews
4 mi away
Pipinui Motel
Pipinui Motel
#10 of 12 in Whangamata
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Address: 444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range: £381 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat in Whangamata created its own speciality for a high quality and very personal hosting. The owners "Petra & Reinhard" love to share their passion with their guests for fine dining, glass-art & pure nature with New Zealand "bush & beach". Exclusively only 3 fortunate couples experience this very unique place in the Coromandel Peninsula New Zealand with a variety of attractive features: A private glow-worm grotto just 3 minutes from your dining table. Outdoors, close to the lily pond and with total privacy a "Double Slipper Bath" to gaze at the Milky Way stars with Champagne & Candles. Your "private Chef" offers high class cuisine in the Lodge's dining wine cellar; often on his own created art glass dinnerware. Bush walks to the famous Wentworth Falls start at the doorstep, and glorious white-sand beaches are only a few minutes' drive away. Two golf courses close by. Bushland Park Lodge is not just a stop along the way, but a destination in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing