We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful start in New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful start in New Year”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Together with some friends we greatly enjoyed the lodge and hospitality of Petra and Reinhard during new year. It were some amazing days with walks through thick rain-forest, dolphin-watching and relaxing in their sauna - during the evening the chef surprised us with exzellent food. We want to thank our hosts and look forward to coming again to Bushland Park Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoernrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bad Kissingen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature.
Comfortable accommodation in pure nature with an individual and perfect service.
Reinhard and Petra are perfect hosts and have made our 5 days stay a wonderful experience.
We have been also impressed of the excellent dinners, which Reinhard has prepared for us - every day a very nice surprise.
And for hobby hobby-cooks a very good place to learn about exceptional recipes.
The dot-on-the-i has been our bath in the twin bath-tub, open air under the stars of New Zealand.
Go and stay there, you will love it!
Jürgen S,, Germany

Room Tip: each of the rooms has its specific charme
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juergen_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Bushland Park Lodge and resort with Petra and Reinhard, the perfect hosts. Our every need was catered for whilst respecting our privacy. The five course meal was amazing and topped off with wines to compliment each course. We finished off the night with a romantic bath together with bubbles and champagne.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdbkwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Delightful blend of quaint amenities, quality food served on stunning glassware made by Petra and Reinhard, a serene environment and privacy for those special occasions. Glow worms, the bush and Wentworth Falls combined with the outdoor bath by candlelight adding that extra element making the overall experience magical. The ideal place to relax and rejuvenate!

Room Tip: We loved the Kauri room and were the only couple there, perhaps the Garden suite would be better if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were fortunate enough to be hosted by Petra and Reinhard for a weekend away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
On arriving, there was a warm welcome from Petra and a personalised message on their blackboard, not to mention our very own carpark (who needs expensive valets when you have this!).
After a walk around the lovely property and then further up the road to the falls we sat down to a absolutely delightful meal. Again, more personalised treatment, great conversation and excellent hosts - what more could we want. But the night didn't end there, a visit to see the gloworms, although not many due to the time of year, but enough to be happy with, and then our very own relaxing outdoor bath....wow....couldn't ask for more.
A great breakfast and picnic the next day, and for dinner, a lesson in Paella, including a lesson in drinking tequila shots!
Everything was to our liking, and Petra, Reinhard and Jen were fabulous hosts, we couldn't have asked for more. If you couldn't be relaxed in this environment, you couldn't be relaxed anywhere.
Thank you so much for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My partner and I spent a night with Petra and Reinhard at Bushland Park Lodge and had an absolutely fabulous time here. The interior of the main lodge building reminds me of a southern German Gaststübe, with pine furniture and cosy quarters. The exterior, however, is 100% New Zealand, with old-growth native forest and glow-worms in a nearby waterfall area just a moment's walk from the lodge. Dinner was easily the best I have had in recent memory, with beautiful dishes prepared by Reinhard using local ingredients and served on glass dishes that he and Petra produce in their on-site glass kiln (which is also available for guests to learn to use). The rooms are of a very good size, and comfortable, with great beds that afford a beautiful night's sleep. At breakfast, we enjoyed cold sliced meats and cheeses typical of a German-style breakfast, along with delectable Black Forest-style eggs with Speck which are not to be missed. I wish I could have stayed longer, but now that I know what's on offer here, I certainly hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushpark, Owner at Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear J &J, it was a delight to have you both staying at our luxury slice of paradise. We are happy you felt so comfortable you are considering a return visit! Chef Reinhard would be excited to surprise you with more great food creations, maybe to be enjoyed together in the unique bush-dining setting close to the glow worms. As you both understand, a true gourmet audience is so wonderful to cater for! Just set the date. Menu designing is already underway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had a fabulous weekend celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at Bushland Park Lodge. It was a real treat right from the start (despite the ugly weather). Petra and Reinhard are superb hosts and were really interesting and fun to spend time with. The food was incredible and the accommodation a perfect mix of modern and comfortable with a unique German character in beautifully maintained grounds. Petra and Reinhard recommended some excellent things for us to do in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed visiting the many beautiful beaches and tourist areas during our time there. The walk to the waterfall is a 'must do' and the glow worms and luxurious outdoor bath make this place a real winner! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
14.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
22.9 mi away
Rapaura Water Gardens
14.6 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Property: Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Address: 444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat in Whangamata created its own speciality for a high quality and very personal hosting. The owners "Petra & Reinhard" love to share their passion with their guests for fine dining, glass-art & pure nature with New Zealand "bush & beach". Exclusively only 3 fortunate couples experience this very unique place in the Coromandel Peninsula New Zealand with a variety of attractive features: A private glow-worm grotto just 3 minutes from your dining table. Outdoors, close to the lily pond and with total privacy a "Double Slipper Bath" to gaze at the Milky Way stars with Champagne & Candles. Your "private Chef" offers high class cuisine in the Lodge's dining wine cellar; often on his own created art glass dinnerware. Bush walks to the famous Wentworth Falls start at the doorstep, and glorious white-sand beaches are only a few minutes' drive away. Two golf courses close by. Bushland Park Lodge is not just a stop along the way, but a destination in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing