We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant and excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Welver, Germany
1 review
“A brilliant and excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

On our journey through New Zealand we stayed at the Bushland Park Lodge for Christmas. It was a great and wonderful stay there. We could really enjoy it because Petra and Reinhard care attentively and friendly about us. The food they cooked by themselves was also brilliant and the luxury rooms and the relaxing athmosphere in their little paradies were a good start for our exciting trip from the north to the south island. Nowhere else we had such a fantastic stay. So we say "thank you" to Petra and Reinhard and we'll hope one day we'll meet again. If you like to have unforgatable holidays you have to come to the Bushland Park Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our wonderful children gave us this weekend to celebrate our Silver Wedding anniversary. It was a fabulous treat in a stunning location. Beautiful grounds and a lovely lodge with a choice of three gorgeous suites to stay in. Dinner was sumptuous with personal touches and great presentation in their lovely dining area, Petra and Reinhardt made us feel very welcome and at home, they are interesting people, good conversationalists and nothing was too much effort. There's lots to see and do in the area with super beaches and bush walks close by. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the suites are lovely. The Presidential one we had allowed me to catch the early morning sun on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_JON_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Petra and Reinhardt made us feel at home on arrival. Our bedroom suite was luxurious with very comfortable beds. Karen is a vegetarian and was catered for superbly for all three nights and breakfasts. Even the canopes were specially served for her.I had a foodie's delight and the matching wines were excellent. The slipper garden bath was a real experience not to be missed. Thank you Petra and Reinhardt for your advise on excursions in the area, which included the walk to the waterfall and visits to hot water beach and cathedral cove. All very enjoyable. We would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Together with some friends we greatly enjoyed the lodge and hospitality of Petra and Reinhard during new year. It were some amazing days with walks through thick rain-forest, dolphin-watching and relaxing in their sauna - during the evening the chef surprised us with exzellent food. We want to thank our hosts and look forward to coming again to Bushland Park Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoernrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Kissingen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature.
Comfortable accommodation in pure nature with an individual and perfect service.
Reinhard and Petra are perfect hosts and have made our 5 days stay a wonderful experience.
We have been also impressed of the excellent dinners, which Reinhard has prepared for us - every day a very nice surprise.
And for hobby hobby-cooks a very good place to learn about exceptional recipes.
The dot-on-the-i has been our bath in the twin bath-tub, open air under the stars of New Zealand.
Go and stay there, you will love it!
Jürgen S,, Germany

Room Tip: each of the rooms has its specific charme
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juergen_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Bushland Park Lodge and resort with Petra and Reinhard, the perfect hosts. Our every need was catered for whilst respecting our privacy. The five course meal was amazing and topped off with wines to compliment each course. We finished off the night with a romantic bath together with bubbles and champagne.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdbkwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Delightful blend of quaint amenities, quality food served on stunning glassware made by Petra and Reinhard, a serene environment and privacy for those special occasions. Glow worms, the bush and Wentworth Falls combined with the outdoor bath by candlelight adding that extra element making the overall experience magical. The ideal place to relax and rejuvenate!

Room Tip: We loved the Kauri room and were the only couple there, perhaps the Garden suite would be better if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
14.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
116 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
216 reviews
14.6 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
251 reviews
22.9 mi away
Rapaura Water Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Property: Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Address: 444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat in Whangamata created its own speciality for a high quality and very personal hosting. The owners "Petra & Reinhard" love to share their passion with their guests for fine dining, glass-art & pure nature with New Zealand "bush & beach". Exclusively only 3 fortunate couples experience this very unique place in the Coromandel Peninsula New Zealand with a variety of attractive features: A private glow-worm grotto just 3 minutes from your dining table. Outdoors, close to the lily pond and with total privacy a "Double Slipper Bath" to gaze at the Milky Way stars with Champagne & Candles. Your "private Chef" offers high class cuisine in the Lodge's dining wine cellar; often on his own created art glass dinnerware. Bush walks to the famous Wentworth Falls start at the doorstep, and glorious white-sand beaches are only a few minutes' drive away. Two golf courses close by. Bushland Park Lodge is not just a stop along the way, but a destination in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing