We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly motel”
Review of Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakers Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Great motel with a lovely pool. Our room had a spa pool on our porch which also led directly onto the pool. It was a private porch too so nice to sit out in the evening with a pack of cards and bottle of wine.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our 'room' had a large living area, kitchen, separate bedroom and large bathroom which had a huge shower and corner spa bath. Very large, clean and also homely. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Also very close to a large supermarket.

Room Tip: Room 16 was huge, private with direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BH868841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Staff are extremely friendly, happy and very helpful. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra cost just because they were not all booked out. Winning! Very clean and property well looked after. Close to beach and the township. Wish we were staying longer then one night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gumnut85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Breakers is a fantastic motel next to the marina in Whangamata. Marie & Doug are excellent hosts & nothing was too much trouble. They were extremely helpful & obliging. We spent 3 nights there & couldn't fault it. The rooms were spacious,very clean & well equipped. They were also serviced daily & the coffee & tea etc topped up. The pool was lovely & clean & the spa on the balcony was an extra bonus. My husband was in a moon boot & on crutches so the freedom of being able to swim & then relax in the spa was fantastic. Even when the weather wasn't good enough to get out we could watch movies on the sky tv & borrowed the dvd player & rented a dvd from the rental shop in town. We would definitely recommend this motel to everyone & can't wait to return for another chill out break.

Room Tip: If you want to be next to the pool the ground floor units are perfect but it is only a short walk fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Whangamata is a strange little town. Worth 2 or 3 nights as long as you stay in the Breakers Motel. It's a 10 minute walk into town, next to the marina. It's built round a pool, so the ground floor rooms have a terrace opening on to the pool and the first floor rooms have balconies overlooking it. Rooms are comfortable/clean/in good condition.

Room Tip: We stayed in ROOM 10 - the upstairs room furthest from the road. 2 bedrooms and a good balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

lovely motel. friendly staff and cat. spent 1 night there. had a downstairs room right beside the pool. deep end is deep! it's surrounded by lovely greenery and rocks. shower was really good too. very clean couldnt fault the place. except the person staying above us in the upstairs room. Elephant feet! pacing during the night.

Room Tip: ideal downstairs rooms for wheelchairs acess!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maraea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent 2 nights at this motel, and found the owners and staff very helpful and friendly, offering to do our laundry whilst we went out for dinner in the evening. The room was great, with a well equipped kitchenette and the bed was very comfortable. The motel was within walking distance of the town, (about 10 minutes) which meant we could both have a drink with our dinner in the evening, and also walking distance to the beach. Although we didnt use the pool,but it was a very nice area and ideal for people with children. Also only about an hours drive away from Cathedral Cove and Hot Beach which are well worth the visit. Would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at Breakers Motel for 1 night and wished we could have stayed more! People at reception were so so friendly and welcoming, the unit was great, clean, everything we needed was there. The private spa was wonderful, the pool and surrounding very well looked after. We will definitly go back there and recommend to anyone. You can't be wrong with Breakers Motel!

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Sandnz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
11.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
13.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range: £89 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing