We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing night away”
Review of Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakers Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a relaxing night away”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the motel just for the night and found it to be perfect for what we were wanting. The spa pool right outside on the balcony was the best thing but the room itself was great having lots of space and a kingsize bed. The lady that welcomed us was really friendly as well which was nice and just topped off the whole stay really. Will definitely be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    41
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
114
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We found this place quite by accident and we were glad we did.It's in a good location in a relatively small town. The lady on the desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was large with doors that opened out onto a patio area and straight to the pool area which we didn't get to use as it was only an overnight stay.we could also see the boats in the harbour from our room. The town itself was limited in what it had to offer but very pleasant nevertheless.Eating out could be a problem as there didn't seem to be many places to choose from we ate in one of the local clubs which are always good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensioner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We've stayed here for the week end with my husband. We had found on their website a Special "Couple gateway" for $140 per night for a studio, spa on the balcony and a bottle of bubbly offered.
We arrived on Friday late afternoon and been greeted by a lovely person at the reception. Apparently, the guy who took our reservation on the phone didn't check correctly and no more studio were available. So they up graded us for a one bedroom apartment with spa. That was nice!
The apartment is really comfortable and clean. The bathroom is spacious. There was a small kitchen but with enough space and cookware to prepare light meals. And the spa on the balcony is a delight! Seriously, no need to go in a fancy spa when you have every thing you need to relax in your room. The upstairs studio have a view over the pool and the further the port and their boat. the downstairs studio are open on the pool which can be handy when you have kids.
We had really appreciated the reception staff allowed us to leave when we feel like on the Sunday morning (check out usually at 10 am). The weather was pretty bad all the week end and the clear out sky on the Sunday morning make us keen for a last good surf. So we left at 2pm. Thanks to our host.
I would definitely recommand that motel, even if I now, low season makes things more negotiable and summer time might be over crowded.

Room Tip: upstair for a couple, downstair for a family or friends trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danlemile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a great Motel for a nice relaxing weekend! They have units with their own private balconies with a spa that you can fill yourself! So you can sit in the spa with your wine overlooking the marina - very relaxing! Friendly accommodating staff. Decent sized units. Close to town. Very much worth a stay!

Room Tip: The rooms with the spa on the balcony are well worth spending a bit more on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandcarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were down in Whangamata for a wedding and decided to stay at the Breakers Motel. The front-desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, which started everything off in the right way.

The hotel has a great looking pool, although we didn't use it, and some rooms on the ground floor can walk out straight into the pool. We had a spa out on our deck. Again, although we didn't use this, had we been staying for longer, I'm certain that we would have.

It's easy to find Breakers, as when coming form Auckland, you drive past it on the way in to Whangamata. It's a short walk / drive from the motel to the beaches and centre of the town. I'd definitely recommend staying there if you're visiting Whangamata.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Great motel with a lovely pool. Our room had a spa pool on our porch which also led directly onto the pool. It was a private porch too so nice to sit out in the evening with a pack of cards and bottle of wine.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our 'room' had a large living area, kitchen, separate bedroom and large bathroom which had a huge shower and corner spa bath. Very large, clean and also homely. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Also very close to a large supermarket.

Room Tip: Room 16 was huge, private with direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BH868841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Staff are extremely friendly, happy and very helpful. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra cost just because they were not all booked out. Winning! Very clean and property well looked after. Close to beach and the township. Wish we were staying longer then one night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumnut85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
11.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
13.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
0.9 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Whangamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Property: Breakers Motel
Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing