We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakers Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Lady at reception was very helpful and friendly. The room was tidy, modern and had a reasonable view. The spa bath was good and we could still see the view from it. The big pool area looked very nice except unfortunately the weather turned windy and cool and no one was down there. The place was on the inside/west side of the Whangamata Urban Area and Peninsula but still only a very short drive and medium walk from town and the main beach. The only thing was the bed in the lounge was wobbly. The price was maybe on the upper end of the bracket for the type of room. Overall very good and would recommend. An upstairs room facing north would be the best option.

Room Tip: Upstairs north facing with spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    41
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
114
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed in this motel for one night and I have to say I was blown away by the friendliness and generosity of the staff. Our family of two adults and two teens turned up tired and in need of hot showers after kayaking all day. Loralee ( I think?) was so friendly and helpful,and gave us extra milk so the kids could have hot chocolate. When I asked where the laundry was so that I could do some washing she let me use the hotel's washer and dryer free of charge instead. A godsend! We stayed in unit 14 which was a 1 bedroom unit with 2 single beds in the living area which opened out onto the pool area. The room was really nicely appointed, very spacious and very clean. Very, very comfortable! The only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Would totally recommend Breakers for their personalised service. PS: they have the most adorable cat which was in terrible need of lots of pats! For our family who was missing our pets at home he/she was a welcome substitute!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noonie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
236 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Friendly down to earth people running Breakers. I ended up in room 17, one of the downstairs rooms. Quite sizeable with a bedroom w/queen bed, and a lounge/dining area also including 2 single beds and 3 single seats (plus seats for the dining table). Sounds like a lot of stuff being crammed in but somehow it didn't seem cramped. Nice bathroom and typical kitchenette facilities with a good size fridge.

There was a small TV in the bedroom but I didn't try that - travelling on my own (although part of a tour group) I opted to sleep on a single in the loungeroom so I could have the bigger TV on for a cricket game :-)

The motel is a kilometre or so out of the main road through town centre, although very close by one street over was a New World supermarket, very handy. I was tired and feeling like a night in so I wandered over to get bread ham & salad to make sandwiches. Almost went for a swim in the little pool immediately accessible outside my sliding door, but the need for a nap was stronger.

Got a surprise in the morning when my breakfast turned up 50-60 mins early (7.25am vs the timeframe of 8:15-8:30am I had ticked on the breakfast sheet) with me still in bed and more asleep than awake. After vaguely hearing knocks, the next set of knocks woke me up enough to realise it was my door. Had to get up starkers and hide behind the door while taking the tray around the door. No big deal really but I did miss 20 mins of sleep I was rather in need of.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent one night at the Breakers on the 2nd floor. The room was modern, clean and well maintained with a spa on the balcony a great view of the Whangamata marina and surrounding mountains .
We showed up without a booking hoping to view a room before we stayed. The lady was so friendly and accommodating....WOW that bed was huge.
Recommended to all A+

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This review is quite late as I have only just signed up to trip advisor recently but after the experience I had staying at Breakers Motel was simply too good not to give an excellent review!

Being able to just walk out the back door and fall into the pool was awesome. The rooms are very spacious and the welcome and farewell we had was very friendly.

Thanks for the memorable experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor open right into the pool with your own private outdoor spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelgoulden42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

there is no doubt why this motel got such a good review on Tripadvisor. The service and friendliness is fantastic, and the rooms and facilities are superb.
you will see me there every month as I have a new home on the corrimandel.
Thanks for the lovely stay.

Room Tip: top floor with a spa is worth the extra... they even give you a candle AND matches for the romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the motel just for the night and found it to be perfect for what we were wanting. The spa pool right outside on the balcony was the best thing but the room itself was great having lots of space and a kingsize bed. The lady that welcomed us was really friendly as well which was nice and just topped off the whole stay really. Will definitely be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
11.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
13.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
0.9 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#4 of 6 in Whangamata
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Property: Breakers Motel
Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing