We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel close to everything”
Review of Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great motel, very clean large room; cooking facilities, dining table etc. Good sized swimming pool, but had to grit my teeth to get in as it was 'solar heated' - for that read cold! There were people watching so I had to do it! Staff were very welcoming. Motel is within easy walking distance of the estuary where we saw lots of oyster-catchers and other wildlife (including jumping fish). This is a lovely town to stay - surfing centre, great walking. We ate fish and chips on the beach on a warm summer's evening and watched a heron trying to catch his supper. Brief but memorable visit.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked this motel based on Tripadvisor reviews and I was so not disappointed in anyway. This was the first time we had chosen to stay here in NZ for our holiday, and it was just fantastic. The room was amazing, we had the 1 bdrm with a spa bath and then a spa pool on our own little deck which was literally 3 steps into the pool! So fantastic I travelled with 3 x 14 year olds and I could not of wished for a better motel, they were in the pool and spa the whole time (rain or shine). There is a playground - yes for young ones however my older ones enjoyed the swings and a bit of a time out as well. New World close by was such a bonus and made the self catering so easy, we never had takeaways or went out - there was just no need to. There was a mix of guests throughout the stay including backpackers for a night off, large groups of people, families with young children and older couples - everyone got a long really well, which showed what a great and fantastic motel it was. Thanks to Marie and Doug and their staff they provide an amazing holiday. We had 5 wonderful nights and will be back there every year from now on - and for more nights. And as a mum with 3 teenagers over 5 nights I got to read 3 books - that sees it all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I was so thankful to the wonderful staff here. As a single Mum taking twins on their first overseas trip the people at Breakers were able to help with maps & distances and to point out things of interest for the boys.
Room was clean and spacious. Great location. Other guests very friendly also. I was very comfortable staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEP-sgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 7 nights end of November to early December. Breakers Motel has everything you could want in a stay. Marie the owner & her house keepers are fantastic, so helpful & full of local knowledge. We stayed in a ground floor apartment with a spa bath & a spa pool on the deck, which led directly into the swimming pool. There is a New World store within 5 mins walk, which helps with self catering, as it was a pleasure to eat on the deck.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed at this motel on the night 15th November 2013 during a whistlestop driving tour of the north and south islands. This is a very friendly family run motel. What a super room we had, we were upgraded to a larger 2 roomed apartment with comfortable beds, our outside patio was next to the pool (a fair sized shaped pool but a tad too cold for me) as were most of the ground floor rooms. All rooms seemed to overlook the pool. We had breakfast delivered to our room (ordered the night before) and was cooked by the owner exactly as we asked. Free WiFi was available and the owner/staff were very very helpful. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtf102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Suggest you request a first floor room, as the views of the bay are excellent. Rooms are sizable, very clean with an excellent bathroom. The balcony has an excellent hot tub, which was very relaxing. Serving breakfast in your room, having pre ordered the previous night seems rather off putting , but don't miss it ! The food choice is excellent and very generous, served on time and the cooked food was hot, despite having been carried on a tray without any fuss ! The town is very welcoming, and Breakers makes an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Lady at reception was very helpful and friendly. The room was tidy, modern and had a reasonable view. The spa bath was good and we could still see the view from it. The big pool area looked very nice except unfortunately the weather turned windy and cool and no one was down there. The place was on the inside/west side of the Whangamata Urban Area and Peninsula but still only a very short drive and medium walk from town and the main beach. The only thing was the bed in the lounge was wobbly. The price was maybe on the upper end of the bracket for the type of room. Overall very good and would recommend. An upstairs room facing north would be the best option.

Room Tip: Upstairs north facing with spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
11.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
13.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
153 reviews
18 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing