We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break at Breakers”
Review of Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Terrific large room with spa tub inside and hot tub on private patio. Pool so close we could sit on our patio and dip our feet in the water.
Great location in a lovely seaside town. And extremely helpful management.

Room Tip: Ask for room #15!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickieandDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We last stayed at the Breakers 4 years ago and loved it. We have just been back and it is still excellent. Lovely rooms and very friendly people. Getting breakfast things delivered the previous night made for flexibility in planning days out.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank alexander g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spotless, comfortable, and the owner Marie is one of the kindest people I have met. It’s a great value compared to other tired options which aren’t much if at all cheaper. The pool is a huge plus and you can walk to the surf beach. Book in advance a few weeks from January to March as its no secret.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianriver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel, very spacious rooms, good pool and nice balcony spa. However although it was only a ten minute walk from town, it was a bit of a nuisance in terms of just ducking off to the beach etc etc. There are not many hotels in Whanga but I would probably stay closer to town next time for the convenience factor.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Our family of four had been looking forward to our overnight stay at Whangamata and had pre booked a family unit at Breakers. We were taken to our unit and were very impressed with it. However this was short-lived as the woman who showed us to our room informed us that there was a smell in the kitchen which she said had been left from the previous guests. After about half an hour we decided we couldn't stand the smell. The woman sprayed it with a deodoriser but it didn't mask it for long and the smell was making us feel sick. We informed her that we can't stay there and would be leaving. They were full and couldn't offer us another room, so just said sorry and goodbye! Due to an event on there was no other accommodation to be had in Whangamata or Waihi Beach so we had to drive back home to Auckland that same day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Always up for a quick weekend escape from Auckland, Whangamata was an obvious choice being a pleasant two and half hours drive - (via Paeroa, Karangake Gorge and Waihi). We arrived at 'Breakers' to a warm greeting and taken to our spacious nicely decorated room.

Although there are some rooms with spa baths, I was more than happy to have one with a private courtyard and access to a gorgeous swimming pool in a tropical setting. Our room had a smart kitchenette.and a luxurious bathroom.. The bed was large and comfortable. This is such good value for money - and I look forward to staying here again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but if you like a view then upstairs would be my choice, however if you enjoy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great motel, very clean large room; cooking facilities, dining table etc. Good sized swimming pool, but had to grit my teeth to get in as it was 'solar heated' - for that read cold! There were people watching so I had to do it! Staff were very welcoming. Motel is within easy walking distance of the estuary where we saw lots of oyster-catchers and other wildlife (including jumping fish). This is a lovely town to stay - surfing centre, great walking. We ate fish and chips on the beach on a warm summer's evening and watched a heron trying to catch his supper. Brief but memorable visit.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
11.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
13.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range: £90 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing