We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SixFortySix

SixFortySix
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Whangamata
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SixfortySix is positioned in the heart of Whangamata’s main street. Our commitment is to; create an atmosphere of splendor to be enjoyed by all. Gravity espresso coffee, freshly baked pastries & homemade artisan delights. Dine in or take away, it’s your choice! Seasonal readiness of produce necessitates regular revision of the menu, however familiarity is usually only a mouthful away. SixfortySix offers alfresco dining amongst the action of the main street an ideal place to meet during the balmy summer. We take great satisfaction in delighting our costumers with something new and exciting; Life's troubles melt away when shrouded in the atmosphere of unadulterated desire & relaxation. Private functions welcomed!
auckland
1 review
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just love coming here time and time again. Great food & great service. I live an hour away and love to come here in the quiet season. New owners have improved the place tenfold, food and coffee are both outstanding. I say go for the vege breakfast.. is just delicious. Keep up the good work team, I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks Floor B for taking the time to review us and what a positive review it is. Its great to hear the changes we have made are well received. We look forward to your returned custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    21
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rip-Off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

My partner who lives in Whanga & has done his whole life thought we would go out for breakfast as I'm not from here. He said it was a rip off this time. He got an eggs benny & every other time he had been he had for double the amount. Either a different chef was on today or they are trying to cut costs! Not consistent. I had the sweet pancakes & it tasted good. Hot chocolate was nice though on a positive. Service was pretty average however the blonde girl who was on the counter was nice. I'm a south islander so I guess I expect a lot.. But still for a small beautiful community I'd expect more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosepetalweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi RosePetal, thanks for taking the time to write a review. However we are slightly perplexed by it; If your partners meal, which you have have stated he usually got 'double of' truly only consisted on one egg, one slice of artisan toast, one rashers of bacon, then we are sincerely sorry and invite you both back for a complimentary meal. It is customary that Eggs Benedict comes with two eggs, two slice of artisan toast, two rashers of bacon. I think it would be too much for any body to handle, to have any more than that... Don't you? Its great you enjoyed your Hot Chocolate and your pancakes 'tasted good'. I too am from the south Island and I am big on good old 'southern hospitality' - its unfortunate you didn't feel that on your recent visit. Hopefully the next time your in the North you will stop by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Can not go past for a beautiful cooked breakfast and perfect coffee. For the tea lovers they have a broad range so all can find something to their liking

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarrinHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hey Darrin, we are so pleased you enjoyed your cooked breakfast, its what we do best! We pride our selves on being 'different' from the other cafes in town and thats why the teas are great four us too. See you again soon, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little cafe to visit if in Whangamata”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want something innovative this is the place to go! Rolls of paper menu zany idea and works really well. Went for lunch after stroll along beach, chose this place as we'd read reviews and looked good. Excellent service, great to be able to have Corona with lunch, friendly atmosphere, and the food if you wanted could go for something traditional but our choices were superb...Poached Chicken & Papaya Salad with palm sugar dressing $22, and Prawn & Scallop Salad with ginger dressing $24. So fresh and the prawns and scallops cooked to PURRFECTION!!!!!!! the poached chicken still really moist ..not always easy to do! Also shared fries which again were served in true zany style in a little silver basket and they were some of nicest fries we've had for ages, retained their heat and were super crisp...again so often a disappointment but not this time!
Very reasonable for the sort of food it is and the presentation as well.
As we were there a steady stream of diners came in ..not surprising this place is so popular!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks Elsa, your review is very informative and we appreciate that. I personally love that you love the poached chicken and Papaya Salad, it is divine. Perfect for those sunny days we should soon be getting. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our Bach Coffee Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent coffee and food is great. The service varies as it depends who you get on the day, but the best coffee in Whangamata. Plus free wifi. Well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
KlBryant, thanks for taking the time to write. 'Best coffee in town'! Thats what we like to hear. Hopefully see yo again next time your in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SixFortySix also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to SixFortySix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing