We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waitomo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waitomo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

This motel was great, a short drive to the Waitomo caves and the staff were very nice. A microwave in the room was also fantastic! The room was cosy warm an the bed was comfortable. It was very much like staying in a winter lodge up top a mountain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Dragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    71
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
78
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Waitomo lodge on a quiet Friday night.
Our room was number 9, situated along the back of the motel with an outlook onto the little river from the balcony. It was a lovely, clean, warm, modern room with a large comfy king bed and a single bed as well. We couldnt hear a peep from the people in the neighbouring rooms. And the shower was amazing!
We ate across the road at Bosco's cafe for breakfast AND lunch it was so good!
About 5 trains passed through on the other side of the river during our one night stay but they rumbled past rather than 'clickty-clacked' which was some consolation. We heard a few trucks passing on the main road as well, but over all the noise wasn't a big problem.
The motelier was so accommodating and helpful, and if we found ourselves in Te Kuiti again, we would certainly stay back there!

Room Tip: The rooms along the river also mean along they are along the train track, but you might experience a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartmauao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Close to the wedding venue we were attending & lots of other attractions- good value, great parking, really friendly helpful reception, great rooms, clean, modern, spacious, comfortable big bed, great shower!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcw_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

The Waitomo lodge is a 15 minute drive from the caves. We booked their super-deluxe suite so we could have a kitchen and spa bath, because we anticipated our caving experience to be cold! Cost was $175 a night. The truth is, the rooms are so well insulated, we didn't need the bath to warm up. There's also a communal kitchen, so we could have skipped having a private one. Still, the extra amenities were very nice, and we enjoyed our stay. Part of the draw card here is that you are directly opposite a good cafe, a large park, ans a supermarket. Everything on the doorstep! Service was unobtrusive and friendly, although the cleaners will wake you up at 10, so you can't lie in too late.
I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwicritic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here one night before visiting the caves at Waitomo. Motel unit very spacious, well lit and modern, only minuses were cobwebs and bugs in light fittings and occasional noise from the Railway behind. Didn't cause us any loss of sleep, guess it depends on train schedules.

Superb cafe opposite for breakfast.
They recommended a sports bar in town for dinner which was better than expected in a small town like this. I hadn't been in a place like it for many years, and we ended up having a hearty dinner followed by a couple of games of pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
318 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Very Friendly reception.
Room very spacious and large size bed.
All the amenities you need.
Warm room with comfortable chairs and furniture.
Good shower.
Good Parking and close to town.
Little road noise.
Had room backing on to the rail road and not used to noise, so had broken sleep.
Will know for next time as we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like rail noise, choose a room on the side rather than the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night so we could visit the caves. Super modern and clean. We were upgraded to room that had a small sitting area, so our room was pretty big. Small kitchenette, big shower with good water pressure. Bed was huge!!!! And so comfortable!! I definitely could have used another night in that bed. AC was nice to have since it was rather warm. There seemed to be more than a few mosquitos, so you really don't want the windows open.
It should be noted that this motel is in a town about 15min drive from Wiatomo and the caves. It was no big deal for us since we have a car and I think most of the tour operators will/can do a hotel pick up.
Would definitely stay here again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElKochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
5.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.8 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Lodge

Property: Waitomo Lodge
Address: State Hwy 3 | North end of Te Kuiti, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitomo Lodge was opened in March 2008 and boasts the choice of 14 studio, and 6 one bedroom units. All units have Super King beds, flat screen TV, Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, blackout blinds and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Additionally, some units have spa baths, air conditioning, cooking facilities, and broadband connections. Local Tourist Attractions include the Waitomo Caves, Ruakuri Cave, Spellbound Tours, Black Water Rafting and Otorohanga Kiwi House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waitomo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing