We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm spacious room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waitomo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waitomo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm spacious room”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in room number 4 which was very spacious. The room was billed as having full cooking facilities which as is often the case is slightly misleading, the room had a hob and microwave, but no oven. The room also had a spa bath within its huge bathroom which also contained a wet floor shower. Bubble bath was provided for the spa bath, which also contained a heater miking for a very relaxing soak. which was very nice. The motel is on the main road into Te Kuiti, which makes the motel easy to find, but also means the heavy traffic going down the main road can be clearly heard from within the room. The traffic abates in the evening. The motel is also near by the railway line and when trains do pass (with reasonable frequency even in the middle of the night) they are clearly heard from within the room. The bed was very comfortable, and were unable to hear the guests in the room next door (an all too common problem overseas). The room had both wooden blinds and roller blinds making for a very dark room at night which was great. A Cafe is located directly opposite the motel, and a New World supermarket is within easy walking distance. Te Kuiti township is a reasonable distance away. The motel hosts were very friendly as was their cat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilmore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    72
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
79
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
752 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Waitomo lodge is not in Waitomo, it is in Te Kuiti, a small town with a feel of 'I am not going out after dark'. We stayed here after spending a day at the Waitomo caves and just for the one night, before heading to Auckland. I am glad it was only one night. The lodge itself is located on the main road, and across the road from the railway line, which you can hear when you have a room close to the road. We got an upgraded room with a kitchen, and in my mind the upgraded rooms, the one you pay more for, should be located towards the rear of the hotel, so there is a reduced chance of outside noise. The room itself was very basic, the furniture was lacquered plywood that looked very flimsy, the bed was comfortable, but nothing to rave about, there was only one bedside table. The heater was a single blower type heater that was attached to the wall, and was in itself reasonably loud, and we needed it on all night during the cold night. Our room had a small kitchen, which was suitable for two people, and i am glad we did have a kitchen because there was very little choice of an evening meal in the township. The bathroom was adequate, but the way the shower was done was it felt like a sporting locker room. No shower door or curtain, and the floor was like a prefabricated rubber flooring - no tiles at all, as this was the floor throughout the bathroom. The bathroom was roomy, but very very basic. The shower pressure was good, and the water was hot, but not having a shower curtain or door meant you were cold from the breeze the water flow naturally creates. The towel rail was very thin and appeared to just hold the weight of the two towels. The room was comfortable, and adequate for a one night stay only. For what you get and where you are located I think the prices are a bit too high. I paid $133 AUD for the night, which when comparing other hotels I stayed in on this trip made it the most expensive, even when compared to brand named hotels in Rotorua and Auckland.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

This motel was great, a short drive to the Waitomo caves and the staff were very nice. A microwave in the room was also fantastic! The room was cosy warm an the bed was comfortable. It was very much like staying in a winter lodge up top a mountain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Dragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Waitomo lodge on a quiet Friday night.
Our room was number 9, situated along the back of the motel with an outlook onto the little river from the balcony. It was a lovely, clean, warm, modern room with a large comfy king bed and a single bed as well. We couldnt hear a peep from the people in the neighbouring rooms. And the shower was amazing!
We ate across the road at Bosco's cafe for breakfast AND lunch it was so good!
About 5 trains passed through on the other side of the river during our one night stay but they rumbled past rather than 'clickty-clacked' which was some consolation. We heard a few trucks passing on the main road as well, but over all the noise wasn't a big problem.
The motelier was so accommodating and helpful, and if we found ourselves in Te Kuiti again, we would certainly stay back there!

Room Tip: The rooms along the river also mean along they are along the train track, but you might experience a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartmauao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Close to the wedding venue we were attending & lots of other attractions- good value, great parking, really friendly helpful reception, great rooms, clean, modern, spacious, comfortable big bed, great shower!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcw_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

The Waitomo lodge is a 15 minute drive from the caves. We booked their super-deluxe suite so we could have a kitchen and spa bath, because we anticipated our caving experience to be cold! Cost was $175 a night. The truth is, the rooms are so well insulated, we didn't need the bath to warm up. There's also a communal kitchen, so we could have skipped having a private one. Still, the extra amenities were very nice, and we enjoyed our stay. Part of the draw card here is that you are directly opposite a good cafe, a large park, ans a supermarket. Everything on the doorstep! Service was unobtrusive and friendly, although the cleaners will wake you up at 10, so you can't lie in too late.
I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwicritic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here one night before visiting the caves at Waitomo. Motel unit very spacious, well lit and modern, only minuses were cobwebs and bugs in light fittings and occasional noise from the Railway behind. Didn't cause us any loss of sleep, guess it depends on train schedules.

Superb cafe opposite for breakfast.
They recommended a sports bar in town for dinner which was better than expected in a small town like this. I hadn't been in a place like it for many years, and we ended up having a hearty dinner followed by a couple of games of pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
5.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
231 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
499 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
360 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Lodge

Property: Waitomo Lodge
Address: State Hwy 3 | North end of Te Kuiti, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitomo Lodge was opened in March 2008 and boasts the choice of 14 studio, and 6 one bedroom units. All units have Super King beds, flat screen TV, Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, blackout blinds and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Additionally, some units have spa baths, air conditioning, cooking facilities, and broadband connections. Local Tourist Attractions include the Waitomo Caves, Ruakuri Cave, Spellbound Tours, Black Water Rafting and Otorohanga Kiwi House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waitomo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing