We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one night stop over”
Review of Waitomo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waitomo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Units are spacious, clean & ok for a stop over, only a 15 min casual stroll from the town centre. Friendly welcome on arrival & straight forward check in. Was nice having a balcony although this was negatively outweighed by the noise from the trains that hurtle past every hour so take note if you're a light sleeper. However friends stayed in the unit next door & had an undisturbed night's sleep. My only comment to the owners is that I would have added a sink rather than have guests use the nice quality bathroom basin to wash the crockery etc. Would recommend if require accommodation in that area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RachaelMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We enjoyed staying here for 2 nights in November 2013, whilst we visited Waitomo Caves. We were able to sit outside for our breakfast, which was very pleasant. Neither the road nor the railway disturbed us in terms of noise, and the owner was friendly and gave us a discount card for entry to the caves. At the other end of town, don't miss the enormous sheep shearing statue and Maori meeting house!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 634Richardd634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for just one night on our way to Waitomo Caves. Te Kuiti is a small place, so there isn't a lot of choice of accommodation. The exterior was typical motel-like, and the woman at reception was friendly enough. The room was nothing special however. The linen was clean and the bed comfortable. However, there could be a little more attention to house-keeping, as one of the bedside lights did not work, and when we switched on the main ceiling strip light, we could see that it was was full of dead flies! I have to agree with the comments below about the shower - I really did not like the arrangement at all - either install a proper wet room, or put in a proper shower cubicle with glass doors would be my recommendation. The fact that the bathroom is internal and therefore has no natural lights, means that a shower stall with three walls and no curtain is not a wet room at all, just a dingy cubicle. The train line outside the room was no issue at all however, we kept the balcony door shut to keep the flies out, and barely heard the passing trains. (The balcony was a nice touch and gave some private outdoor space - the passing trains are infrequent so did not disturb the peace and quiet.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandC428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just like everywhere we stayed, we received a warm welcome and received very good advice on where to eat out and to visit. The rooms are large and very spacious. There are some negatives that you do need to consider, that for us, would have made a difference to our decision on where to stay.

If you are not a light sleeper, then you would have a reasonable stay. However, sandwiched between the state highway and the train tracks, the whole building will vibrate and resonate every time a truck or train pass by.
Finally, if you have a toddler or mobile baby, the appliances and cutlery in the kitchen are dangerously positioned for little hands. Of course it is possible to move the cutlery, but not the microwave.

If these do not apply to you, then it is well positioned for trips out to places like the glow worm caves which are a must.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in room number 4 which was very spacious. The room was billed as having full cooking facilities which as is often the case is slightly misleading, the room had a hob and microwave, but no oven. The room also had a spa bath within its huge bathroom which also contained a wet floor shower. Bubble bath was provided for the spa bath, which also contained a heater miking for a very relaxing soak. which was very nice. The motel is on the main road into Te Kuiti, which makes the motel easy to find, but also means the heavy traffic going down the main road can be clearly heard from within the room. The traffic abates in the evening. The motel is also near by the railway line and when trains do pass (with reasonable frequency even in the middle of the night) they are clearly heard from within the room. The bed was very comfortable, and were unable to hear the guests in the room next door (an all too common problem overseas). The room had both wooden blinds and roller blinds making for a very dark room at night which was great. A Cafe is located directly opposite the motel, and a New World supermarket is within easy walking distance. Te Kuiti township is a reasonable distance away. The motel hosts were very friendly as was their cat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilmore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Waitomo lodge is not in Waitomo, it is in Te Kuiti, a small town with a feel of 'I am not going out after dark'. We stayed here after spending a day at the Waitomo caves and just for the one night, before heading to Auckland. I am glad it was only one night. The lodge itself is located on the main road, and across the road from the railway line, which you can hear when you have a room close to the road. We got an upgraded room with a kitchen, and in my mind the upgraded rooms, the one you pay more for, should be located towards the rear of the hotel, so there is a reduced chance of outside noise. The room itself was very basic, the furniture was lacquered plywood that looked very flimsy, the bed was comfortable, but nothing to rave about, there was only one bedside table. The heater was a single blower type heater that was attached to the wall, and was in itself reasonably loud, and we needed it on all night during the cold night. Our room had a small kitchen, which was suitable for two people, and i am glad we did have a kitchen because there was very little choice of an evening meal in the township. The bathroom was adequate, but the way the shower was done was it felt like a sporting locker room. No shower door or curtain, and the floor was like a prefabricated rubber flooring - no tiles at all, as this was the floor throughout the bathroom. The bathroom was roomy, but very very basic. The shower pressure was good, and the water was hot, but not having a shower curtain or door meant you were cold from the breeze the water flow naturally creates. The towel rail was very thin and appeared to just hold the weight of the two towels. The room was comfortable, and adequate for a one night stay only. For what you get and where you are located I think the prices are a bit too high. I paid $133 AUD for the night, which when comparing other hotels I stayed in on this trip made it the most expensive, even when compared to brand named hotels in Rotorua and Auckland.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

This motel was great, a short drive to the Waitomo caves and the staff were very nice. A microwave in the room was also fantastic! The room was cosy warm an the bed was comfortable. It was very much like staying in a winter lodge up top a mountain.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_Dragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
5.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
249 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
536 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Te Kuiti
Motel Te Kuiti
#2 of 3 in Te Kuiti
32 reviews
1.7 mi away
Panorama Motor Inn
Panorama Motor Inn
#4 of 5 in Te Kuiti
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Lodge

Address: State Hwy 3 | North end of Te Kuiti, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range: £71 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitomo Lodge was opened in March 2008 and boasts the choice of 14 studio, and 6 one bedroom units. All units have Super King beds, flat screen TV, Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, blackout blinds and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Additionally, some units have spa baths, air conditioning, cooking facilities, and broadband connections. Local Tourist Attractions include the Waitomo Caves, Ruakuri Cave, Spellbound Tours, Black Water Rafting and Otorohanga Kiwi House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waitomo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing