We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A BIT DISAPPOINTING”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Waitomo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waitomo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A BIT DISAPPOINTING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was a bit disappointed with this place, mainly because NZ motels set such high standards. Our room was fine, if a little unusual, with a high ceiling and a nice deck at the back overlooking lawn, the river and the railway line. It was not that there was much noise from the railway, trains in NZ being such rare things, but there was a lot of noise from the road, even though we were right at the back of the site. There are lorries all night, and across the road is a truck stop for refuelling. The rooms are grouped around three sides of a central car park and only those in the block at the back seemed to have balconies.

We had asked for an accessible room as my wife is in a wheelchair. The shower room wasn't adapted, though it was spacious and not too bad, but after we had settled in, I saw that there were two other rooms marked as being for the disabled, complete with ramps. But, by then, we had unpacked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block at the back to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    72
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
79
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We had two units and stayed for two nights at the Waitomo Lodge, our welcome could not have been more friendly, our host was great and recommended an excellent place for eating as well as places to visit. One of our units had air conditioning and the other did not and we were offered another unit with air conditioning but unfortunately it did not have an outside terrace with the river view we wanted so we chose to stay in the unit without the air conditioning and I have to say that even without air conditioning it was very comfortable. We had a slight problem with one of the fridges icing up the milk but this was not the end of the world and I understand that this is now being looked into. The only down side is that truck noise starts early in the morning and also it is situated close to the railway so you also get some rail noise.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this Lodge. It was very clean & comfortable. There was an issue with our fridge as it iced up our milk & I had to get a fresh one from reception the next morning. they are aware of the issue & are in the process of resolving it. Even though we backed onto the railway line there was a walkway & the river first to look at & the trains never kept us awake. We would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

It's really quite a pleasant facility with decent well equipped units

Unfortunately the main SH3 highway is only a few feet from the main entrance, and despite most of NZ going to bed early there is a sizeable minority of all night truckers who hammer past at very frequent (every minute at least) intervals right through the night. The noise is bad and the vibration doesn't help either.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

this place is awesome. it is really well preseted from the out side to in.we had look at alot of motels on trip adviser and this one had the nice comments. it lives up to the comments. owning motels our selives we really appreciate the effort put into this one. its about a 10 min drive to the glow worm caves witch are worth going too. if u get a chance stay and enjoy cause on a holiday u desver to treat ur self.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BudgetOnTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice spacious wooden interior with a cozy modern feel. Loved the high sloping wooden ceiling and the balcony. Well equipped with microwave, mini fridge, electric kettle, cutlery and hair dryer etc. Only cons was that the balcony was facing the railway tracks and can be bit noisy. Wifi was limited to 50Mb, which was considered little and only for checking mails. Noticed that it seems to be the norm in New Zealand, where wifi are expensive or limited in usage in hotels. Another norm is that most of the doors I came acrossed dun seem to have door hole or door latch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for only one night while visiting the caves. The room was clean and a good size, but the cooking facilities were not as good as some places we had stayed in during our trip. This was forgiven though when we saw the spa bath - the children loved it! Only downside would be the noise - the road is pretty busy. Oh, and don't eat at the place across the road . . . . very expensive for a family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
5.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Lodge

Property: Waitomo Lodge
Address: State Hwy 3 | North end of Te Kuiti, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitomo Lodge was opened in March 2008 and boasts the choice of 14 studio, and 6 one bedroom units. All units have Super King beds, flat screen TV, Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, blackout blinds and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Additionally, some units have spa baths, air conditioning, cooking facilities, and broadband connections. Local Tourist Attractions include the Waitomo Caves, Ruakuri Cave, Spellbound Tours, Black Water Rafting and Otorohanga Kiwi House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waitomo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing