We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Motel in Te Kuiti coming from the North”
Review of Waitomo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waitomo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We too were impressed with the standard, we had driven a distance at night and decided to stop at the first decent looking motel we found and this was it. Gabion walls (mesh cages full of rock) out front were a nice modern feature, and the motel behind the walls maintained the modern theme inside. Walk up price was the same as available on the internet, and the room spacious and modern. We called in in mid-February, and the room was very stuffy, no aircon (or reverse cycle pump) so only had a standing fan that we left grinding away all night.

Found it hard to fathom that a brand new motel would not have heat pumps.. did they run short of money during the build, or just forgot? Another review commented on the train over the road, but I heard it during the night (I'm a very light sleeper), but it was not intrusive, went straight back to sleep....

Was told that we were lucky that the bed was soooo soft and comfy, which I didn't think it was.....my wife loved the walk in shower, but the 'Camp rules" about eating/drinking/sleeping etc in the bed being strickly forbidden (Ok Ok I exaggerate about the sleeping bit, but you get my drift), i thought I was being treated a bit like an errant child...

So as a matter of principle, I drank a coffee and munched on a biscuit, standing beside the bed looking at the TV (nice flat screen), as you couldn't sit at the table in the only chairs in the room and see the flat screen TV fixed to the flat wall.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

As a family of 5, we were accomodated here for a weekend, it was clean, tidy, well located with handy Cafe across road, servo just down road along with supermarket. The staff were very enthusiastic & friendly, very helpful with even the smallest of requests (Laundry).
It was a peaceful & tranquil stay, considering it is located with a Truck Stop on the Roadside & the Railway line behind.
We will definately be staying here again & will be highly recommending this to our friends & extended families. We loved our stay here & look forward to returning next time we are there. Kazza & Greg BALL.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazNGeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

My wife and I shared a unit with my sister and her partner - a big double in the main room and two single beds in the separate bathroom. Owner cheerfully offered an airconditioned room without a kitchenette in place of one with the hob and no air conditioning and personally made sure we had everything we needed. All extremely clean and comfortable with fridge, toaster, kettle and adequate crockery and cutlery.
For two it would have been pricey (similar to a modest city hotel); shared for 4 it was more reasonable, albeit more cosy!
We weren't bothered by or indeed aware of trains.
Great for Waitomo if you have your own transport but public options are limited from Te Kuiti.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithbcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom appartment. I did hear one or two trains during the day but that's about it. It didn't bother us at all
Very friendly owner and clean appartment. The bathroom was huge. The bed was comfortable
I gave it 4 only because the kitchen and living area were slighlty small but for the price it was good. Great location for the caves and kiwi house

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vik20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

A very welcoming smallish MOTEL along the highway, a very nice room, good facilities, with car right outside, lovely friendly owner, nothing too much trouble - perfect for our stop off from Auckland to New Plymouth to see the Otorohanga Kiwi House and the Waitomo Caves. Supermarket etc just a minute or two's walk along the road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanandSandraHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Waitomo Lodge is a charming little lodge, in the quiet surrounds of Waitomo. With a wood structure and plants growing all over the roof and walls, it fits in very well with its environment.

The rooms are plain, but neat and reasonably spacious. The bathroom/showers are clean, and the open area warm and inviting.

The lodge is about 1km from the town and museum, which is not too far. The owners were fairly helpful when we had to arrange for a late arrival and checkout, and provided useful advice on food and activities in the region. There are very few restaurants and supermarkets in the area - so be sure to carry your own food. Alternatively, you could buy some easy-to-cook meals at the lodge, although the owners (who live onsite) are usually not at the reception after 6pm.

All in all, a great experience. I'd definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer_Kaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Waitomo Lodge is actually located in Te Kuiti, near the Wailtomo Glowworm caves. It is a comfortable, newly constructed Qualmark Four Star. It has much to offer, BUT note that the river view rooms are less than 100 meters from a train track. As we checked in, the owner cheerfully confirmed that the trains did indeed run daily, in fact about 3 a night! He was right. If you are a light sleeper, the 10 second roar as the train passed, mulitplied 3 times a night, could be a real problem. That said, we did stay 2 nights, and really liked Te Kuiti--good restaurants and a genuine New Zealand farming town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vagrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
548 reviews
5.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
254 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Te Kuiti
Motel Te Kuiti
#2 of 3 in Te Kuiti
33 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
418 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Lodge

Address: State Hwy 3 | North end of Te Kuiti, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range: £68 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitomo Lodge was opened in March 2008 and boasts the choice of 14 studio, and 6 one bedroom units. All units have Super King beds, flat screen TV, Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, blackout blinds and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Additionally, some units have spa baths, air conditioning, cooking facilities, and broadband connections. Local Tourist Attractions include the Waitomo Caves, Ruakuri Cave, Spellbound Tours, Black Water Rafting and Otorohanga Kiwi House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waitomo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing