We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel ok, staff unfriendly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Motor Inn

Panorama Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panorama Motor Inn
nimbin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel ok, staff unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This place is probably fine for business travellers, but for a family holiday I can not recommend it. The deskstaff were efficient but not friendly or welcoming at check in or check out. The room was ok and clean, but the whole experience was less than desirable. It may not have seemed so bad if we were in a big city, but it was jarring after the wonderful friendliness experienced elsewhere during our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 164Familytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
24
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here last weekend when we decided to do a family road trip to Waitomo Caves. Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a family unit which was clean and suprisingly spacious with a lovely view down the valley, also very warm after having all day sun on it. Plenty of room for a family of four. Our unit was set up with what I think was a king bed in the bedroom and 2 single beds in lounge area. Had our evening meal in the restaurant and Sue our hostess was very helpful and was happy to reveal how to cook the lovely salmon that my husband had for dinner. Our boys happily played on the pool table while we enjoyed our meal. We weren't sure of road noise as the motel is on a main route and up a hill but the whole family slept very well and did not hear anything. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in Unit 1 but all the family units are in a row and any of them would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Spouse and self stayed here one time back in the 70’s so decided to give it another go as motels near Te Kuiti, but outside of Waitomo immediate area, are fairly non-existent and we were not interested in Waitomo. It is generally recognised that if one is unable to say something favourable then say nothing so, as a consequence, I will say nothing about the motel. The connected restaurant however is a different story. It is readily accepted, by us, that we enjoyed dinner in the spacious restaurant. Service was very good and food beyond question. In NZ, and no doubt elsewhere, it is often the people who create interest rather than what one is personally about and on this occasion it was a Maori family of Dad and 3 x children ex, apparently, Mum. Suffice it to say the kids appeared to enjoy the evening and what it brought to each ediblewise. From a distance, it was great to see Dad out with the kids who appeared to enjoy his company. Great stuff Dad for you are no doubt a winner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Kuiti hotels

yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Panorama Motor Inn is well named. It is situated on the hillside ( easy to miss ) overlooking the town and views to the mountains beyond. Great views from all rooms I had a studio apartment which was small but ok with small bathroom $90. There was a communal veranda with four other rooms, with tables and chairs. A small pool but no pool furniture. Plenty of parking. Large restaurant with balcony to sit out with drinks, a games area, pool and a piano. Good bar. Used by locals so some noise when they depart around midnight ( not roudy just cars.) Some road noise from lorries climbing the hill. Restaurant food was very good and staff very friendly. Rooms not great but worth staying for the views and the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We took a group of 30 older people to visit the Aramatai gardens (highly recommended), and a cruise with Mokau river tours. (also highly recommeded. And stayed overnight at Panorama Motor Inn
The motel staff were extremely helpful in booking us a dinner bed and breakfast package. Everyone enjoyed the roast dinner, and yummy desert and continental beakfast in the morning.
All commented favourably on the comfort and facilities in their rooms..
All the staff were friendly helpful and approachable.
We ourselves would definately stay in the motel again, if visiting the area.
Only two small criticisms. Be aware that this motel is situated near a main road on a hill,and some units near the road heard trucks in the night up and down the hill.
Also that some units have hill or sloping access which could be of concern for some elderly people, if they did not have a car to access their unit.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Great spot on way to Ski Fields, awesome staff, friendly & helpfull
Rooms have good views comfortable & warm very clean, and all with a restaurant and bar!! was great to relax and enjoy a fantastic meal - absolutley recommend this stay

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coldbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

The hotel was located out of town, up a steep hill off a main road south out of Te Kuiti, and 5 minutes drive into town. Waitomo Caves were about 15 km north. The hotel site has a panoramic view of Te Kuiti town and surrounding hills (lovely!). The property is built at different levels on the hill. The nearby main road is very busy with lorries creating frequent traffic noise in the room.
The hotel has a small outside swimming pool, as well as an in-house restaurant and bar (which we did not try). There is no wired or wifi internet access in the rooms. The room has a small TV with a handful of channels.

Our unit was a good size which could sleep up to six, given two single beds and a sofa bed in the lounge. It consisted of a living area with kitchenette, separate bedroom with standard double bed, and shower room. The decor was neutral, and generally in good condition, except for flaking paint in the bathroom. The kitchenette and shower room were newly refurbished. The unit was generally clean, although carpets and furniture had dead insects and crumbs on them. The furniture looked tired, and the single-glazed windows did not all close or lock, giving poor in-room security.

Niggles with our unit included:-
Shower water temperature was difficult to control
A Roman blind fell off the wall when we tried to close it
Because some windows could not be closed, insects entered the room
There was a potential room security issue from poor or non-existent window catche

There was some confusion about our booking when we checked in, as the hotel diary wrongly showed our booking our booking for the previous night. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and quickly resolved the issue. She even allowed us to check in one hour earlier than the advertised time.

We only stayed at this property because of poor choice of accommodation near Waitomo.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
6.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
6.4 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
11.8 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
6.8 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Motor Inn

Property: Panorama Motor Inn
Address: 59 Awakino Road, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panorama Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established TeKuiti Accommodation, we have comfortable and spacious refurbished rooms with panoramic views of the picturesque countryside. Studio units with king-size beds, units with self-catering facilities, 3-bedroom holiday home with full amenities, suitable for families, with excellent restaurant & Bar. Situated in the heart of the King Country, central North Island on State highway 3, right on the edge of the Waitomo Caves tourism adventures and activities, nestled on the hillside with magnificent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Panorama Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing