We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at YHA Waitimo in 2003 but on return in May this year, it seems the location is different - nonetheless, we went during May, not their peak season so it wasn't noisy. Rooms were aged, bathroom aged but all in all it served a comfortable purpose for a cheap overnight stay. There are plenty of other acc. options to choose from in Waitomo - this provider is ok. You get what you pay for.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank mellies_world01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

A very nice hostel, the fire was definitely the highlight! A big and very clean kitchen! And very nice staff. Thanks To the owner Dave- it was really nice!!! Umgeben von Wiesen mitten in der Natur liegt das Hostel, das innen wie eine Lodge/Jägerhaus aussieht. Ich komme gerne wieder.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

- Ok hostel, not amazing Medium size
- No free wifi
- Good beds
- Friendly but a bit strange staff; they think they are really funny...
- Stayed 2 nights
- Not really clean but ok
- Showers were not good, just 1 person at the time has a hot shower.
- I won't be here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

greeted by really friendly staff. Hostel was very clean and had a nice communal area. Showers were nice and hot, which was perfect after wearing a wetsuit for 3 hours. The beds were a bit soft though but comfortable enough. No personal lockers or storage in the rooms though so if travelling alone or in a dorm with strangers, bring a lock! The only bad thing about the hostel is noise. The walls are really thin and the floor of the main corridor was very loud, every step that someone took outside was very audible. When I stayed there was a person that kept running up and down the corridor which was very loud and disturbed my sleep. Recommend ear plugs for anyone that's staying!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwjlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel itself is in a really nice countryside setting with hammocks which is great for relaxing. Standard of accommodation is average, the beds are slightly uncomfortable as the matresses are made of foam but overall facilities are good.

The swimming pool hasnt been cleaned in a very long time and is more like a swamp...given the price of this place and the fact they advertise this facility I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Beautiful surroundings (probably wouldn't experience the following problems if you were camping/using a powered site) and the family of mini pigs wandering round was a definite highlight. Clean kitchen/toilet/shower facilities and walkable to town. My mattress was also perfectly comfortable, so I suspect they've changed them since past reviews.

BUT I did not sleep a wink, and I usually have no trouble sleeping in hostels. Paper thin walls and could hear everything out in the single hallway that all the rooms ran off. Two boys were watching movies for hours on a laptop out in the hallway til well past 1am with the volume blaring, I asked them once to turn it down but was ignored. I would think that staff would intervene for the comfort of guests.

No secure storage for belongings, no free wifi and only 2 power sockets in a 6 bed dorm. Not the best, not the worst.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Backwardblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great location for those who want to visit the caves. The hostel has a nice vibe and a good environment. They sell basic food (like bread, milk and noodles) for a good price. Considering the fact that the village doesn't even have a proper grocery store, that's pretty good. The staff is cool and helpful. They gave me great tips about restaurants in the area and cheap stuff to do.
The biggest problem is the organization of the place. Sometimes it can be a bit messy and crowded. Great for making friends though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zazmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
0.9 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
522 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers

Address: 600 Waitomo Caves Rd, Te Kuiti 3977, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo has been entertaining guests for decades with its deep caverns, luminescent glowworms and dark waterways for generations. YHA Waitomo offers the perfect base to experience all this spectacular place has to offer. The hostel is situated on a farm and has stunning views and native forest as your backdrop. Relax in a hammock by our large swimming pool and unwind from the adrenalin activities on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing