We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above the clouds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just stayed at Montrose Manor for 2 nights this week. Leanne and Rod are gracious, kind hosts. Leanne is a terrific cook as well. We stayed in for dinner one night in addition to lovely breakfasts cooked to order. Especially loved the home preserved peaches and plums.
The house was wonderful and cozy with fireplace and sheep skins. The claw-footed bathtub was a nice touch and sheep skins on the floor in front of the sink very soft. Rooms were nicely decorated too. The property is beautiful with acres of green farm land stocked with cows and sheep. It is a scenic drive from the main road near Waitomo Caves up the hill above the clouds to the house. Thanks for a terrific farm stay. My 2 girls enjoyed themselves too with the cute dog and cat.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the hall has a terrific view out into the rolling fields of farmland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at Waitomo Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you, it was lovely to meet you all. We hope the weather is more kind to you down south and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I just stayed at Waitomo Farm Holiday for 2 nights whilst travelling down to Wellington. I wanted to visit to glow worm caves at Waitomo and stay somewhere different to the normal motel style accommodation located around Waitomo Village.

Waitomo Farm Holiday is actually based at Montrose Farm, a working sheep farm approximately 15 minutes drive from Waitomo Village and situated in a truly breathtaking spot. The hosts Leanne and Rod were very welcoming and made the visit a real delight.

The facilities are excellent and include tennis court and swimming pool, but best of all is the spectacular surrounding of this truly stunning farm. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants something special in the Waitomo / Te Kuiti area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cdlelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at Waitomo Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My family and I had a very pleasant 2 night stay with Leanne and Rod. The rooms were very comfortable, with all amenities. The location is ideal for Waitomo Caves, we also visited Te Amutu Kiwiw bird house on the way home. The setting itself is breathtakingly beautiful, on a clear day you can see Mount Ruapehu, we had a great farm experience. I intend to organise a group of friends to experience the local walks in October. Leanne and Rod were friendly, accommodating and very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 222Lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at Waitomo Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Lara
Thank you for your response to trip advisor
It is greatly appreciated
You are welcome to come back anytime.
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at Waitomo Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank amorepropio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at Waitomo Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chihoyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Owner at Waitomo Boutique Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
8.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
275 reviews
8.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
583 reviews
13.5 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
181 reviews
9.2 mi away
Panorama Motor Inn
Panorama Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Te Kuiti
60 reviews
8.6 mi away
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Boutique Lodge

Address: 256 Waipuna Road | Waitomo, Te Kuiti 3985, New Zealand (Formerly Montrose Manor & Cottage)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo District > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range: £152 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waitomo Boutique Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montrose (Waitomo Boutique Lodge) Farmstay is Waitomo's hidden gem, offering a five star farm holiday stay in a stunning setting, close to all the central North Island's major attractions including Hobbiton movie set - and a stone's throw from the action of Waitomo Caves. Choose from the cosy garden Cottage or the Boutique country homestead, which is available as an exclusive luxury lodge experience with a spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waitomo Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing