We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This simple B&B really is the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Kuiti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Dorchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This simple B&B really is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were welcomed by our friendly hostess, Margaret who showed us around and then offered us Tea and biscuits. Her husband Graham soon joined us and we discussed their life on the farm and the local area. The setting and view is absolutely stunning. Words are not powerful enough to describe the pure beauty of the view from their deck. They suggested that we go to a local restaurant for dinner and so off we went to the Roselands (see separate entry). We had a very tastefully decorated double bedroom whilst the kids were next door and had a twin room. We shared a shower room which was large and airy

Following dinner we were invited to sit with them and watch TV but chose to read and have a shower before going to be early. Breakfast was cereals and toast but with an array of homemade jams and marmalades – please try the Raspberry and rhubarb jam – Heaven. And then they waved goodbye to us as we returned to our travels. A delightful B&B, great value for money with superb hosts

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aarau, Schweiz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

You will be greeted so warmly. The beautiful views and peaceful surroundings are ideal for a perfect recovery. The owners are so friendly and talkative. Every time we would go there again. The breakfast was also fantastic. The famous Waitomo Caves are by car about half an hour. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank von_daeniken_lukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Nice B&B with very friendly and accommodating hosts. Our twin room, with a private bathroom but not en suite, was a little eccentric . It was obviously really a sitting room, with a three-piece suite against the wall and a wood stove. There was a sliding door on the room that didn’t stay closed, let alone lock, so if you are paranoid about security, this isn’t it! Also, there was no dresser or shelves and nowhere at all to hang up coats or clothes, and no mirror. It could have used a small table too but that wasn’t a big problem. The room also had a sun tube skylight that made it very bright in the early morning! The view from the house was absolutely beautiful, as was the yard, with a very pretty flower garden right outside the bedroom window. The beds were comfortable and the continental breakfast was lovely…cereal, fresh fruit salad, toast with several kinds of jam and Vegemite served with tea or coffee. There was also a pretty en suite room with a queen bed and access directly to a deck with a view. That would be the better choice if you have one.

Room Tip: Ask for the queen room with the en suite bathroom, not a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

This was probalby the most reasonably-priced place we stayed. Great view. Charming hosts. They encouraged us to visit the nearby wildlife center & I am glad we did. The glow worm caves, however, were too touristy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay her. Margaret and Graham are wonderful hosts. Our bedroom had an en-suite bathroom and a deck with a spectacular view. The house is wonderful, clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was always excellent with lots of choices. Our hosts were also very helpful with tips for things to do and also history of the area. We would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlfwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Its not called 'Simply the best' for nothing. Friendly, welcoming and clean. Breathtaking views, good breakfast absolutely nothing negative to say. Even Margarets choice of music is spot on!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

My wife and I stayed a night here while seeing the caves in Waitomo. The B&B is only a short drive to the caves. We had a beautiful view of the surrounding farms from the large deck, and we had a wonderful breakfast. Good conversations were had by all, and we enjoyed meeting the two cats as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHead1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
4.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Panorama Motor Inn
Panorama Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Te Kuiti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.3 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast

Property: Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast
Address: 129 Gadsby Road | Waitomo District, Te Kuiti 3985, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing