We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Tongariro Crossing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverstone Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great base for Tongariro Crossing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and can highly recommend it. The 4-bed room was a tad on the small side, but with a super confortable bed. We slept extremely well. The bathroom is kept very clean, has great powershowers and warm water. The kitchen is large, and well equipped. There is a very nice, cozy living, good wifi, and a lovely garden and bbq. The couple running the place are friendly and very helpful in arranging your stay (tips, booking transport to the crossing, etc). Small details made all the difference to us, like the hostess bringing in my laudry when it started raining so it wouldn't get wet. It made us feel welcome. Only small point they could improve on is giving the kitchen a quick wipe at night so that it is clean at breakfast. Other than that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    19
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
39
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
407 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed at a mix of places during 4 weeks in NZ and Riverstone was the most enjoyable backpackers. It is a small house on a quiet street and is well managed by Lars and Jane who treat their guests more like a part of the family. We stayed in an en-suite room (with shower and toilet). Kitchen facilities are good and are certainly needed in Turangi as only the fish & chip shop and Chinese takeaway seem to be open in the evening. The deck area is great for sitting outside.
Only downside is the noise from other residents who get up at 6am and clump around in their hiking boots ready for the 7am shuttle for the Tongariro crossing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Lars - the owner - is a friendly guy and recommended a nice place close by to enjoy a beautiful view over the lake. He was not able to recommend a place for dinner which served something different then Fish and Chips but we still found something but mind you - most places are closed by 8 pm! The place was clean and the kitchen is super well equipped. As the owners use it themselves it is all very clean. The outside seating area is lovely an the recycling bins are a big plus in a place like that with the amount of waste produced. Lars is pretty relaxed. When we told him that we broke the room key while trying to get in- dont ask how we managed that!- he did not kick a fuzz at all. It turned out that other must have had the same problem before trying to open room doors. It is tricky. Minus point which I need to mention: We expected an ensuite bathroom and were a bit surprised to find the toilet outside the room sharing with the rest.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My nearly 5 year old Grand-Daughter and I stayed there! Was so warm,so inviting, and we just Loved it! Clean kitchen, and amenities, Very comfy,warm beds! Best of all was the lovely,warm,friendly ambience! Roaring log fire,lovely comraderie, and Mogwai the Hound was an added bonus!, Jasmine was in her element! Rob was a wonderful Host, and we had a great time. I would highly recommend Riverstone Backpackers to you all!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinCosmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

I go to Turangi for the fishing. There'splenty of accomodation in Turangi for the angler. Some cheaper a lot more expensive, I have stayed at Riverstone for the last 3 trips and will keep going back. They have everything I need from drying room to fish cleaning facilities but the main thing that brings me back is the local knowledge of the owner Rob. Unlike other accomodeation Rob fishes a lot and his advise is always spot on. You'd pay a local guide $$$ for the information. If you can convince him to go out with you even better.....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFishing24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

I stay at Turangi as it is so close to Whakapapa ski field, and Riverstone backpackers is the best value for money accomdation in Turangi. My favorite part is the big covered outdoor deck. The beds are comfortable and everything is clean. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathersharplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed with Rob at Riverstone Backpackers for a few nights while snowboarding Mt Ruapehu and we couldn't fault the place at all. It was clean, tidy, very warm and homely, and the owner was incredibly knowledgable about the local area. Turangi is a quiet little place but perfectly situated just a short drive from Tongariro Nat Park, and having a nice warm house to come back to after a day in the snow was a real bonus. Imagine the exact opposite of the soulless "chain hostel" (XBase being a prime example), with a log fire, charismatic dog "Mogwai", and more information about the surrounding area than you'd ever need, and you've just about got it. We'll definitely be back on our next trip up north.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhawkins36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.3 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
20.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Backpackers

Property: Riverstone Backpackers
Address: 222 Te Rangitautahanga Road | Waikato, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Backpackers Turangi is an independently owned and operated boutique lodge & hostel, offering quality Tongariro accommodation, up to date information, and transport for exploring the Tongariro Crossing and the Tongariro Region. We have modern facilities and a homely and relaxed atmosphere. There are native gardens, flash kitchen and a large deck and in winter often an open fire. Riverstone is frequently rated by BBH Backpackers and on TripAdvisor Specialty Lodging, as the very best Tongariro Crossing accommodation. Top Rated Accommodation BBH 94% 2016 Trip Advisor 94% 2016 Lonely Planet 'Top Choice' 2016 Free WIFI Tongariro Crossing Shuttle Modern Facilities Best Information ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing