We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverstone Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turangi Bridge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oreti Village(Turangi)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creel Lodge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Tongariro River Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
73
20
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
20
7
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstongariro crossingthe kitchennew zealandwi fidorm roomnice terracehome away from homegreat kitchenperfect place to staylog firethe ownercommon roomstayed nightsclose to townother guestslocal arealake taupo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and can highly recommend it. The 4-bed room was a tad on the small side, but with a super confortable bed. We slept extremely well. The bathroom is kept very clean, has great powershowers and warm water. The kitchen is large, and well equipped. There is a very nice, cozy living, good wifi, and a lovely garden and bbq. The couple running the place are friendly and very helpful in arranging your stay (tips, booking transport to the crossing, etc). Small details made all the difference to us, like the hostess bringing in my laudry when it started raining so it wouldn't get wet. It made us feel welcome. Only small point they could improve on is giving the kitchen a quick wipe at night so that it is clean at breakfast. Other than that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed at a mix of places during 4 weeks in NZ and Riverstone was the most enjoyable backpackers. It is a small house on a quiet street and is well managed by Lars and Jane who treat their guests more like a part of the family. We stayed in an en-suite room (with shower and toilet). Kitchen facilities are good and are certainly needed in Turangi as only the fish & chip shop and Chinese takeaway seem to be open in the evening. The deck area is great for sitting outside.
Only downside is the noise from other residents who get up at 6am and clump around in their hiking boots ready for the 7am shuttle for the Tongariro crossing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Lars - the owner - is a friendly guy and recommended a nice place close by to enjoy a beautiful view over the lake. He was not able to recommend a place for dinner which served something different then Fish and Chips but we still found something but mind you - most places are closed by 8 pm! The place was clean and the kitchen is super well equipped. As the owners use it themselves it is all very clean. The outside seating area is lovely an the recycling bins are a big plus in a place like that with the amount of waste produced. Lars is pretty relaxed. When we told him that we broke the room key while trying to get in- dont ask how we managed that!- he did not kick a fuzz at all. It turned out that other must have had the same problem before trying to open room doors. It is tricky. Minus point which I need to mention: We expected an ensuite bathroom and were a bit surprised to find the toilet outside the room sharing with the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My nearly 5 year old Grand-Daughter and I stayed there! Was so warm,so inviting, and we just Loved it! Clean kitchen, and amenities, Very comfy,warm beds! Best of all was the lovely,warm,friendly ambience! Roaring log fire,lovely comraderie, and Mogwai the Hound was an added bonus!, Jasmine was in her element! Rob was a wonderful Host, and we had a great time. I would highly recommend Riverstone Backpackers to you all!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinCosmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I go to Turangi for the fishing. There'splenty of accomodation in Turangi for the angler. Some cheaper a lot more expensive, I have stayed at Riverstone for the last 3 trips and will keep going back. They have everything I need from drying room to fish cleaning facilities but the main thing that brings me back is the local knowledge of the owner Rob. Unlike other accomodeation Rob fishes a lot and his advise is always spot on. You'd pay a local guide $$$ for the information. If you can convince him to go out with you even better.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFishing24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews