We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent,spotless,well designed and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverstone Backpackers
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Loved this place -a haven of tranquility in. A lovely suburb. Great outdoor living areas so well designed and the whole place was really well organised for maximum convenience. Would certainly return. Excellent value as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Was just driving by and decided to stop in. Reasonable rates with good wifi. Great cooking facilities and living area. Nice sleeping quarters. Nice to meet friendly staff and fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abb U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hostel is perfect for travellers who like a clean, homely and more quiet hostel.
Good location and very nice kitchen, environmental friendly as well.
Perfect to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and to relax afterwards.
Dorm room is nothing special but the living room ist very nice.
Unfortunately the reception wasn't always open the times they promised so it was a bit unreliable. But good service on arrival.
Good choice to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

the hostel is beautiful with lovely gardens...but we will not return...may be one day if the current manager is remover from his position.He did not made us feel welcome...actually he had such bad maners that we didnt feel like spending time in the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvaro a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Owner at Riverstone Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

I personally dealt with the guests in this case. In response i would suggest that the party concerned appeared to have little idea of how to live in a shared space, with courtesy to other guests and in particular clean up after themselves. Despite repeated polite requests, it appeared they felt management was there to clean up after them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Riverstone is a quiet and friendly hostel in a beautiful area.
Close to lake Taupo and the Tongariro Crossing.
Friendly staff and a really clean kitchen

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
Thank BartTurangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed several nights at the Riverstone backpackers in order to complete the Tongariro Crossing. The hostel offers a nice atmosphere where you can meet other trampers and relax after the track. Rooms are good yet the service of the management wasn't really customer focused. For instance, when requested to see the room before paying for the room the manager was reluctant to do so stating that "the hostel was in Lonely Planet(?)" and "people always come round asking to see the rooms in advance(?)". After asking three times we were allowed to look around. Secondly, after a cold night with not enough blankets we requested additional blankets yet management wasn't real friendly yet started arguing that "tonight will not be as cold as yesterday night". Friendlier and more customer focused service would have improved our experience at this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A lot of effort has gone into making this a comfortable, modern and homely place to stay. Good facilities and lovely outdoor area.

It's a shame it was tarnished from before we arrrived by the distinctly unhelpful couple managing the place. Their grasp of the English language was problematic and they worked on the theory that their responsibilities ended at 7pm and started at 10am. We found milk more than a month out of date in the fridge and when we asked if we could throw it away the response was, it's after 7, put it back in the fridge I'll deal with it at 11am tomorrow. They initially claimed the wifi wasn't working after 7pm, seemingly to avoid selling us a code (even though people were busy skyping on their laptops!). And when asked for change to use the coin operated internet they complained and said it wasn't their responsibility at 7pm.

Finally on departing, when we handed the key back and said thank you very much, they totally ignored us and carried on speaking to another guest in German.

All relatively small issues but spoilt what could have been a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turangi hotels
0.7 mi away
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
0.2 mi away
Extreme Backpackers
Extreme Backpackers
#1 of 17 in Turangi
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Backpackers

Address: 222 Te Rangitautahanga Road | Waikato, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range: £34 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Backpackers Turangi is an independently owned and operated boutique lodge & hostel, offering quality Tongariro accommodation, up to date information, and transport for exploring the Tongariro Crossing and the Tongariro Region. We have modern facilities and a homely and relaxed atmosphere. There are native gardens, flash kitchen and a large deck and in winter often an open fire. Riverstone is frequently rated by BBH Backpackers and on TripAdvisor Specialty Lodging, as the very best Tongariro Crossing accommodation. Top Rated Accommodation BBH 94% 2016 Trip Advisor 94% 2016 Lonely Planet 'Top Choice' 2016 Free WIFI Tongariro Crossing Shuttle Modern Facilities Best Information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing