We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Thankyou for the best hostel experience I've had in New Zealand. A special mention for Mena who keeps the place spotless and always has time for a chat and a smile.!The beds are comfy and the whole place feels really homely and relaxed. Theres a lovely outdoor area with hammocks and chunky wooden tables. I stayed longer than planned and thoroughly recharged my batteries while there. Such a treat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandals2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
40
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Everything is spotless. Everything works. Everything about the facility is well thought out.

Our double room was roomy by normal hostel standards, and very clean. Plenty of toilets, separated form showers (never had to wait). A sign says that their aim is the cleanest hostel kitchen in NZ, and they seem to have succeeded. Well equipped. Fine lounge. Unusually good library about New Zealand (fauna and flora guides, history, etc.). Dining tables inside and outside on the patio (under cover). When we were there, an singularly interesting and friendly set of fellow guests.

The manager (owner?) was most convivial, very knowledgeable about the area, and had lots of excellent hiking ideas. The weather forecasts were posted (a simple thing that more than a few hostels fail to do), as well as just about all the DOC information folders for anything remotely nearby.

Located on a main street, but far enough from the center of town (about 5 minutes walk) and far enough from main highways so that the surroundings are residential and quiet. Lots of street parking on a wide street.

The minor downside: short "office" hours (you may need to visit the I-Site in order to get in unless you arrive at the right time - anyone coming in by bus needs to be aware of this, as the I-Site is 1/4 mile away).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This accommodation was in a great location for all the activities we wanted to do around Lake Taupo (white water rafting and the Tongariro crossing). The room was clean and a reasonable size with storage space. The communal facilities were great with a big kitchen (lots of pots and pans) and great area to sit inside and out. We had a bit of difficulty when we arrived to get into the place but it got sorted out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at backpackers. Very friendly and helpfull staff. There is fully equipped kitchen, bathroom was very clean, nice patio with bbq. Rooms are a bit small without wardrobe. But the backpacker is perfect value for money. Highly recommend!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nazar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We made our booking quite late in the afternoon and the staff member was very accommodating when we explained we would not be arriving until after 9pm (and she would have already left for the day.
We found the place was very clean and modern. And even a small heater had been put on low in our room to take the chill off which we thought was very thoughtful. She also said we could sort out payment the next day when she started work.

Room Tip: We didn't actually have much time to check out rooms. We arrived quite late and left straight af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in a dobule room in January for 2 nights and the place was just amazing. If we hadnt prebooked other places in other cities we would have stayed there for a week!
The hosts were really friendly and helpful, they pointed us into the right direction for cheap hot pools in the areas to prevent sore muscles after the Tongariro Crossing.
Every night we had a barbeque and the atmosphere was very friendly. Coin operated washing mashine and wifi worked without any problems and the kitchen and bathroom facilities were clean and offered everything we needed. Nice area outside to have dinner or just to chill out in the afternoon and a simple and clean room with a comfortable bed - just everything we needed, thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Riverstone is really a great place, everything is though to make the backpacker confortable, you really feel that you are in friendly, cosy and a kind of luxury place. The hostel is really beautiful and clean, nice kitchen that really have everthing you will need and in a really clean and good shape. The living room invites you to lay down on the coach to chill with others or watch a movie. Outside, there is a barbecue and a hamac so as a terrace when it is possible to eat in summer (I was there in winter so we didn use it). I really recommend this place. It is true that is a home away from home

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeline77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turangi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
0.3 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extreme Backpackers
Extreme Backpackers
#1 of 17 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Backpackers

Property: Riverstone Backpackers
Address: 222 Te Rangitautahanga Road | Waikato, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Backpackers Turangi is an independently owned and operated boutique lodge & hostel, offering quality Tongariro accommodation, up to date information, and transport for exploring the Tongariro Crossing and the Tongariro Region. We have modern facilities and a homely and relaxed atmosphere. There are native gardens, flash kitchen and a large deck and in winter often an open fire. Riverstone is frequently rated by BBH Backpackers and on TripAdvisor Specialty Lodging, as the very best Tongariro Crossing accommodation. Top Rated Accommodation BBH 94% 2016 Trip Advisor 94% 2016 Lonely Planet 'Top Choice' 2016 Free WIFI Tongariro Crossing Shuttle Modern Facilities Best Information ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing