We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Omori Lake House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Omori Lake House
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We only stayed here for one night but we were very glad we did. Raewin and Neil were so welcoming, after arriving late asking us to enjoy a drink and a hot cross bun. The house is beautiful with a lovely outlook. The room was lovely with a nice bathroom (including a bath!). Breakfast was delicious - the muesli and yoghurt amazing! Highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Omori Lake House was our home for 4 nights and the end of a month long trip. We can't imagine making a better choice. Raewin and Neil immediately make you at home. We had to deal with some bad weather, and they were more than helpful in their advice. Neil makes terrific coffee, while Raewin is an excellent cook - breakfasts and dinners (planned ahead for an extra cost) were absolutely wonderful. Not only were the room and home beautiful and comfortable, but the conversation and incredible view of Lake Taupo were a special treat. We would not hesitate to return to Omori Lake House.
Carol and John, Wisconsin, USA

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a beautiful house perched high above Lake Taupo with stunning views and comfortably close to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing.
But that's not the best bit - that would be the owners, Neil and Raewin who 'adopt' you the moment you walk through the door. Raewin is a New Zealander going generations back and Neil knows everyone and combines his retirement from running a substantial plumbing company with his prehistoric old Ford car and helping Raewin look after the grandchildren when they visit.
Raewin produces brilliant breakfasts and together they knock out a mean BBQ in the evenings. Sitting doing nothing, admiring the view? Neil will stick a cold beer in your hand and sit down for a chat.
They only have two rooms to let - both en-suite - side by side, with great views.
If you are interested in doing the Alpine Crossing walk they check the weather for you, book places on the bus that drops you at the beginning and collects you at the end. Everything to make it all possible and practical.
Lovely people, great place, didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Omori Lake House for 3 nights and could not be more delighted with the experience. We have stayed in numerous B&Bs in many countries and this one ranks amongst the best, Our hosts Niel and Raewyn provide home comfort and great hospitality. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable and the facilities are everything that you could need. Breakfast was good (we took away Raewyn's muesli recipe), as was dinner. Raewyn does not claim to offer high end fine dining. What she offers is good quality home cooking and the two dinners we ate at Omori Lake House were just that with the added bonus of Raewyn and Niel's excellent company and on the second occasion also the company of fellow guests. They are happy to book restaurants for you and we dined locally on one of the nights. Omori Lake House has magnificent views of Lake Taupo and is very well situated for the Tongariro National Park. Niel and Raewyn happily provide suggestions for your daily outings, including checking the weather forecast and we can honestly say that without these we would not have made the most of our two full days in the area. As one of the reviewers says, look no further if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After having stayed with Neil and Raewyn back in December 2007, we went back in January and we again had a wonderful time at Omori Lake House. Neil and Raewyn are such natural hosts and again made us so welcome.

Raewyn provided scrumptious breakfast and Neil worked the coffee machine expertly.

The views across the lake from the house are amazing, so there is always an incentive to get home early to open the patio doors and sit outside soaking it all in.

The suggestions for trips that Neil and Raewyn gave us were spot on and we ended up having such a great time in Omori. Shame it was only a short visit.

I'm sure we'll be back....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent two nights here and were made to fell very welcome. Our room was very comfortable and the view across the lake is lovely. The hosts were very friendly, insisting that we had drinks with them both evenings, and gave us some good hints for things to do locally. The only negative comment is that on our first evening during drinks they said they were going to put some food on the BBQ and we were welcome to join them. Having driven a long way, we were delighted not to have go out again so accepted their kind invitation. It was only at that stage did they drop into the conversation that there was a $40 per head charge for dinner (which included drinks and desert). However we felt they should have made clear the charge upfront. The food was perfectly acceptable but nothing special. However, notwithstanding the above comment, we would stay here again particularly as the room was very good value which made up for the dinner charge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 381,276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for 1 night. The room was very comfortable and the view from it across the lovely garden to the Lake was special. Breakfast was more than adequate. This striking modern building was designed and built by the owners who seem to enjoy running it as a B & B, almost as a hobby rather than just a business. We opted for an evening meal as we weren't sure what restaurant options there were in the area. The dinner was nothing special and I regret not researching more options in the area. Overall I would give this B & B a 3 to 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turangi hotels
6.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
6.8 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
6.7 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
311 reviews
6.8 mi away
Anglers Paradise Motel
Anglers Paradise Motel
#9 of 9 in Turangi
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omori Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omori Lake House

Address: 31 Omori Road, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation high above Omori with stunning views across to Taupo.We have two ensuite guest rooms with super king size beds, tea/coffee facilities and private decks.Enjoy a Barbeque or a classic kiwi meal with the hosts.We are close to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, fly fishing rivers, bush walks and thermal pools. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing